We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious family room”
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the 4 person family room, which had a double and 2 full size single beds. Room was huge, had a two seater sofa as well and lovely sea views.

There is no bath in this room, not a problem for us as we prefer showers, hot water plentiful and superb pressure.

Food very good, choice of 3 options for starters, main and pudding. Portion size good and coudn't fault the standard or service.

Reception staff very friendly and obliging, very kindly put an ice pack in the freezer for me every day.

Great location only a couple of mins walk into town or to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torresgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Cancelled a week in Scotland with for personal reasons and came to re-visit the Medehamstede Hotel in Shanklin, Isle of Wight with Travelstyle. There were many changes in personel to the last time we stayed at this hotel but the friendly atmosphere remained throughout our stay and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The food was good and the choices variable, with portions most adequate for 3 courses. I wouldn't have thought anyone went away from the tables still hungry or let down with the standard of the food. Our room was comfy and clean and the cleaners were very friendly and efficient. The entertainment was first class and the bar staff cheerful and pleasant throughout our stay. I did hear the odd moan from people, one even suggested sacking the gardener, that was just complaining for complainings sake I'm afraid. All in all a good break and would certainly stay again no question.

Room Tip: We had room 51. Adequate, clean and our cleaner (Victoria) efficient and friendly. Would ask for thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciscokid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for taking your kind review.

With any service industry, there are always staff changes, but we are lucky to employ happy and conscientious staff and we are pleased that you were able to comment on this. Sadly there are always those people who are professional moaners and nothing anyone can do that will make their stay a happy one.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We used the shower as soon as we arrived and it fell off the wall and hit me on the head, the soap dish that fell with it was green with grim and very unclean. I made a complaint and that was as far as it went. The breakfast was pretty basic and to be honest I have never been anywhere where you don't get to pick our own food! Having said all this the staff were extremely friendly and polite, very professional it's a shame the hotel is so out dated they don't have much to be proud of.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a warm welcome by the reception staff and given all the information including the dinner and breakfast times and pointed in the right direction. We had asked for a low floor when we booked as noticed there wasn't a lift and were given a double room on the ground floor overlooking the lovely gardens. The room wasn't huge and the bathroom was quite small but the bedroom appeared to have a new carpet and we didn't find a problem with the cleanliness like other reviewers have mentioned. The meals were very good with a good choice and the dining room staff seemed to work very hard to get the food out quickly. Big thanks to Jean for the excellent service.
Monday nights entertainment was the best with a singer comedian and had everyone laughing. The other nights were also pretty good. Mitch and Craig behind the bar also provided some light hearted banter.
We picked the right week for the weather and with only a short walk down the cliff path to the beach, we found a good base for a good price. All in all, we had a good time and would return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jb1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Right first of all when we arrived after a long day travelling the manager was too busy on the phone to notice we were there. When we finally got to introduce ourselves he came across as grumpy and rude and demanded we pay the money we owed him before viewing our room. When we reached our room after struggling upstairs with our luggage and no help we were greeted by a small dinghy twin room with very old fashioned designs and an old smell in the room, the tv was old and there was only 4 channels. The toilet and shower room was tiny and the back of the toilets there was stains of feases. The shower wasn't much better. We requested a new room and got put into a more spacious room but the bath was still old and somewhat dirty. My partner had to stand and wash herself with a bottle of water for fear of hygiene standards. We were given a towel and a tiny bar of dirty soap in our room, not great. The tea and coffee facilities were appalling. The included breakfast was very basic and barely cured my hunger, the food wasn't to a good standard either and there was a very small selection. The entertainment was very old fashioned with music I don't think my grandparents would recognise. This hotel is not for the young. When leaving the hotel for a drink the manager turned his nose up at us and gave us the wrong key to the front door. Had we not realised this before we left we would have been stuck outside all night as all doors are shut at 12pm and there are no staff around at that time. Most residents are elderly aswell. This is our 2nd night here we still have to endure another 2 nights. God knows what this might bring. I dread to think.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank burgess18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

I would like to point out that I never checked you in or have even dealt with you at all so I think it’s a bit unfair calling me grumpy and rude. As you turned up in the evening, one of our bar staff would have seen you in so I’m sorry if they came across that way but I’m sure it wasn’t intentional. The hotel policy is to pay the balance on arrival and if you’d checked your confirmation you would have known this. Unfortunately, we cannot offer a porter service all the time but if you had asked or the staff felt you were unable to manage then they would have helped. I personally checked your room the following day and the wooden toilet seat is darker where it was worn in places and not stained with anything you claim but it has since been replaced to avoid any other such accusations. Our entertainment is aimed to cater for the majority of our guests with a range of styles throughout the week and although it might not have catered for your taste, we generally have a lot of positive feedback regarding it.
Again, I hadn’t seen you to give you a key, (or to turn my nose up at you!) but in the event that you had been given an ill fitting key by one of the bar staff then there is a night porter on site throughout the night after midnight so if you found yourself locked out then you could have been let in at any point of the night. I hope the remainder of your stay was more to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just back from a very disappointing 2 night stay. This hotel is desperately in need of refurbishing. The decor and fittings are dated and the carpets are awful. We had two rooms and both en-suite facilities leave a lot to be desired, in fact flip flops in the shower are needed! I would recommend you check the bed linen early enough in the evening in case you need to ask for clean sheets. Apparently our bed had been 'overlooked' mistakingly and contained hairs and black bits of goodness knows what. The situation was handled appropriately and a refund for the first night given, however, it certainly isn't acceptable under any circumstance to have been put in the position of requiring clean bed linen at 11pm at night because someon else has used the sheets before you. Such things as cleanliness are paramount regardless of whether you pay a cut price fee through a late booking system. The breakfast is very basic and added to the overall disappointment, and we would not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

We’re sorry that you had a problem with your room and we have put measures in place so that this kind of human error won’t happen again. We’re glad you felt it was handled appropriately and agree that cleanliness is paramount so are expecting some immediate improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel through a Bus Company Tour. No lift, so facilities for disabled and customers with mobility problems seriously hampered. Cleanliness left a lot to be desired throughout. Our room, albeit a great size because it was a family room, was very, very dated and furniture not in good condition. Toilet was so small it was impossible to use the actual toilet with ease. Shower very small and no room to dry oneself. Most of staff very pleasant, but some had bad attitude and gave some odd expressions when asked for a simple pot of boiling water. Teapots full of tea were on tables before guests allowed into dining room, which made tea stewed or too strong. Poor and limited choice for breakfast cereals, especially where children were concerned, and fruit choice was actually one of your choices, even at dinner time fruit juice was a choice. Food was very basic and not exciting and sometimes cold. Definitely would not recommend hotel in any shape or form and if that is the calibre of hotel this bus tour company are using, then we will be looking for another tour company.

Room Tip: Family rooms only on 1st floor which has a lot of steps and not suitable for immobile or disabled gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments which we have taken on board. We have recently adjusted our service and expanded our menu since your stay to offer a better choice and hopefully it is more exciting now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#13 of 51 in Shanklin
241 reviews
0 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#31 of 51 in Shanklin
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: $38 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing