We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Foxhills of Shanklin
Nearby Hotels
$79
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerston Grange(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Holliers Hotel(Shanklin)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$142
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlborough Hotel(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
451
41
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
451
41
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe perfect hostblack pudding stackbeauty treatmentsb bsnack menuisle of wightmarmaladered squirrelsfull englishnothing is too much troublebreakfast was excellenthotel owneron arrivalno hesitation in recommendingshort walkrelaxing breakhot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 494 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ticked all the correct boxes. Was met & greeted by the owner, who carried our bags to the rooms. Guided tour of the facility's including Jacuzzi & spa, which I'd forgotten about. Rooms were tastefully decorated & clean, bathrooms adequate & beds lovely & comfy.
Breakfast had enormous selection of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts & also a large menu of cooked items.
After a day of driving around the island I had the pleasure of the Jacuzzi all to my self for about an hour, total heaven.
The owners were fantastic, attention to detail making this hotel stand out above the rest. A very pleasurable stay & will come back again if we need to visit the island again
Restaurants we tried were
Fine Nammet 33 to 35 High Street Shanklin, Shanklin PO37 6JJ,
01983 300 335. Excellent food, ambience & attention to detail were superb. The lady who owns this establishment also does the waiting of tables, it was a joy to watch her go from table to table, she obviously loves her work very much.

The Hambrough – PO38 1 SQ
01983856333. If you want to impress the lady in your life or for that very special occasion then this is the place to go. We had the taster menu, absolutely fantastic, every course gave the mouth a new journey of interest & wonderment. The staff were friendly & had a good rapour with the clientele, well informed, professional but not stuffy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kessandspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We could not fault the hotel Foxhills at all the service and the cleanliness was exceptional the quality of the food cooked by Paula was very good we will certainly return. When we arrived we were greeted by James who came out to the car and took our bags from us, he then showed us into the lounge and offered us tea or coffee, he then carried our bags and showed us to our very pretty room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed in the twin room (St Catherine's) with a friend of mine, our sole purpose of the trip was so she could go for a horse ride on the beach and James even double checked for us before our stay that we had the best stables for it. I received a welcoming email as soon as I'd booked (via booking.com) personally from them and got a very quick response to my reply, they can also get you a discount on the ferry (sadly we'd booked the ferry before looking into hotels)
We were warmly welcomed when we got there, in fact, we were allowed to check in as soon as we made it onto the island which was really nice. It's very easy to find and very well marked from the road side so no worries about driving past it. The location is brilliant, we only used the car twice on our whole trip, mostly walking everywhere (two night stay, we covered everything from Sandown and the IOW Zoo, across to the Shanklin Chine by foot), just be aware there are some hills if you're planning on walking to the beach (but there is also a cliff lift too).
Breakfast was amazing! So much choice both for the cooked breakfast and the fruit and cereal (with an amazing Rhubarb and Ginger marmalade made by Paula's mum).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweeklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Charming host, extremely comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Even a small spa facility and the option of beauty therapies on request. Also very good location being 10 minutes' walk to Shanklin Old Town with a variety of good restaurants and pubs. Eating definitely not a problem !

Room Tip: Try to book a superior room if available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have no hesitation in highly recommending Foxhills, and, of the care and attention that James and Paula lavish on those who stay with them. I would in fact say, it's unique in my experience, having spent virtually all my working life living in Hotels all over the World. From the prestigious ( the original Raffles, Singapore; etc., and countless Chain Hotels ) as well as many where a ploughed field would have been better value, nowhere, would you find the attention and courtesy that you will receive with James and Paula! You will also find facilities that only large Hotels normally have (whirlpool spa, beauty treatments, free room service), and, much that they won't have - in fact, if you can't find in detail the best places to eat, to visit and present events - with uptodate reports - you only have to ask!
The standard of Breakfast, is way superior to most large Hotels, in variety and the professional and high standard of all breakfast dishes. I have never seen smaller Hotels come close. Comfort and cleanliness are the watch words. We personally, had no trouble with the adequate shower, as I note some mention due size and whether power shower or not, but, wherever you go there are limits placed by room size and the age and ability of the person. As we are both over 80, stairs and baths versus showers, must be considered. James and Paula will I know, do their best to resolve any problems. Excellent value in every way!

Room Tip: If older or disabled, let James/Paula know, as rooms to suit will be found.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews