We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic break in a lovely apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Front of the house with allocated parking space. Lounge with double size sofa / bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Front of the house with allocated parking space.
Lounge with double size sofa / bed
Kitchen
Bedroom with king size bed
Bathroom with a bath and shower.
Shared garden
Entrance path
The lounge with double size sofa/pull out bed
Arrived !
Kitchen
King sized bed
Seasonal flowers
Big Mead duck pond
Big Mead
Thatched cottage a couple of minutes walk away.
St Blasius Church (nearby)
View towards the ledge
Pond at the nearby Big Mead
Some more Old Village thatched properties
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil A
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic break in a lovely apartment”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Myself and 4yr ols son had a wonderful Easter break at The Courtyard. The apartment is spotless, cosy and very comfortable with a lot of little extras sufh as milk tea and coffee provided. And of course Miriams fab cake.

Richard and Miriam are lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome

We will certainly return and highly recommend this brilliant and well located flat. You are in the Old Village within 2 minutes

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
We are glad you both enjoyed your stay and the cake! We hope to see you again to revisit our lovely Island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S
Sauze-Vaussais, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday Apartment !”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Courtyard is a lovely spacious ground floor apartment situated in a great position, with only a short walk to the town and beach .
On arrival Richard and Miriam were there to greet us and show us around , they were especially helpful with local information , we were presented with a lovely home baked cake . The weather was cold ( February ) but the apartment was lovely , warm , clean and cosy , very welcoming .
We will have no hesitation in recommending The Courtyard and plan to re - visit in the future.
Eric and Gill , Portsmouth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy warm and clean !
Liked least: Nothing , we were totally happy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2015
Delighted that the Courtyard was able to add to the enjoyment of your stay on the Isle of Wight.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2015
Very pleased that we were able to add to the enjoyment of your holiday on the Isle of Wight
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertfordshire
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and everything provided
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2015
Delighted with these comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kholex
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Sorry for the late posting - stayed here in July this year and the accommodation was great.

Perfect location, perfect accommodation and perfect cake! Would recommend to anyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2014
Wonderful comments which are very pleasing to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youhumit
Churchdown, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lives up to its 5 star reviews”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Accommodation: very clean, modern facilities including flat screen TV in lounge & bedroom, good wifi speed, lashings of hot water (and central heating), fully equipped kitchen; large and very comfortable bed! The only comment is that the upstairs flat is permanently let and we occasionally heard footsteps and door closing from above, but nothing to be concerned about. The owners are extremely helpful and mostly on-hand for any queries.

Location: the Courtyard, which is an annexe to the owners' large period house, is situated in a quiet urban area just above old Shanklin town, which is very close by. The terrain to the beach, however, is downhill and a steep uphill climb back again. A lift is available at one location and steps at several others.

Value for money: definitely! If we can't find fault, or have a moan about a place within the first day then it lives up to our exacting standards. Many thanks to Richard and Mirian for the extra little touches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good, central, location to Shanklin old town
Liked least: No disappointments, apart from the weather in October!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2014
Very pleased that the Courtyard provided those extras things that makes a holiday a little more special. We continually strive to maintain the accommodation to a standard that we would hope to find when we go on holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacapri9
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Have just spent 2 weeks at Courtyard Cottage had a wonderfull stay ,the living accomadation is ideal everything you could need is at hand,really enjoyed Mirams cakes they were delicious and Richards helpful information.There is a very nice garden to sit in if you get the weather it was changeable when we were there.Shanklin is a lovely town the Courtyard is very near the old town which has several restaurants and gardens.If you would like to see red squirrels then the best place we found was Alverstone Mead where there is a hide we saw several there.A nice restaurant was at Ryde called Michelangelo but they get very busy it is not cheap but the food is worth it, the one thing we did find on the island is that food was more expensive and not always good quality.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
Delighted that the little extras including the cakes made the stay at The Courtyard enjoyable. Our aim is to do all we can to ensure that it is a home from home holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing