We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic child-friendly cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
The Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom
Honeysuckle Cottage, Chestnut Mews, Family Friendly Self Catering holiday cottage. Shanklin, IOW Honeysuckle Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
The Master Bedroom
Honeysuckle Cottage, Chestnut Mews, Family Friendly Self Catering holiday cottage. Shanklin, IOW
Honeysuckle Kitchen
Small Hope Beach, Shanklin, 10 min walk.
The Enclosed Shared  Garden with Jasmine Cottage.
Twin Bedroom
The play area
Honeysuckles Decking
A Chestnut Mews Red Squirrel
Play House
The View of Appley Beach from the Beach path. A ten minute walk from the Chestnut Mews.
Shared Play Area
Family Bathroom
Honeysuckle Kitchen
Play time in the Shared garden
With our compliments
Small Hope Beach Huts. Rentable by the day or week.
Laze about on Shanklin Beach.
Play time on Shanklin's Blue Flag Beaches. Only a ten minutes walk away.
Time for Ice-creams !
One of the Islands many feativals, The Ploughing Match
Priory Bay
Kitchen
Shanklin Old Village 4 mins Walk
10 mins walk
Middle Bedroom
Rylstone Gardens, 3 mins walk
Cowes Week
View across Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sa2125
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic child-friendly cottage”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely cottage in a great location. It's very well equipped, and particularly child-friendly with lots of toys, books and DVDs, not to mention the amazing garden full of playhouses, climbing frames and slides, which our children loved playing in. The cottage is in a good location, only a short walk from Old Shanklin and the beach.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dezigirl
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

These cottages are like home from home, very comfortable, with everything you need. It's in a great location, in a quiet part of Shanklin old village, but in good walking distance to the coastal paths, pubs and restaurants that does great choice of meals for every one. To me these are the best cottages in shanklin and I've been going to the Isle of Wight for many years. Love them!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaktree4
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect from 2.5yrs to 87 yrs!”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We travelled with our two young children (2.5yrs & 5.5yrs) and 87 year old Grandma! Trying to find accommodation to suit everyone seemed really difficult until stumbling across Chestnut Mews. We couldn't have had a better week! The house is beyond clean, very comfortable, well laid out and safe for young children and the elderly. Everything has been thought of meaning you don't need to buy a house-load of items from the supermarket just to last a week! Having sponges, cleaning equipment, dishwasher tablets, washing liquid etc already there makes a huge difference to a happy holiday - having stayed in some places where there was nothing, it's actually made me realise that I value that kind of thoughtfulness a lot when choosing self-catering accommodation and it's one of the big reasons why I would choose to go back to Chestnut Mews. It's ideally situated in Shanklin Old Village and with complimentary use of the swimming pool at the Holiday Apartments just up the road, you couldn't want for more facilities. Everyone in our party had an absolutely fantastic time on the IOW and having such a great house to stay in made all the difference!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette...
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, excellent, superb!”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our first family holiday with a 1 year and 4 year old. Clematis Cottage was above and beyond our expectations! It's cleanliness, how well it was equipped, from kitchen equipment to toys and DVDs for the children and the personal touches for the children and the adults. Advice, directions and history of the Island in the house pack was very perfectly detailed. It's location was perfect for accessing Shanklin and its beautiful beaches. We had a fantastic time on the IOW not forgetting to mention the weather was sun, sun and more sun! We will definitely be returning to the IOW in the future and most certainly will use Chestnut Mews again.
Thank you Peter & Mandy giving us fond memories!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absorbing the ambiance of the beautiful garden with the lounge doors open with a glass of wine!....after the kids had been put to bed!
Liked least: The ensuite shower cubical is great for two, maybe fit a rain shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald M
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Superb home from home with all the comforts”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A smart "cottage", clean comfortable and great for toddlers. We'd like to keep it as our secret but it deserves more. We would love to go again.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Keith...
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The complete package”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in this beautiful, well equipped cottage for a week. The location was perfect for the centre of Shankiin - a few minutes walk. There were also some lovely walks from the cottage including on down to the beach. The owners Mandy and Peter also added some nice touches such as a bottle of bubbly in the fridge and sufficient biscuits, tea, coffee , etc. as a starter. The cottage's back garden is blessed with red squirrels. There are plenty of pubs nearby and the one we particularly enjoyed was the Holliers for evening entertainment. We toured the island extensively to the usual tourist spots but hadn't visited Arreton barns before - this is a place which both children and adults can enjoy. The attention to detail by the owners is first class.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balconies overlooking the back garden.
Liked least: No complaints about anything at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Delightful modern clean well equipped cottage ideally situated for main attractions of the island. Mandy and Peter were efficient and professional to deal with offering the reassurance of trouble free stay if any problems arose which of course they didn't! We had a relaxing time and the grandchildren took delight in playing in the nicely equipped garden which was regularly visited by Red Squirrels and Jay birds. No question of whether we would recommend, absolutely!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing