We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Could not fault any of the staff. They were all very helpful. Good food at breakfast and dinner with a choice. Hotel could benefit from refurbishment - especially by getting rid of the plastic flowers around the reception area!

Room Tip: No lift. We had a corner room with 2 outside walls both with windows and 1 small radiator therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy128_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 312 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Love staying in an old building, this hotel was clean, friendly and food was exelent and plentiful (I am a veggie). Staff came to find me when I did not turn up for dinner on first night due to tiredness (I was asleep in my room).
They tried to help trace one of our group member's newly bought pearls lost on a day out.
The hotel is big and spacious, there were many stairs to my room (wide staircases) so check if you need a lift or ground floor room. I will stay in this hotel again.
Raye - Peterborough

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the New Year. The hotel is very dated and needs refurbishment. Couldn't believe we didn't have a shower in our room. Food was good and good choice, the 2 waitresses were excellent. The singer on New Years eve was diabolical but the other 2 nights were good. Would not stay at this hotel again, although very clean and welcoming would prefer better rated hotel. Also there is no lift.ake su

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the ground floor if you have walking difficulty as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowpeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just spent my third christmas at the Medehamstede and was as good as the first visit. The hotel is basic, very clean, food excellent and staff very helpful and friendly cannot do enough for you, also entertianment good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 673BrendaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

just spent a week at this hotel .and i must say it was very nice break there. the food was first class . and the room were bit dated ,but very clean ,and so was the the hotel .staff were the best iv come acoss anywere.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back off hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Medehamstede for a week in October 2012. This was our first visit to IOW since our honeymoon in 1970. We loved the hotel and would definitely stay here again. There is free car parking although this is a little cramped if a coach party is in residence. The rooms are clean and well equipped with free tea/coffee supplied in the room every day. Meals are good with an extensive vegetarian menu (which is important to me). There were enough vege options for me never to have the same meal twice. Staff in reception and dining room are friendly, helpful and obviously happy in their work. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ANNANDOFJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites of this hotel and it was a lovely stay. We had a beautiful 4 poster bed and a lovely en-suite bathroom that was very clean and pleasant. The rooms could benefit from a bit of modernisation but the staff are so wonderfully friendly that that is negligible. Breakfast was great and just enough to make you full without feeling stuffed. There are small trinket items for sale in the foyer and there are also paintings on the wall that they sell every tuesday which is a very nice touch. The whole hotel feels very homely and we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#35 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#13 of 51 in Shanklin
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#31 of 51 in Shanklin
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: $36 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing