We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Langham Court' is the new name, Cheap and cheerful is the game.”
Review of Langham Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langham Court
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Went on a coach trip with a local company. Paid £159 for coach, ferry, one and a half days excursions, and 5 Days 4 Nights Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal! So, in short I wasn't expecting the Savoy!

Langham Court is basic, but clean and tidy with bath, toilet, bedding etc all as clean as expected. The restaurant is clean, and pleasant , all food was as hot or as cold as it was meant to be. As a veggie I was offered veggie sausage with Breakfast (Full English) and had three course Evening Meals including Veggie Ratatouille, Cheese Pasta, Goats Cheese and Caramelised Onion Tart and Jacket Potato with a lovely fresh salad etc. There were always at least two meat based Main Courses, plus Ham, Tuna or Cheese Salad. There was always a delicious soup on offer and the puddings and desserts were good too.

The Entertainment was a bit naff on the Monday night (enuff sed.) It was a Quiz and Bingo night Tuesday ( a nice touch as each table got a small box of maltesers or similar to share ) Also it was pretty good again on the Wednesday and Thursday with Entertainment, Singing and Dancing (for those who wished it)

All Train and Bus Times were displayed. The staff were very knowledgable,on the local area, and always willing to help and advise. On the last night night ,one of the couples in our party had a Wedding Anniversary, I mentioned it to the (I think) Assistant Manager and we were suddenly surprised by an announcement, the room darkened and in came the Proprietress with a lovely Gateaux, complete with lit candle.

The Hotel has a great little swimming pool, in a nice setting. Although the jacuzzi did not work (and had obviously not worked for some time) this did not deter us from an early morning and evening swim.

The hotel is about 5 minutes away from both Shanklin town and the Esplanade (Sea Front to us). You can always walk around the coast from Shanklin to Sandown (about 45 minutes if you stop for tea or coffee on the way) There are many interesting places to visit on the Isle of Wight including Sea View , where you can feed penguins, ducks, geese, and the most amazing albino wallabys. There are a couple of vineyards, complete with tasters, also The Needles, Alum Bay and Godshill (one of the most photographed places on the Island) are all good places to visit etc

All in all we had a great time at Langham Court Hotel and I would recommended it to friends, family and any one reading this review. If you can afford something classier then pay for the privilege. If not, this is great place for those who want cheerful staff and a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolisticGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 169 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2008

Where to Start!!!!

No TV - Well it was in the room and had good white noise
Taps falling off Bath
No Shower or shower head adapter to wash hair
Table Spoons to Eat Puddings
Only one Marmite, and that was taken from Kitchen Floor
Forgot to give the fruit for breakfast, but then the days it was served you had to fish out the dirty spoon in the bowl
Brown Bread Mouldy and run-out
Hot Water turned off
Saucer of Vegetables to share between four - if you were lucky to get Vegetables
Swimming pool shut
No Sauna Jacuzzi - Just as well because covered in Black Mould
Carpets dirty and yellow tape to keep together
The cheese plate had human blood! on the cheese
Asked for cheese and biscuits - and told if we had everyone may want some!
Vegetarian selection - comes with Bacon
Heard a complaint from another in party that the TV was not working - The reply was you have one in your room we didn't advertise that it would Work from staff


Well thats just some of the surprises which will await you.

The waiter staff were mostly friendly

When telling the management. I was made to make it look like my fault for not letting them know about the faults!!!!! - Strange they didn't come around and ask if everyone was happy!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JRREngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I booked a two-night break on the Isle of Wight and chose this hotel as the website looked good and it was relatively cheap. However, it was without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I managed one horrible night there and left immediately the next morning, and luckily found a much nicer hotel in Sandown.

The room was disgustingly dirty, the carpet had obviously not been hovered for weeks, so much so that your socks got dirty just walking around on it. The curtains were thick with dust. The television had a bizarre fault of losing reception after ten minutes, so you had to turn it off and on again to keep watching. The pool was closed, so I can't comment on that part, but that was a disappointment in itself as it was one of the things that attracted me. The breakfast was the cheapest produce available, watery orange juice, cheap sausages, etc.

But none of the above was as bad as the noise. I was kept awake until 3am by other guests screaming and shouting at each other, running up and down the corridor, and slamming doors. The walls were paper thin, to the point where you could actually hear snoring from the adjacent rooms.

This hotel almost ruined my short break, and I am so glad we chose to leave the next morning rather than stick it out. I'm normally not fussy about hotels as long as they are half decent, but this was just unbearable.

Never, ever stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank superlative26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

understaffed dirty poor standard accomodation.
The staff that did appear were dirty and ill presented arguing constantly with each other
The rooms are dank dirty and pokey you really couldnt get a cat wee enough to swing
showers are few and if you are lucky to get one in your room it either wont work or wont be hot
Bathtubs are prehistoric and filthy
Linen and towels are scarce with many rooms going without whilst the clapped out washers try to catch up on the never ending pile of washing thrown all over the floor at the rea of the hotel (and need a good boiling even after washing)
Food is regularly served cold and often sprinkled with hair
45 mins is the standard wait between starter and main course if indeed they havent run out of food on your stay
Rooms often are double booked so dont be surprised if you wind up sharing with a stranger
toilets wobble and spill contents over floor
cigarettes are not banned as each room will verify with the yellow walls curtains and burn marks as well as stink of previous occupants
Not positioned for the benefit of car drivers as it is right on the lights with little or no space to load or unload cases
No pool or any leisure facilities although there is a small pond at the rear which is for viewing purposes only
Tea in rooms is damp dirty tea bags of undeterminate age and a totally new experience in vile taste
Kettles take an average of 30 mins to boil one cup thats if they dont blow up in the process
Everything closes on the island after august so plan carefully so that time in sherwood is as little as possible
Enjoy your holidays folks!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freenerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Visited this hotel as part of a large Golfing party. Rooms were clean and basic, bathrooms were in need of replacement, particularly the showers that alternated between scalding hot and freezing cold. Food was included but the standard wasn't great - the meat was the pre-packed kind, not fresh and the veggies were boiled to death. Breakfast was half decent though. Very understaffed and the staff that were there made it clear we were visiting 'out of season' and that we were putting them out. Hotel advertised a facilities such as a heated indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna - Jacuzzi and Sauna were out of order and the swimming pool was freezing and filthy. Overall we felt that we had been ripped off because it simply wasn't very enjoyable. When I retun to the Isle of Wight, I won't be going back there.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gooner350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Room clean.
Cases taken to room whilst we ate.
Cooked breakfast every day with minor variations was good.
Chose our evening meal at Breakfast, with a choice of two main courses or a fish choice.
Went to the bar for our wine as there was no wine waiter, but hey what do you expect for the price.
Parts of the hotel where too hot.
My mother being a fussey eater, ate everything presented to her by hard working staff. Her request for a cup of hot water each meal time was always actioned willingly.

No faults, just good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinPattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

we booked this hotel through a travel agent for 5 days .we arrived on the monday and was shown to our room which was facing a local kebab shop extractor fan which was really noisy and the smell was disgusting.it took a long time to find the room as you have to go through so many narrow corridors to get to it.we then complained to the manageress and she moved us to the sherwood cliff hotel where we could have breakfast every morning but we had to go back to the sherwood court to have our evening meal,which was not as i was expecting.more food was send back to the kitchen than was eaten.there were slug trails all over the restaurent carpets not what you would expect to find in a restaurant.table clothes had stains over them when we arrived up until the time we left so i would advise anybody not to go there.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank observer595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#19 of 51 in Shanklin
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Court

Address: 48-54 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: $86 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langham Court 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Court Hotel Shanklin
Sherwood Court Shanklin
Langham Court Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing