We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was my first visit to the Isle of White, although my friend had visited many times before but had never stayed in this hotel. We arrived tired and a little grouchy after quite a long drive, only to be greeted by a VERY warm welcome by Des and Linda.
We had planned to get away from it all, discover the Island and go all over the place, but found ourselves having so much fun at The Belmont, that most of that went out of the window! We did manage to get out and about to visit the local pubs and tea-rooms which were great, but found ourselves wanting to go back to The Belmont before long!
We started the day with a very good breakfast with a wide range of continental foods, juices, teas, fresh coffee and fruit to choose from NOT TO MENTION THE FULL ENGLISH, WHICH WAS FAB!!!!
The rooms are tastefully decorated, very comfortable and are en suite with a choice of shower or over-shower baths. Tea and coffee making faciliies are available in the rooms as is a hairdryer and towels etc. not to mention boutique style toiliteries which again is a really nice touch. The rooms are very reasonably priced, and there is an extensive menu to choose from should you fancy anything from a light snack to a three course meal. The food was very good, and was served in a very homely and relaxed atmosphere which I loved. The bar is well stocked and the hours are flexible which was probably not a good thing to tell us, but bless Des, he never complained once!!!
In short, this is a fun and friendly family run business where we were made to feel very welcome and at home. So much so in fact, that we decided to stay an extra night! My friend and I would both highly recommend this place and we are already planning our next trip to what we now feel is our new "Home from Home." Thanks again guys for a wonderful stay. Kind Regards, Rosie and Niels.

Room Tip: We found the rooms to be quiet and comfortable, but because I only required two straight- forward do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
297
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friendly service from the delightful hosts along with a good breakfast just didn't entirely outweight the smallness of a standard room and en suite and the average level of the decor etc. It was 5 - 10 mins from both old village and beach which was good

Room Tip: avoid standard rooms based on our expereince
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilltopOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Have stayed before and it was great, this time even better.
Peaceful, yet plenty to do.
Lovely rooms, clean, large, everything as it should be.
Wonderful lounge.
Hosts helpful in every way.
Meals fantastic, great range.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went to belmont to stay for one night. The location is nice and central to the high street, about 10 mins walk from the train station. Staff are very friendly and helpful with local information.

The hotel room is comfortable and clean, but a bit tired. Toilet is small.

Isle of wight in general have lots of spiders, we saw two of them in the first 10 min of entering the hotel room (One dead hanging on the door frame and another live one hanging outside the window).

Breakfast is huge, with a lot to choice from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Mum and I had a super weekend stay, very friendly atmosphere and great breakfast. We would defiantly come here again. The Belmont is in a great position for the old village, main town and only a few minutes walk to the sea. The beds where comfrey and the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Des and Linda are the mots friendly couple that I have ever come across. They made our party most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable and very well equipped, but some of the furniture looked a little tired. That made no difference to our enjoyment - nor did that spoil the views!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F1roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

went to the Belmont for our honey moon Des and his wife looked after us for 5 days we had a fantastic room with great views of the sea champagne an chocs on arrival Breakfast was fantastic cant wait to go back again thankyou to all the staff .

Room Tip: room 2 is the room to have large with great views an a 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joygumbley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
827 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#42 of 52 in Shanklin
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing