We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely friendly place!”
Review of Westbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbury Lodge
Ranked #6 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Dave and Kath were fantastic from the start, super friendly and helpful with lots of advice and info for us. The location was good, a 2.9 min walk to the beach but not a whole lot else to do in the local area this time of year. the room was lovely, provided with tv and lots of tea, coffee and biscuits and offered lots of games and books from the lounge. Breakfast offered a wide variety of fresh food. Overall, a fantastic lodge and would definately reccommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannacope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 404 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend 3-night stay at the Westbury Lodge. It was a joy to meet Kath and Dave, charming hosts of this wonderful Victorian guest house, which has some lovely features. Our room was large and spotlessly clean, as was the ensuite and all of the public rooms. Fruit, continental or a selection of English breakfasts are available, cooked to perfection. Dave's 'Full English' is a must. Tea, coffee etc freely available. Kath's knowledge of what and where to visit or eat out is also invaluable. To sum up - FIRST CLASS HOSPITALITY AND ACCOMODATION - in a word 'EXCELLENT'. We would have no hesitation in recommending to all. PAT and BRIAN.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRIAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestburyLodge, Owner at Westbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Just opened and it's our first review of the season!

Thanks Brian and Pat for taking the time to review us. It's always nice hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A very warm welcome from Kath and Dave with tea and biscuits. Wonderful room and great breakfasts. Very helpful with recommendations of where to eat and where to visit. Nothing too much trouble. Very high quality of cleanliness. Highly recommended. We hope to return.

Room Tip: A superior room really was superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chateau46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We would definetely return to Westbury Lodge, fantastic hosts, wonderful breakfasts and attention to detail, all round winners. The B&B is based just around the corner to local shops, beach and Shanklin Chine. There are lots of places to eat and drink and all other tourist areas are just a short drive away.
Full marks from us, go visit and experience it for yourself, you will not be disappointed. We travelled on the 26th October and returned on the 29th October, brilliant few days away.
Keith and Gina from Essex.

Room Tip: I think any room here would be a good choice. We had the sun most of the day (Oct)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINABINA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a marvellous stay at Westbury Lodge. When we arrived we were greeted by Kath and Dave who had a welcoming pot of tea for us. They were able to give us some suggestions as to where to eat and took our cases upstairs- a nice touch. We had a beautiful room with a big bay window and a 6ft bed. It was sunny and bright with a lovely bathroom. The room also had a good supply of tea, coffee and biscuits as well as bottled water. It was possible to have fresh milk, ice etc and even to have clothes dried- a bonus for walkers, cyclists etc.
We slept very well and had great breakfasts each morning, beautifully cooked by Dave. There were plenty of options such as kipper, porridge and also plenty of cereals and fruit on offer.
Westbury is close to the cliff walk and the town centre.
We would certainly recommend this property to anyone who wants to have a peaceful break and would rather stay somewhere with people who really care and want to give a great service.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the one to choose!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renegades1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having never spent a whole week in a B&B we carefully researched the many excellent reviews on Westbury Lodge and following our recent stay we can only endorse all the positive comments.
From the moment we arrived Kath and Dave made us feel at home with a pot of tea and useful information which equipped us well for our first stay on the Isle of Wight.
Our room was a superior room - and the designation was appropriate. It was tastefully furnished, spacious and well equipped.
Breakfast provided a good varied range and Dave's cooked breakfast was delicious.
Westbury is in a good location for the lift to the beach and a short walk to Shanklin centre.
Kath and Dave were terrific hosts and Westbury Lodge really made this a special holiday for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirchyBoy285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights this week, absolutely faultless, the rooms are immaculate, spotlessly clean and a good size. Breakfast was high quality with plenty of choice, and the owners were so helpful and obliging. Would definitely stay again if in the area. The reviews are spot on.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Lodge

Address: 25 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $100 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults (16 yrs+), 8 en-suite bedrooms. Peace & tranquility ......Moments from sea, clifftops, old village, town, rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Westbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Lodge Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing