We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night at Foxhills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent night at Foxhills”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a really nice short stay at Foxhills guesthouse this Easter. James and Paula are wonderful hosts, everything is thought to help you organise your visit of the city (guide for a nice dinner out) or of the island (itineraries detailed in each room, copies available on request etc.). Really cosy room, amazing breakfast and the Jacuzzi is definitely a nice plus. I strongly recommend Foxhills guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aurelie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
303
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a great experience, James and Paula could not have been more welcoming, the room was clean and beautifully decorated with those little touches that are not expected but, really make the difference. The public rooms were also quietly luxurious all things to hand and, if not, James was always there to make sure that our stay was complete.

Breakfast was an experience, yes there were the usual in abundance ( how did they manage so much fresh fruit choice with, early in the season our being the only guests for the two days?) but, the cooked choice was a revelation, quite different, a delicious half croissant topped with ham and cheese grilled was sheer heaven and that is just a f'rinstance. Our only disappointment was that we only could stay for two days, next time it will be longer. Could not recommend any higher, 20 out of 10!
Thanks to you both
Jean & Mike Kaufman

Room Tip: Discuss it with James, we all have different likes and dislikes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great welcome, great room and superb breakfasts. James and Paula are the perfect hosts. Location is excellent but be aware that old shanklin is the place to eat and explore (not "new shanklin"). Would not hesitate to stay in the future.

Room Tip: We had the Osbourne room which was lovely but only has a hand held shower over a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davdeb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is an experience to be savoured.The accommodation & service is excellent & the breakfast is as good as I have had anywhere.Very good value for money.The hotel is located very close to the centre of Shanklin & a 5 minute walk to all the facilities & attractions.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet & the hotel is 5 minutes walk from Shanklin main st facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryB44Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Having stayed here previously we were looking forward to returning here for a longer stay, and we will certainly carry on staying at this hotel. James was very welcoming, greeting us from the car to take our bags in for us. We stayed in the Carisbrooke room which is beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless, with the large double bed being extremely comfortable.
I arrived at Foxhills on my birthday and, after having spotted the few birthday cards I had up on the bedside table, James wished me a happy birthday and gave me a bottle of wine with compliments to celebrate. It's this level of generosity which makes staying at Foxhills such a lovely experience, especially as James makes sure everyone is well looked after, he even went out of his way to move my car to safety one morning because a car had caught fire on the street outside!
The breakfast is the best I have ever tasted (credit to Paula who is also a lovely host, happily stopping to chat if you see her around), with a vast selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals and cooked breakfast which is always cooked beautifully.
The hotel itself is in a lovely location, a 10 minute walk away from the beach, and a very short distance from Shanklin Old Village which is home to some lovely restaurants and tea rooms.
I cannot praise James and Paula enough, with just their hospitality alone being reason enough to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyCorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very friendly owner n great breakfast, we choose here for a weekend get away... Enjoyed the stay very much! Especially the jacuzzi...
The location was good, stand out of the crowds of seafront, also better quality of the beds was a plus.. Pity we only stayed a shirt time! Wud like to visit again..
Thx u James n Paula..

Room Tip: When u book the room be careful to read each room's introduction, some rooms show only, some onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gom4older
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I chose Foxhills as a 25th anniversary surprise for my husband and we were not disappointed. James was very helpful and even booked the ferry for me. We were greeted at the car when we arrived and our bags were taken to our rooms. We were in the Carisbrooke suite, which is a lovely room. The room was spotless, as was the bedding and towels. The breakfast was nicely cooked and set us up for the day. We have nothing negative to say about Foxhills, it is a lovely hotel and we would certainly stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottmjr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing