We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summer holiday”
Review of Auckland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auckland Hotel
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“summer holiday”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

had a fantastic summer holiday at the auckland hotel again.i had to get on here and write a report.i felt i had to respend back to some comments which were put about the hotel.Have stayed in room in question for the same 2 weeks every year.for the last 7 years love the view from the second floor, and im shocked at how people can make storys up.saying about dust on the balcony.what a ridiculous thing to say.I never saw anything (dust) on the balcony.makes you wonder why people would say such lies,.as for their being no showers in the rooms.. its a complete fabrication of the truth! ive been coming to this hotel for years and this year the hotel has new colours in the dinnig room. as well as the pool room.as for the bar what can i say fantastic.a new bar from floor to ceiling a relaxing place to spend the night.I DONT UNDERSTAND IF SOME TIMES PEOPLE ARE UNHAPPY WITH ANYTHING.why not go to reception and mention it. not go back and write on here,to me it makes no sense at all.but i for one will be returning next year.the staff are always on hand to help you and food is always great and the location is good too.2 mins from the beach and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    68
    18
    18
    15
See reviews for
19
98
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We arrived at this hotel after an eleven hour coach trip. Check in was swift and it was off to the room. I opened the room door and found myself in the toilet, yes you had to go through the toilet to get to the bedroom. My wife and I didnt really fancy this so I went to see if we could get another room. My wife has mobility problems and this was the only room close to the stairs on the first floor. We were shown another room but it was up more stairs so we decided to stay put. We went down for dinner and it was hot and tasty so no complaints there. We stayed a week and I never got used to entering the room in the toilet. All the meals were great I really liked the breakfasts you got plenty. The hotel is really well placed for the beach, only a few minute walk to the beach lift. It was only a few minutes to the town as well. The bar is a bit expensive but there are plenty other places close by so this was never a problem. If you do go please visit the Palmerston Hotel it is just on the corner and the host is a scream and the drink is very reasonable, £2.50 a pint and £6 for a bottle of wine. All in all the hotel if fine but I woulnt go back. I will visit the Shanklin again but will try another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coatbrigjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We have a fully stocked bar with reasonable prices. We are a Hotel and not a club, therefore we cannot possibly charge club prices but do charge reasonably good prices compared to other establishments. IF the guest had a problem with their room they should have told a member of staff. As far as we were concerned the guest had a nice holiday and never at any stage mentioned that they had a complaint regarding their stay. It is becoming increeassingly apparent that the less the customer pays the more they expect.
We can only do our best, if the guest informs us that they have had a nice holiday but then they write a bad review on trip then there isnt much we can do about that.
We always aim to please but unfortunately we cannot please everyone all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

hi just got back from a week at the Auckland hotel, traveling by coach with national holidays , first i would like to thank John, anna, and all the other staff who made the stay really nice , hotel nice and clean, tidy , great choice of three course meals, no complaints at all so thanks again, and thanks to Dave the coach driver ,who with is knowledge of the island made the journey and excursions much pleasant so for a really relaxing time we would recommend ..........christine, nigel .from york

Room Tip: ask one with balcony very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for a week on a coach trip and found it to be good value for accomodation,food,and the location. The staff were more than helpful when asked about any query ,the dining room staff were very attentive the food was good and above expectations for the price charged. I would not have any hesitation on a return visit here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyziff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just returned today after a 4 day break with Just Go holidays staying at the Aukland Hotel. We found the staff very friendly and courteous,our room was very clean as was the bedding and the bathroom, clean towels every day which wasn't expected on Sunday but the chambermaid surprised us as it said on back of room door that it was her day off. The food was very niceand was served to us at the table(No buffet here so no queueing!! ) there was a choice of 2 meals on the menu for the evening meal, we were asked at breakfast for our choice for the evening. This is not a 5 star hotel and the hotel is is probobly 1960 s , But we hadn,t any thing to complain about very enjoable. The only problem was for people with walking diffulculties there are no lifts,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We returned yesterday from a 4 night break at the Auckland Hotel and had a briliiant time. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food fabulous and the staff could not have been more helpful. We went on a coach holiday and for what we paid this was excellent value for money, I really wonder what people expect for their money, if you are upgraded then you pay. We were lucky to be allocated a balcony room for our stay, the room was huge, pity the weather not warmer for us to enjoy the balcony to its full potential and enjoy the sea views. Hats off to the hotel for the service and quality provided for the money that they get, we got 4 nights half board and the coach for less than 4 nights B&B elsewhere.

Room Tip: Hotel does not have a lift but first floor can be accessed from rear of hotel, if you struggle with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank telfordjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I had booked a coach trip without knowing the hotel, I started to worry after reading some of the reviews here. Well what a surprise!!
From the moment we arrived we found the staff welcoming and helpful. The food was a real treat with choices at breakfast and dinner and the rooms were really clean.
The only down side was it was stuck in the 60's as far as decor.
Excellent value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over the bar if you want to sleep before the entertainment finishes at 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynden13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
469 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#14 of 52 in Shanklin
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#26 of 52 in Shanklin
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#42 of 52 in Shanklin
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Property: Auckland Hotel
Address: 10 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auckland Hotel offers superb purpose built modern accommodation in a tranquil setting, being located in a much sought after select area,only two minutes strollfrom the lift to the beach,the theatre,Gardens,Shops,Chine and Old Village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing