We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roseglen Hotel

Roseglen Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roseglen Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
lichfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nice small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with good food good rooms and very nice people we were made very welcome and very well fed we would not hesitate to stay there again it has a good location close to the old village of shanklin and the town centre

Room Tip: i did see some other rooms they all seemed to be of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minibus93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
23
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is not pretending to be anything it isn't.you could not fault the owners so friendly nothing was too much trouble even offering you extra bacon sausage and pouring the juice out for you at your table.the hotel is in a great location 5mins to beach and shops.the hotel is a little dated but we all have different tastes.The bedding towels and room were very clean.We would definitely stop again and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I found this B&B fairly standard. There was nothing special - except the friendly hosts. It was clean and tidy with a very nice breakfast. Being able to sit outside was a bonus especially with other people to chat with. The free wi-fi was very fast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank bollidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Chose solely on price, ie cheapest l could find but hey l've paid a lot more for this standard in the past. Lovely little B&B. Nice big twin room all to myself, clean with all the extras. Two super breakfasts no fuss about turning up late. Honesty bar if you stay up late. And the owners are friendly, sociable and nothing is too much trouble. A real gem

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for the past few years and we love it here. Angela and Wayne are the nicest people, they instantly make you feel welcome and more then at home. The hotel has a very homily feel to it and you feel really at ease with a lot of character. The food is at a high standard, the portion sizes are good and the choice and variation are always spot on.
The hotel is at a good location very close to both shops and the beach, and any help or questions you have are always welcomed by Wayne and Angela.
The rooms are spacious and there's a room for every need.
This hotel is a brilliant and very good for people of all ages...I would give it 10 out of 10 and will look forward to being able to see them next year!
xxxx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D-S-S-P-C-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanscombe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was staying in a 2 bedded room but if there had been 2 of us we would have had to make a choice between both bed side lamps on, or the little clock, as there were insufficient electric points for all three. Used tea bags not removed, or replaced. The room needed modernising and the mattress hard and uncomfortable. Other things like broken clothes hooks, splodges on the wall paper which gave an air of grubbiness.
But my main gripe was the need to keep asking for the heating to go on, and it was a very cold weekend. No one asked if I was warm enough. I know the cost of fuel is taxing, but surely in the summer months when they do not need the heating they can re coup the extra expenditure. There was a group of very elderly ladies staying when I was , so maybe they decided to make an economy by not heating my room !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbieSwanscombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am not a big fan of small hotels and Bed & Breakfasts but was pleasantly surprised, as soon as Angela & John opened the door to us we were made to feel very welcome. We stayed for one night to attend a wedding reception and i would book to stay again if we visit the the IOW. Our room was lovely, clean & spacious, and the way the towels and toiletries were laid out was a lovely little touch. For a hotel snob as my husband calls me, this was great value, friendly & welcoming place to stay. The breakfast was also lovely and better than in some of the 5* star hotels I have stayed in. I also never review on a place I have stayed in but wanted to recommend this lovely small hotel as I was very impressed. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#22 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#28 of 54 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#23 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseglen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseglen Hotel

Property: Roseglen Hotel
Address: 12 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roseglen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roseglen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseglen Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing