We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I can thoroughly recommend the Heatherleigh, Mary & Kim are excellent hosts making you feel very welcome, they go out of their way to ensure that your stay is a happy one . The rooms are spotlessly clean,quiet and the bed so comfortable that it is the perfect place to re-charge your batteries. The breakfast is superb, whether you want fruit & yogurt or a full English.
It is well located for the town, the sea front and Chine.
PS: Daisy is a star!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here recently with our dog and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mary, Kim and Daisy were an absolute joy ! Our room was huge and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were fantastic, fresh strawberries and pineapple!! Mary and Kim gave us great advice on where to go and what to see. Heatherleigh is in an ideal location, very close to a wonderful beach and several excellent pubs serving great food. We will be back !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed for one night in February 2012, myself and my son shared a room for a very reasonable price, far cheaper than anywhere I'd enquired about. Clean, cozy room, so quiet the location,we felt like we were the only ones there! No outiside noise even though we were 3 minutes from town centre. The hostesses, Mary and Kim were delightful. The breakfast was perfect with award winning sausages as well. Didn't want to come home. WILL be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonC207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hosts namely, Kim and Mary are the best hosts we have ever met!
Staying at their service feels so much like home that we didn't even miss it.
They were so helpful in giving information on what to see and do on the island and what's on.
The atmosphere was so incredibly cosy. They kept the place so clean that I, being a very sensitive allergic person, had not trouble at all.
Their breakfast was served hot, tasty and fresh.
There was always a smiling face around that was always on the ready to help with absolutely anything and everything!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suparne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We recently stayed at the Heatherleigh, choosing it on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews. As others have said this is a B&B, not a hotel and you must treat it as such. If you want evening entertainment, drinks in the bar and sumptuous surroundings look elsewhere and be prepared to pay a lot more. What we were after was a comfortable bed, convenient for the village, and this was fully met. We had room 5, a family room although we did not use the spare bedroom, which was clean and roomy. Breakfast was of a good standard and we did not feel pushed out afterwards, although you must remember that the rooms have to be prepared for the next guests.
We would definitely come here again and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We had room 5, which is a family room with a separate bedroom for children / friends.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dohrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We recently spent a week at Heatherleigh with our cocker spaniel. Apart from day trips this was our first visit to the Isle of Wight. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and during our stay nothing was too much trouble for Mary and Kim (our hosts). They were cheerful, chatty and friendly and obviously very happy in their work. They also have a very close working relationship which means that everything runs very smoothly. Our room was spotlessly clean and bedding and towels were changed during our stay. Everything one would expect in a B&B was provided including tea/coffee making facilities basic toiletries etc. No complaints in this department - nor any other for that matter.

The Heatherleigh is well situated within Shanklin which itself is well placed for easy access to other parts of the island either by public or private transport.

Breakfast at the Heatherleigh was superb with a full range of foods to suit every taste. Every morning we were greeted with a very cheerful/chirpy 'good morning' and all guests were included in discussions on a variety of subjects - usually very light hearted. Kim and Mary have an extensive interest/knowledge of the island and were excellent at recommending things to do and places to visit.

We hope to return to the Isle of Wight and when we do The Heatherleigh will be top of our list for choice of accommodation. Kim and Mary are two of the nicest people you will ever meet and will undoubtedly help make your holiday a memorable one. We would strongly recommend you give them a try. We would also like to thank them again for their fantastic hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I arrived here with my girlfriend for an all-too-short four night stay very recently and had a very enjoyable stay.

Firstly, it is worth highlighting that the best reason for staying at this hotel is by far the wonderful hosting by Mary and Kim. With such passion for the Isle of Wight and with a wealth of knowledge on the best places to eat and visit they are invaluable resources in ensuring you can make the most of the island. Plus, as an added bonus: they cook a mean English breakfast - a perfect start to any day!

The rooms are pleasantly, but modestly decorated and the beds were comfortable enough to sleep on for our stay. All the basics are replenished on a daily basis (cups, biscuits, tea, coffee etc.) making The Heatherleigh a convenient place to rest your hat whilst on the island. Our only slight issue was that the shower was small (but then again, I am rather large) and did not have a great deal of water pressure. However, if this is the kind of thing that ruins a holiday for you, then you're probably not best suited to The Heatherleigh anyway.

The location of the hotel is within a short walk of Shanklin and Old Shanklin and superbly positioned just a good arms throw from the cliff leading to the beach. Sandown is a peaceful and relaxed stroll along the sea-front - personally, I would stay at The Heatherleigh over staying anywhere in Sandown for the location alone.

Overall, The Heatherleigh is superb value for money and I would rather give it four and half rather than four or five stars. I would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone, unless you consider yourself grumpy and not a 'morning person'. Also, I was unaware, though it made no difference, that pets are allowed at the hotel. They are not allowed in the breakfast room and I did not see any animals, apart from Daisy - Mary and Kim's dog - in the last five minutes of our stay. However, if you are allergic to dogs, this hotel may not be for you either.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Epicuriouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#31 of 51 in Shanklin
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#16 of 51 in Shanklin
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knight's Rest
Knight's Rest
#26 of 51 in Shanklin
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snowdon House
Snowdon House
#29 of 51 in Shanklin
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $76 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian 6 bedroom Bed and Breakfast situated on the cliff top within easy access to shops, resturants, public houses and the Old Village and beach. Children over six years only and children over fourteen years charged as adults.Garden for the use of guests and parking at the side of the Heatherleigh.Dogs very welcome on application at £5per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherleigh Hotel Shanklin
Heatherleigh Bed And Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing