We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clifton
Nearby Hotels
$54
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holliers Hotel(Shanklin)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luccombe Hall Hotel(Shanklin)
$128
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$87
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveler rating
363
118
20
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
118
20
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier suitesea viewsnug barisle of wightshanklin chinethe clifflovely hotelexcellent locationold villagecold buffetshort breakpretty gardenfull englishcooked foodbreakfasts were excellentcoastal pathtop floor
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 513 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Clifton for three nights and had a superb balcony view. The room was a good size though we would have preferred a bigger bed. The breakfasts were excellent with an extensive selection of cold buffet, very good individually prepared hot breakfast and the yummiest of pastries.

Room Tip: Sea view on the first floor for the view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazandPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. When we refurbished your room we asked other guests whether we should instal a larger bed than a normal double, which would have meant repositioning the bed, the concensus was to have the bed as it is so that when you wake in the morning the view is directly out to sea. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast offering, our evening Bistro menu now includes a daily selection of fresh fish dishes which are also proving very popular. Hopefully we will welcome you back to The Clifton in the future.
Kind Regards, David and Carys - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the Clifton for three nights. Our first impression of the owner wasn’t a hospitable greeting, but a sarcastic comment. We were checked in & shown to our room by Alex, who obviously had more experience in hospitality. We had dinner in the sun room that one evening. The food & the view were nice and compensated for the atmosphere.
The en-suite shower room looked a little ‘tired’ but usable. The water pressure leaves a lot to be desired though. We had to run the hot tap in the basin for quite a while before the hot water made its way up to the top floor, but then it ran so slowly, it took twice as long to shower! On our third afternoon we returned to the room to find brown water leaking from the toilet, we cleaned it up ourselves & told the owner on our way out for the evening. His response was “Really? Ok, I’ll try to pop up there this evening to check”. No apology was offered. On our return that night he approached us (for the first time) to advise us that he couldn’t get a plumber in until Monday. We found the toilet had leaked again, although not as much as before. I took the photo as proof, as the owner gave the impression he didn’t believe us. On checking out the next morning, we paid the £7 for the two drinks we had with the evening meal on the day we arrived. The leak wasn’t mentioned and no apology given.
We checked into the Havelock, behind the Clifton, for the rest of our stay on the island. It was very nice.

Room Tip: Our top floor room (17) was nice with a window facing the hotel next door, but if you look left, you can see the sea (you pay extra for this view).
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

We have tried to create a friendly and welcoming atmosphere in The Clifton since taking over, and usually find a little light hearted banter goes a long way, I can only apologise if this was misread by our guests. We are aware of a pressure problem with the water on the top floor and will be sorting it out in the closed winter season as it is a fairly big job. Perhaps because of the earlier communication breakdown my initial reaction was misunderstood – I always take guest complaints very seriously and consequently spent an hour looking for a leak in the bathroom but could find nothing except for a small pool of liquid. However to ensure that there wasn’t a leak our plumber came in on the Monday and he too couldn’t find anything untoward. The problem hasn’t reappeared since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Arrived late and were phoned by the owner whilst in the car park to say the check-in desk closed half and hour ago (10pm). A bit surprised at this given only mention of check in times on the website, email and booking was "From 3pm". At least he bothered to phone and stay up, but he was not best pleased clearly.
Room was decent size, and the bed very comfy. Window opened fine, and therefore room not too hot. Bathroom seemed new and tidy, but could do with a bit of industrial strength cleaner- mould and meldew and limescale around the shower and basin. A few cobwebs around the room also.
Had a good nights sleep and matress was very good.
Breakfast also great- good selection of hot, cold and cooked food and many different juices. Only complaints, were re check in time and cleaning in room could be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biginsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights intending to stay for two but extended for a further night due to the beautiful views from the balcony and the relaxing peaceful ambiance of the venue.
The food was very good and the service and attention given to detail was excellent. The room was clean and well maintained having recently been decorated to a very good standard.
It is easy walking from the town. The beach is a steeper walk but the lift starts during the easter break. If you are not able to walk to the beach I would suggest going on or after the easter break.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will be revisiting in the very near future.

Room Tip: One of the rooms to the rear with the balcony are to be sought just for the views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddiesimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

It was with great excitement that we went for a our first trip to the Isle of Wight. The atrocious weather aside, we did enjoy seeing the island. However our stay at the Clifton was a mixed bag. The room was very clean and warm, bed very comfortable and the hotel is perfectly situated- was a real joy to eat breakfast overlooking the ocean. The breakfast was well made and very filling. The disappointing factor was the demanour of some of the staff- they were not very accommodating when we made some simple requests and did not go out of their way to make us feel welcome. All in all we would probably visit the island again but perhaps stay somewhere a little more friendly..

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ilovetravelling681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews