We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yokle feeling hungry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“yokle feeling hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

a group of us;non residents;booked a table for 12.EVERYBODY was truly satisfied with the whole
experience!! décor and cleanliness in the restaurant was very good;with the bonus of sea views;
the staff were polite and attentive;nothing too much trouble.No" theme" to the menu i.e sea food
Italian etc.but just good and reasonably priced menu!! Well done!!

Room Tip: non resident
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yokle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    41
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went in after we were unable to get into the Waterfront. At first we were a little disappointed as it lacked atmosphere - however the service was excellent - nothing too much trouble. Food was excellent and very pleased we went in. Would definitely go again.
My advice would be don't be put off by austere surroundings - you couldn't get better service and food anywhere else in Shanklin

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Would like to Thanks to all at the aqua, our 4th stay here and now with our young daughter.
Family rooms very comfortable we had balcony and sea view.
New menu catering for all, loved the cream tea !
Evening entertainment singers for everyone taste
Wish you a busy summer and see you again soon

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaundersCartee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, we had booked on the good advice of others on this site and we were not disappointed. The bedrooms are slightly dated, however they are very spacious and clean. We had a family room (Room 3) and the room was very spacious with 2 single beds and a double, there was plenty of cupboard space which is usually lacking in most hotels. All the staff were extremely friendly to the point of cooking smaller portions from the menu in the restaurant for our daughter. The restaurant is really nice and reasonably priced, I can recommend the potted crab which was on a special, but all the meals we had there were delicious. Our room also had a balcony, which we paid extra for but was well worth it, our daughter could go to bed whilst we sat and relaxed on the balcony. I would recommend this hotel, even if the rooms are a little dated, the friendly staff and welcome you receive make this a really nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanklin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our meal at he Aqua was fantastic, We had the salmon and it was better than these 5* hotels, we had the steak and it was A1 and we had the smoked haddock and it was ace. The bonus was there was outside entertainment, a solo and he was absolutely brilliant, thank you the Aqua

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PicnicBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I did not stay at The Aqua, but i did have the pleasure of dining there several times during my stay on the Island. The food was very good, with generous portions cooked just right and very tasty ( compliments to the chef ! ) prompt service and friendly staff. Good value for money. To top that you have a view over the beach and the blue ocean beyond. Would recommend The Aqua to anyone looking for a place to eat or stay in Shanklin.
MagpieclosetotheDrive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpieclosetothedriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Whilst staying in Shanklin we were recommended to the Aqua restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food is not the usual "something with chips" that you usually expect at the seaside. I had some really succulent Isle of Wight sausages with sweet onion gravy and my husband had poached haddock. Both dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. We shall certainly return when we are on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodDeepthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Property: Aqua Hotel
Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing