We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Langham Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langham Court
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived with a coach party and were warmly welcomed by Emma the receptionist.Our suitcases were ably delivered to our rooms by a young man.The rooms were clean but a little outdated but comfortable.The staff were extremely obliging,polite and nothing seemed to be a trouble.Mrs C and Mr O were on hand everyday and welcomed our party with open arms.One of our party was about to celebrate his 65th birthday and was presented with 2 cakes which we all enjoyed very much.The nightly entertainment was well received especially Patsy who had a great voice and a great act.The thursday night entertainer who we believe was a former member of the Tornadoes did not go down very well as he spent almost the first hour telling jokes which were getting "smuttier" and "smuttier".By the time he started on the real music most of our party had gone to bed
On the whole it was a great week thanks to our own party and thanks to the owners and her staff who were great!.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dor44een
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamCourt, Manager at Langham Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

It was nice of you to write a review. Your kind words asre appreciated, we are an old building and like the 4th bridge in a constant state of refurbishement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

A well run, pleasant hotel to use as a base to enjoy your stay on IOW.
Ideally suited to coaching needs providing good sized dining area with good food, entertainment area, bar, quiet room, swimming pool, games room. Shanklin rail and bus station only 5 mins walk. Town centre 5 mins away. Ideally situated for beach, shopping and transport needs.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hscreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just spent Sunday night of the Jubilee weekend at The Langham Court hotel in Shanklin.
£116.00 in total for two rooms for 2 adults, 2 kids and 1 black Labrador. The owner and staff were both helpfull and friendly. The rooms were as previous people have commented were tired and outdated but were clean and we were all made to feel most welcome.

Room Tip: Hotel has two ajoining rooms for family and dog(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The holiday stared off ok, everybody was polite, I had arranged for a birthday cake for my partner and this enabled her to have an enjoyable evening, she asked if the remains could be wrapped up and it dissapeared never to be seen again, It was a cheap holiday so cant really complain about the food except it seemed either frozen or out of a packet, Everything went pearshaped on the last night, we were informed to settle our bills, bar tabs etc, there were a few coach passengers staying at the hotel and the driver had put up a poster saying that because of an early departure they would be having breakfast at 7am, normal breakfast time was 8.30-9am.
The manageress came round the dining room and informed us that breakfast would only be served from 7.15 to 7.45, now the majority of people had arrived by car and had booked their ferry crossing to coinside with the 10am checkout time, When i complained the manageress became very rude and said we were all classed as coach passengers.

Room Tip: Choose a differant hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamCourt, Manager at Langham Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Firstly we would like to thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory.
In regards to breakfast, the travel company advised us that a 7am breakfast was required for the group. We decided that to serve until 7.45am for the last serving was appropriate and this was duly arranged. This information had been posted on the notice board all day and no-one who was self-drive came to reception before the last evening meal to inform us that a later breakfast would be required. We were then informed that there was an ex-chef on the premises who would be willing to cook a later breakfast, the offer was very kind but we refused as it would be against any good safety and hygiene practices.
A mixture of fresh and frozen vegetables is served to give a variety of colour, taste and texture.
The cake that you requested was supplied free of charge. You asked for it to be wrapped to take home/eat later and this was done. Unfortunately it was never asked for and therefore thrown away Monday afternoon.
We try our upmost to make sure that everyone has an enjoyable stay at Langham Court and are sorry that these issues seem to have spoilt your last day.
Regards, Langham Court.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We recently stayed here for one night and the owner was a lovely lady who couldn't be more helpful but this b & b has def seen better days and needs an overhaul, it is very tired and dated. On the plus side hot water was in abundance and heating was on the in the room, but our room was on the busy main road, and also the b & b is situated at traffic lights - so getting off to sleep took longer that anticipated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelling1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just ended yet another great week at the Langham court in Shanklin. . As always we were given a warm and friendly welcome by the manager and her staff. The only thing was the amount of food put in front of us. We could not move after the meals. A previous review (since removed) said that the food portions were poor and that hot water was not available until after 12 noon.
What a load of rubbish, the water was always piping hot 24 Hours a day. Food was excellent. I often wonder if some of the people who write such reports only stay in 5 star hotels!!!!
Oh and i am bemused at how anyone can write a review on a hotel unless they have stayed there themselves. As far as myself and my family are concerned, you will not get a more homely and friendly welcome than at the Langham Court.
Dave

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamCourt, Manager at Langham Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The decor is poor, the rooms are small, the room lights kept tripping out, the water supply to the showers is dangerously variable. The food, whilst plentiful, is unimaginative and often overcooked although the wait staff were as helpful as the petty rules allowed.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Bigeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#18 of 51 in Shanklin
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Court

Address: 48-54 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: $87 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langham Court 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Court Hotel Shanklin
Sherwood Court Shanklin
Langham Court Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing