We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of The Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Havelock
Ranked #9 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you are looking for a friendly, spotless, beautifully decorated guest house in a superb location, look no further than The Havelock, Shanklin. I have jusr returned from a four day break there, with my daughter, and we absolutely loved it. I had a single room which was a very good size, along with its lovely en-suite shower room, which was stocked with luxury toiletries. My daughter had a double room with its own private terrace, from which there was a gorgeous view of the sea. Both rooms were totally immaculate, the house-keeping being second to none.
The owners, Dave and Anne, were extremely friendly and helpful, both before our visit, via email, and during our stay, as were all the staff we came into contact with. The breakfast room was beautifully laid out with a host of individual tables and, if desired, you can reserve a window table. There is a good choice of food on offer at breakfast time and, if you opt for the cooked breakfast, this is served on piping hot plates. The staff are pleasant and attentive at all times.
The Havelock is in a fantastic position, being about five minutes to the beach in one direction and five minutes to the lovely old village, in the other. There is also the luxury of a heated outdoor pool which, although we did not use it, looked clean and bright.
When in Shanklin again we will definitely book into The Havelock and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for The Havelock
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 354 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have travelled the world and stayed at some of the best hotels. Yet this little place on a little island will be one of our biggest memories. It is a gem of a place. Well maintained with all you could need for a comfy break away from anywhere. Quiet surroundings,comfy rooms and great hosts will ensure you enjoy your vist to the island. Easy access to restaurants,transport and the beach. David and anne make you feel like you are truly there guests and will do all to ensure you have a memorable stay. We only ever visit a place once! But we may make an exception with the Havelock. 10/10

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

just returned from our third visit to this hotel and it is just as good as ever each time we have been the sun as been belting down so a lot of the time we sat around the pool like being in Spain without the hassle the overall stay was again a very pleasant holiday from the food spotless rooms and nothing is ever too much trouble for David & Anne one day he was serving us in the bar then had to leave to see to new arrivals next he was up seeing to the pool I said to him I think there is 4 of him !! all of the tasks carried out with good grace no flap keep it up you two see you next year

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harry209968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Some time in 1900 and frozen to death us 4 'old boys' decided to have 5 days in May (every May) on the IOW playing golf. The last 5 of those have been at the Havelock. Current owners took over after our first year and the standard, which was good, has improved year on year.
If you can get one of the 2 balcony rooms then you will be in heaven. The breakfasts are 5* and the dining room a delight. A short walk either down to the beach or into Old Town puts you in the perfect location. David and Ann are often in the bar to chat through your day, but don't ask David about the Superbike standing under covers at the front door. You will never get to bed.
The super Island bus service runs thro Old Town and links easily to all the routes. The bus companies timetable/route booklet is a work of art..
You wont get the balcony rooms in last week in May because we 'old boys' will be there again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms for the sun in the morning and easy access to the pool
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in (at any price). The rooms are spotless and the beds are very comfortable, (not rock hard as in most hotels these days), the staff are friendly but very professional, the hosts David & Anne are superb ie: very welcoming, very obliging, nothing is too much trouble for this lovely couple, and the food puts some of the more expensive hotels to shame. This has to be the number 1 hotel when visiting the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Ask and you will given your preference.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife & I have just spent our first wedding anniversary at the Havelock. We had a great time the food was great and the place was very clean staff were very friendly.Will be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just got back from a walking weekend of IOW in the rain, stayed at the Havelock and it is by far the best B & B I have stayed in. David and Anne are both very welcoming as are all their staff. T he rooms are clean with nice touches, the beds very comfortable.Breakfast is wonderful, home made bread & homemade preserves, huge bowl of fresh fruit salad, smoked salmon, or a full english what ever you require will be served fresh and with a smile. Highly recommended. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HorleyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock

Address: 2 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $89 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havelock was originally built as a gentleman's residence and over the years has been sympathetically renovated and extended to provide a mixture of 22 superb bedrooms & family suites, 10 of our rooms also have sea views. Set in attractive gardens, near to the sea and with its own Mediterranean style heated outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September), we offer the ideal location to relax and unwind in friendly and comfortable surroundings at outstanding value. Open mid-March - November annually. Guest bar/lounge. Free WiFi available most rooms and bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Hotel Shanklin
The Havelock Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing