We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an Islan stay.”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife, our 4¾ year old granddaughter and I stayed over a long weekend. The room was perfect; not the best view, those are in the front, but not bad. The beds were very comfortable and the en-suite modern and well fitted, not having a shower suited us; with a young child a bath is best. The room was very quiet; we were not disturbed by anything even though there were lots of people staying of all ages.
The hotel staff were very friendly and approachable. Our granddaughter has a food allergy and all the staff were very helpful. The facilities are super; the indoor pool is modern, well maintained and fun. The outside one would be good if only the weather would have been more summery! The grounds are well kept and handy for a kick about with a beach ball; there is ample parking.
The breakfast was very good, I only had one full English (I do TRY not to eat too much), the omelettes were excellent large and lots of mushrooms in one and cheese in another. Two bowls of prunes and whole figs went well with one of the plain yoghurts. Dinners were good and nothing was too much trouble, order early and they accommodate most things. The desserts were good but the homemade ice cream takes some beating.
All in all we had an excellent stay at a very reasonable price. Definitely to be recommended.
In addition the rest of the island is easily accessible. We visited Blackgang Chine, the Owl & Monkey sanctuary, the Donkey sanctuary and Ventnor, as well as Shanklin beach, old village and Chine.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have great views over the bay but there were no bad outlooks.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenkswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Brunswick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 202 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I feel the need to write this review as reading the others this can't possibly be the same hotel !!!!! We stayed here in may 2012 - Yes a group were also staying !! & were older but if I can still be in the swimming pool at their age - I would be quite happy !!! So does age really matter when your on holiday.........NO !!!!!!! Our room was very comfortable with suitable furnishing (not gold leaf & flock wallpaper) & was very clean !!! All staff were very accomating & friendly !!! Food was of a super standard & would like to point out that yes prunes were on the breakfast menu as were cereals,yoghurts,grapefruit,figs & then of course "THE FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST " in any combination possible !!!!! Yes I would/have reccomended this hotel to friends & family !!!! Will I be back ?????? YES !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 68Cobblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A sea of gray hair in the dining room, 1970s decor in the rooms and wrinkled bodies in the swimming pool, welcome to the Brunnswick. The rooms however, were the most troublesome. The carpet was a green swirl design, the walpaper was a floral border, the bedroom furniture was pine and there were net curtains on the window. Breakfast buffet had a bowl of prunes that was very popular. On the upside, I felt postitivly glamorous in the swimming pool compared with the bodies around me. If you want to take Granny on holiday, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DitaTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Brunswick hotel for ten nights, as we got married in the Isle of Wight, we needed a special hotel to stay in. We have a one year old daughter, so we stayed in one of the family rooms (Room 39) which was a very good size for the three of us, she had her own room and even had her own little play area! We had a separate shared lounge, which was down one flight of stairs, good size with balcony, lovely views overlooking the garden/sea. We found everyone to be very friendly, especially the new waiter Martin (David Beckham look alike!) nothing was too much trouble and he always brought a smile to the table! The food was very good, 4 courses plus coffee every night and all to a very good standard. We even had a free bottle of champagne on our wedding night! The pool was a good size, lovely, clean and warm and stayed open until 10pm every night. The location of hotel was fantastic for walks out along Shanklin seafront or into the unique little village of Shanklin. We would definitely recommend the Brunswick, there is nothing not to like and we will be looking forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 39 very good if you have a baby, as lots of space for crawling etc. Fantastic views for us!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank whirlybozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed two nights, do not know what type of hotel other people stay at, but thought that what we paid it was great value for money. All the staff on duty were polite and attentive, food for the price we paid was very good. I personally would not pay 3 star prices and expected a 5 star hotel. We are returning next year for another fishing trip and will be staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just had 2 nights at the Brunswick in october 2011 and very satisfied with the hotel. I found the staff very helpful and extremely pleasant and after reading some of the other less then complimentary reviews especially about the staff, I can only conclude that those reviews related to different people as the ones I met were certainly up to the mark . The food was perfectly OK and the service timely and pleasant. I have stayed at other hotels in the area and would recommend a visit to the Brunswick - don`t be put off by the negative comments - give it a go it is value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have just come back from a lovely 2 night stay at the Brunswick. When we searched on trip advisor we found some negative comments and must stress that these are unfounded in our opinion. To start with, great value. We got a great deal for a family of 4 having two rooms. The rooms were clean and had everything we could need. We made use of the brilliant indoor pool, and had 2 tasty evening meals as part of the deal. A warm welcome from all helpful happy staff will ensure that when we return to the Isle of Wight, we will be staying at the Brunswick.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Address: 5 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $121 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunswick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing