We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Our third visit to Rylstone Manor and it was as wonderful as usual. It's a first class place to stay - delightful individually decorated rooms, luxurious towels and bathrobes, friendly staff and a small friendly dining room with Angela and Ellie serving food with a big smile. Carole and Mike ensure first class standards at all times. Thank you to all, we hope to be back soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bartleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
122
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Friendly, welcoming, select, a little gem of a hotel. Nine individually decorated & different rooms, Each room has it's own resident teddy bear who keeps an eye on things ! Red squirrels in the garden, jays in the trees, but so quiet & peaceful at night. Excellent food, clean, wonderful service. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms are very different, speak to owners when booking to find the right one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walmeractually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

It's been a long time since we visited the Isle of Wight; this must be the best hotel on the island. Carole and Mike have maintained Rylestone as a period property, it is sited in the middle of a formal garden with exotic trees all round. despite it's period feel it has all the modern attributes one would expect; it amazes me that in order to be an hotel with a five star rating there has to be concierge or a pool, this is a five star hotel simply on a smaller basis, nine lovely bedrooms with red squirrels in the garden and food to die for. The drawing room with it's unusual windows is the place to gather after dinner when the proprietors will join guests and the atmosphere is like a proper dinner party in a luxurious home. Angie and Ellie the two ladies who help are lovely.
Don't go anywhere else, and once you have been you won't want to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobDunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here this time for a whole week and we took mother in law and step fathering law , had rooms willow and oak ,had a great week, Mike and Carole always make you feel so welcome ! It's like staying at a friends place not a hotel ! Guys don't change a thing !!!! Other staff also go the extra mile to make things special for their guests again well done guys ! Message for Angie Sarah's teddies miss the fun and games in the mornings !!!! Lol
As I said at the beginning Mike and Carole well done you have a real gem there don't change a thing !! See you guys again next year !!!

Gary Sarah Carol and Robert

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gazasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a superb hotel in a great setting in parkland near Shanklin Chine and close to the sea. Quiet location, but town centre is only a short walk away. Owners and staff are very welcoming and friendly and the service and food excellent. Beautiful décor and very clean. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlington, Middlesex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful few days staying at Rylstone. From the moment we entered the front door we were made to feel special. The rooms are spotless and sheer luxury. The breakfast was everything you could ask for. We had already made arrangements to eat out in the evenings but understand from others we may have missed out on a few tasteful treats.
We would like to thank Carole,Mike and Angie for making our few days spent with them very special.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ash and for us this was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSpoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had several nights at Rylstone Manor. The hotel is lovely and yes it is a little disconcerting that the door is closed when you arrive, but ring the bell and you will be given a warm welcome.

Our room was lovely, clean and had everything we needed, the location was lovely in the grounds of a park and very quiet. Breakfast was very good, it set us up for the day. We did not have dinner in the hotel as we felt three courses was a bit much for us and it was quite expensive if we were not going to eat everything, but the food did smell wonderful.

My only small niggle would be that the shower was not thermostatic and went from hot too cold of its own accord, everything else was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing