We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday Break”
Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Superb location, with views right across Sandown Bay. We stayed for 9 nights. The Premier Suite is pricey, but good value if you want the view - and the space. The proprietors and staff are all very friendly, with a general "family" atmosphere. We can definitely recommend the food, too, with regularly changing "specials". I would not complain about paying for wifi, but slightly annoying to have to re-log in so often. I'm not sure when we'll go back to the island again, but when we do it will be the Clifton again. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for the Premier suite or another balcony or sea-view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank drdelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Hi, glad we were able to supply you with the Great Holiday you were looking for, the Premier Suite does seem to be very popular for exactly the reasons you have pointed out. The wi-fi was upgraded last winter so that it complies with the latest security guidelines now being recommended, this does make logging on a little more laborious but it does mean that all guest's devices are more secure. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Island in the future. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 494 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in a "standard double". The room was a reasonable size and spotlessly clean with a bathroom also in very good order. The Clifton is located on the cliff tops at the southern end of Keats Green and is well placed for anyone wanting to walk up into old Shanklin for the restaurants in the High Street. The hotel offered to book our ferry tickets and got a discount on the advertised price for us. Overall the Clifton is well presented and the breakfast choice is very good and of excellent quality. Wi-Fi is available but on a limited basis unless you pay for an upgrade. The free allowance is the same whether you stay one night or several. The staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aitch1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Nice to read that you would be happy to stay here again, it is important to us that our guests feel comfortable here. The Wi-Fi is normally enough for the usual e-mail and internet searches, it is only when the device is being used for streaming films etc that a cost kicks in. Best Regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed from 9th july for 2 nights. Really good value and great service. Breakfast very good and selection impressive. Amazing views across the bay both from our room and restraunt/gardens. Overall excellent. Many thanks the Cooks from Swindon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcook5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello the Cooks, so glad you were particularly impressed with our Breakfast offering - we are great believers in all our guests having a proper choice for the first meal of the day as it puts a smile on everyone's face. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Clifton in the future. Best regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

well appointed small hotel in beautiful location. staff very friendly . Good food in dining room with super sea views.
Good location.
Wifi a disappointment as many hotels have unlimied easy access.
would definitly stay again and recommend to friends

Room Tip: beautful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susie2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi Susie. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are extremely pleased that you are happy to recommend us to your friends. The wi-fi has been upgraded over the winter so that it complies with the latest security guidelines now being brought into law, this does make logging on a little more laborious but it does mean that all guest's devices are more secure. Best regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a two night break at the beginning of June and we picked The Clifton because of the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed; the accommodation, food, staff & views were excellent. We will definitely stay at The Clifton again and would just like to say thank you for our lovely break :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarin279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Hello Tarin. It is good to be reassured that our reviews on Tripadvisor are painting a true picture of The Clifton. Thank you. Best Regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week from 11th June 2014. We hadn't stayed there before, and with so many hotels to choose from, we took a chance. We think we hit the jackpot. It was perfect!! The room, the staff, the food, the location for the view, and the town centre couldn't be beaten. If we were to revisit I.O.W. we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Sometimes we've stayed in hotels where staff and management shouldn't be anywhere near the public. Not so at this hotel, everyone is so nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 with s great view out across the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank severn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Greetings - and thank you very much for your super review, never been called a 'jackpot' before. I like it! We find we enjoy our work so much more when we have a hotel full of happy customers, so a little effort from all our team means we have fun too. Hope you decide to revisit this fabulous Island in the future. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We organised a surprise getaway for my Mum & Dad to revisit the hotel they stayed at 50 years ago on their honeymoon - The Clifton, Shanklin.

We would like to thank David and his team for making our parents feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room with its sea view was lovely, the facilities spotless and the meals delicious.

Mum and Dad were overwhelmed by their 50th Anniversary getaway and the ferry, flowers, bubbly and cards were the icing on the cake, all organised by the hotel.

We will definitely recommend the Clifton to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Hi Lesley. So glad your parents enjoyed their special break back here where they honeymooned, they seemed to enjoy the 'new' Clifton immensely. We hope to be able to welcome yourself to The Clifton in the future. Best Regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $136 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton's privileged location on the Shanklin cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The stunning view of Shanklin bay can be enjoyed from the lounge and bar, where light meals are available all day. We also cater for gluten free diets. In the award winning cliff top garden you can also take advantage of the fabulous sea view, warm Isle of Wight sunshine, wonderful sea air, and refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing