We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't want more”
other travelers have booked this property
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Front of the house with allocated parking space. Lounge with double size sofa / bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Front of the house with allocated parking space.
Lounge with double size sofa / bed
Kitchen
Bedroom with king size bed
Bathroom with a bath and shower.
Shared garden
Entrance path
The lounge with double size sofa/pull out bed
Arrived !
Kitchen
King sized bed
Seasonal flowers
Big Mead duck pond
Big Mead
Thatched cottage a couple of minutes walk away.
St Blasius Church (nearby)
View towards the ledge
Pond at the nearby Big Mead
Some more Old Village thatched properties
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin B
Little Mill, Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't want more”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The apartment was extremely well equipped and very clean. A warm welcome from the owners, including a delicious home made cake that kept us going almost all week. You couldn't ask for a better location than this. Minutes walk from the famous Chine and the shops, yet in a very quiet street.
September is great time to visit the island as most of the tourist have gone, but amenities are still open. No where on the island is more than a forty minute drive away, and there is plenty to do and see.
Would highly recommend this apartment and the island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2017
We have had a fantastic summer season at The Courtyard and thank all of our guests for their great feedback on their time spent with us. We strive to maintain The Courtyard at a high standard and are pleased that our efforts are appreciated by everyone who stays with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun R
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just returned from a lovely week at the Courtyard. Clean and spacious with a beautiful lawn and apple tree to view from the window. Everything we needed was provided and despite the poor weather we made the best of our time in Shanklin. A friendly few minutes chat with Richard and Mirian before we left concluded the week perfectly!! A lovely couple who ensured our privacy whilst always being on hand if needed. When returning to the Isle of Wight we will be looking to stay here again!

Shaun & Sue :)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
So pleased with these comments as it is always good to know that the accommodation and hospitality adds to an enjoyable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suecannin...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable,clean, friendly with all mod cons, lots of extras you don't get in hotels or B&B's, walking distance to local shops few minutes drive to supermarket, we loved the more personal touches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Delighted that we able to provide those little extras that make a holiday special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenfing...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“WONERFUL APARTMENT RUN BY FRIENDLY CARING OWNERS”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This beautiful apartment is situated in a very quiet area and is approximately a 5 minute walk to the thatched village and a 15 minute walk to the beach. The small hotel we have stayed in for the last 12 years had to suddenly cease trading and could not accommodate our pre booked June holiday. We looked at other hotels but at such short notice we were unable to find one that was suitable . Then a couple on the beach suggested the Courtyard. We had a look and booked the only available week that was available in June and it was a wonderful week. The owners Richard and Miriam were so warm and welcoming and the spotlessly clean modern apartment was first class. The highest accolade I can give is that we were so impressed with the apartment, the lovely owners and the location is that we have already provisionally booked the apartment for three separate weeks for 2018.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Delighted with these comments on The Courtyard. Always nice to know that we add to the enjoyment of a holiday with the accommodation that we provide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodstev
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“First time on the island”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Richard and Miriam made us very welcome on arrival the little things like a homemade sponge which was lovely and tea coffee biscuits etc are very thoughtful and their local knowledge of the island is very helpful and they are more than happy to help you plan your day if you want.they will even book your ferry tickets for you if you require it.
the apartment is fantastic and has everything you could want and more,
Car parking is available all week on the property which is a couple of minutes walk to shanklin village and ten more to the seafront and beach.
We wouldn't hesitate to go again or to recommend to family and friends !
Brilliant

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
We are very pleased that The Courtyard was able to make your first holiday on the Island a happy experience and hope you return to us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric51
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just back from this clean and very comfortable apartment where there was everything you needed and more, for a weeks stay. We were made to feel very welcome by Richard and Miriam and the Victoria Sponge, waiting for us on arrival, was delicious. We enjoyed sitting in the garden after a day exploring the island and just relaxing in the pleasant and peaceful surroundings.
The apartment is very close to Shanklin Old Village, a short walk from the shops, pubs, restaurants and a supermarket and conveniently placed for getting around the whole island by bus.
I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at The Courtyard.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Delighted that The Courtyard added to the enjoyment of your holiday. Our aim is to provide the little things that make a difference when staying in our apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ktee24201...
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply, THE BEST!”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just come back from a wonderful weeks stay at The Courtyard. Well what can I say, it's all the other reviews and more, the little extras highly appreciated, the apartment a REAL home from home. Miriam and Richard, such a lovely couple, so welcoming, really enjoyed chatting to them, they even took time out to talk to our grandson, which made him feel extra special. Last but by no means least THE CAKE! FAB-U-LOUS.

We would highly recommend The Courtyard as a place to stay it is ideally situated to give easy access to the rest of the island, we found The Chequers at Rookley (as suggested by Miriam) a great place to eat (cheaper than home pricewise) and plenty of indoor and outdoor activities for children to entertain themselves.

Already looking forward to returning - hopefully will be again this year.

Thank you both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are delighted when comments such as these are made by our guests. It is our aim to make a holiday at the Courtyard as enjoyable as we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing