We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent Visit"”
Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I ( no - I'm not the Queen!) have recently celebrated our wedding anniversary on the island and chose the Aqua from the internet. So we were very pleasantly surprised to see that in real life it is much nicer! It is in such a good position being so close to the sea and the esplanade is a cul de sac with many road bumps so no speeding traffic. The decor has been updated and is in very relaxing colours, quite modern furniture and lovely art work, and gives a welcoming feel to the whole place. We chose a room with a seaview and balcony - you can't stay this close to the sea and not be able to see and hear it! We decided to got out for dinner - next door! and the food was lovely but if the breakfast was anything to go by ,we should have had our meal at the hotel! for we had plenty to chose from - fruit juice,cereal,yogurt,full english,eggs of any sort on toast and smoked haddock with poached eggs with toast and marmalade and tea or coffee. We didn't have it all! but didn't need to eat again for hours! All the staff we met were very welcoming ,friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Aqua to any age group - you couln't choose better!! Thankyou to all of you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 204 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just spent five glorious days in this hotel. The location is fantastic with great views. The hotel has recently been redecorated. The rooms were comfortable, clean and more than adequate for our need. We stayed on a DBB basis and were not disappointed. The chef is to be commended on the evening meal. There was a great choice for breakfast from vegetarian to traditional full english. There was entertainment most evening, just to relax, good enterainer, nice and relaxed atmosphere with good company and a pint of reasonably priced beer - my idea of heaven!! As I said in the visitors book "First class all round".

Room Tip: Get one with a seaview and pit that wee bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aportyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel is in great location, close to town and just a few steps to the beach! We came here last minute for weekend break, chose this hotel as there was not many avalible on that time but I don't regret, it was perfect choice. We were suprised when we came into hotel that is so tidy and up-dated. Website pictures were old but they going to change them soon.
Our room was small but with balcony and the most amasing view over the sea! Enjoyed morning cup of tea watching sunrise:) I really like their bed linen and choice of colours, very relaxing.
Staff was friendly and we had a great welcoming on arrival.
Dinnind room was very nice, I think they just renovated. Clean tables, comfy chairs. neutral, calm colours.
Ok, now what was bad. Poor wi-fi connection, lack of restaurant open all day for public, they have facilities, so maybe they are going to change it and then guest don't need to go next door for dinner and entertainment.
Breakfast was average, but what you can expect from standard english breakfast, it is always the same everywhere.

Thanks Aqua Hotel and Isle of Wight for lovely weekend, I really need it:)
Anna

Room Tip: Is better to pay additional cost to have sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The only good thing was the location right by the beach the rest was awfull very loud music at bar till midnight tiny rooms.
Needs some serious refurbishment and good manner staff.Went with family didn't really liked it no wifi tv wasn't working .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayf2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Aqua you cannot fault it food excellent service the same,wonderful location opposite beach would recommend to all like home from home grandchildren already asking when are we going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandad1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel has been recently refurbished and is charming. Very clean very welcoming. The promenade is directly below. We had a room with a sea view plus a balcony on the second floor. Not large but had all the nice touches. Only slight concern was that the shower was within the bath. OK for a short stay. Lovely full English breakfast. The restaurant served evening meals, but we wandered along the prom and chose another eatery. Lots to do with children along the frongt, but not our thing any more!

Room Tip: Being so close to the sea get a room with a sea view. Lovely listening to the sounds on the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoozEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Arrived on Friday 17th August 2012 for a 2 night break, Chris greeted us very nicely, very friendly and very helpful, room was clean and tidy but way too small to swing a cat, cleaners tried to come in while my girlfriend was naked by putting their key in!! Breakfast was average, although the tables were too small to put anything on, ended up juggling stuff about, on the 2nd morning, we had a milk jug containing hair in it!!! Having come in from a meal around midnight, we decided to ask reception if we may buy a bottle of wine for our bedroom, to be greeted by an extremely rude and cantancorous old lady in her nightclothes who decided to bark at us that the Hotel was closed, and was told that "this" isn't like other Hotels or The Ritz!!!! - regardless of all the other hotels that would kindly serve their residents who've paid £85+ a night!!! - to summarise, wouldn't stay here at The Aqua ever again, though we will come back to Shanklin in a heartbeat as its beautiful, but the Aqua is way too overpriced, an expensive mistake (you live and learn) - on a side note, next door at The Steamer Inn, totally amazing food, friendly staff and relaxing entertainment

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarrisWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
361 reviews
15.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $67 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing