We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for! 10/10 for location and freindly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My husband, Son (11) and I wanted to extend our weeks holiday in the Isle of Wight having been in a holiday cottage for a week. On a Sunny Afternoon in August your choices will be quite limited and also we did not have a huge amount of money to spend. We found the Harrow Lodge very welcoming the room was clean and tidy and from the 1970's and amusingly the corridor and our room seemed to run a bit down hill. Breakfast was fine and the location is wonderful - easy walk into town and right above the beach. Lovely lovely views from the bar area. I don't mind dogs in the hotel, but it you do not want to share you holiday with doggies - do not visit. Basic room, Easy parking, Value accommodation with stunning views!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elphaba12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

Great location good price shame about the beds lumpy & hard. This hotels has been redecorated its a shame they did'nt spend any money on new beds. Not very friendly on reception either.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sue21essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

In good position ; Staff could not be faulted: food good limited menu but staff always helpfull for changes and diets; romm clean but datedbut was not uncortable ; Priced at lowest end of market very good value foe money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redram123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The reception was causual, "Here is your key, it is the second on the right, the room is the silver key". The food reminded us of school dinners. The breakfasts were apparently cooked in advance and kept warmish.. There were no offers of a second cup of tea/coffee, which was "Instant". The boards on the patio outside offered "Happy Hour" all day and various other incentives for non-residents, if these had shown in the photo we would not have chosen this hotel. The only positive point was we had a reasonably sized room with a very small shower room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happywanderer1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We fairly recently stayed at this hotel which I must say is at a prime location, not only for the sea front but also it is only a short walk along Palmerston Rd to the town centre (5 Mins) Also the lift down to the beach saves a few aches and pains, especially on the walk back up,it is almost in front of the hotel (80p) The Hotel has adequate parking facilities. On arrival was just given the keys(not showed to our rooms) Very small room (only about a foot at the end of the bed) No electric socket near the mirror for doing hair, and lead wouldnt reach socket for the kettle. Only tea bags milk and sugar (No coffee provided) No shower in the room we had. Not much thought gone into the planning of the roomThe heating didnt come on till about ten minutes before the evening meal so we were cold when we came back in the afternoon. Food was O.K.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainlyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

I have stayed several times on the Isle of Wight but this time wanted to take my dog and found the Harrow Lodge that excepted him.

Room clean and tidy and of average size, we only had breakfast at the hotel as we wanted to try out different restaurants and breakfast was fine.

Most people that stayed there had dogs and you could even take then in the bar at night. The only really negative i would say about the bar is no music, but a rather amusing barman who made everybody very welcome.

I would stay here again in a good location and trying to find a hotel with parking has been difficult in the past and really is nothing wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed here for Bank Holiday weekend 26/5-29/5 2006. We couldn't find any reviews online for it, but as it was hard to get a B&B that weekend, we ended up booking here after all.

The hotel is at the bottom of Palmerston Road, 10 minute walk from Shanklin station and 5 minute walk from the High Street. The location is pretty good - 20 metres away and you have a nice view over the beach/sea and up to Sandown. It is also close to the lift down to the Esplanade. The hotel has a pretty nice beer/tea garden that is probably lively in the summer.

The room (number 9, no seaview) was pretty small. There was maybe just one foot of space on either side of the double bed, and maybe two feet at the bottom of the bed. The bathroom was also small, and as the door opens inward, it only really has room for one person at the time in there (unless the other person is in the shower, of course). The room and bathroom were kept satisfactory clean during our stay.

The breakfast (served 0830-0915) was just alright. There was a choice of cereals and/or full English. If you want continental breakfast, it has to be ordered the day before. We had a look at the dinner menu (three choices of mains, different each day), but it didn't quite tempt us. The bar looked pretty nice, with a good selection of drinks, but most of the people we saw were in there in the evenings seemed to be 50+.

Checkout is at 1030 (rather early if you ask me). And the day we checked out, we got a call at exactly 1030 reminding us (not in a friendly way) about the checkout time... I understand that they have their schedule, but we both found it a bit pushy. When we asked him later if he could call a cab for us, he just pointed us to a payphone in the corridor where their phone numbers where.

At £29 per person, per night, we should perhaps not expect much. It is an OK place to sleep in, but not much more. I would recommend going up to Godshill and eat in The Essex - the food and service there was brilliant - Michelin-star quality!

Bear in mind the cancellation fees as well before you book as they are not mentioned on their web site.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank azlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Lodge Hotel

Address: & Eastcliff Promenade 31 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $106 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harrow Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Harrow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Shanklin
The Harrow Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing