We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Peaceful, comfortable, friendly. Lovely staff, good food, perfectly located for Island walks. If you are going to stay on the IoW, then stay here. You won't be disappointed. Do watch out for the bears though as their behaviour can be unpredictable!

Room Tip: Only nine rooms; each name of a tree. We had "Oak" which was lovely but had a small bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Montur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Dear Carole and Mike, thank-you for a lovely stay in your beautiful manor.
The experience is truly rewarding: set in beautiful gardens away from the roads of shanklin this little gem is ideal for total relaxation or a truly romantic stay!
It is also an ideal location for hikes.
The private garden is a"home to the rare british red squirrel. The atmosphere is great and all the rooms are different, I stayed in 'Willow' and found it perfect in every way.
Breakfast is typically english and served by the most welcoming and caring lady ever ( ''our Polly'' said Carole).
Handing out precious advice on walking trails, weather and dining out on the isle not enough praise can be said about her.
Mike and Carole are very welcoming hosts, I really hope to come back soon to Rylstone Manor. Nicoletta

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank french_letter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A lovely hotel set within Rylstone Gardens has it's own private garden too and car parking. The Red Squirrels came to great our arrival. Mike and Carole lovely hosts, and the ladies who look after the rooms and dining room service are excellent, and provide lots of information about the Island.

I'd suggest calling Carole to discuss accommodation as all the rooms are different.... We booked late to our choice was limited.... We stayed in Beech Room, very nice with dual aspect windows. The mattress is very firm.... One previous feedback complained about cold water.... There was plenty of hot water, but the shower has low pressure so can run cool if someone is running a bath elsewhere.... But that sort of thing happens in older properties.
Beech Room is above the Guest Lounge, and during the latter part of our stay we were disturbed by some visitors with louder voices than the norm.... One managed to drown out the TV! TVs are set with volume limiters so that they don't disturb neighbouring rooms, also a group of ladies who retired quite late one night, then started knocking on one another's doors...... sigh.... Not the hotel's fault that some people don't think about others.

Food was very nice, really good cooked breakfast and we had evening meal on two nights which were very good. Beautiful furnishings and everyone takes a real pride in working there.

Recommended and hope to return in the future.

Angie's craftwork is an inspiration... Move over Kirstie Allsopp!

Room Tip: I'd suggest calling Carole to discuss accommodation as all the rooms are different.... We booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avianbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have stayed many times here and have always loved it
The hotel and rooms are fantastic and welcoming as are the staff.
Great location and also home to the AWARD WINNING teddy bears.
Would thoroughly recommend you all go and see for yourselves

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Congratulations to Mike and Carol and their staff for not only maintaining high standards but also for subtle improvements that were thought not possible. The accommodation and hospitality are first class. If you are looking for 'chips and children' then this is not the hotel for you, if you require fine cuisine, attention to detail, quality in all aspects, peace and quiet, coupled with elegance then make haste and book in now. Do not expect large rooms, this is a period manor house and the rooms are furnished to reflect the beauty of this establishment. Johansen have assessed this hotel quite correctly, it is outstanding, just cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My partner and I have just had the most wonderful 4 night stay at Rylstone Manor. Mike and Carole are the perfect hosts and there is nothing we can fault about this hotel, it is splendid, so much so, we think it deserves a much higher grade than their 3 star rating.

The hotel rooms are lovely, immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities in the room were good too - we liked the little touch of different biscuits provided every day. Have to say the cleaning maid was very impressive – our room was clean, spotless and tidy by the time we had got back to our room from breakfast. Breakfast is served at a very reasonable time; you can arrive downstairs between 8.30am - 10am. We would like to say a special thank you to Angela, the breakfast waitress. Angela gave us some fantastic suggestions for our day trips out and even drew us a map to follow for a walk to the Needles from Freshwater Bay. Nothing was too much trouble and we feel she really made our trip more special. Further, the breakfast selection is fantastic. Mike really is a great chef, my smoked salmon with scrambled egg was delicious.

Such a lovely quiet location next to Shanklin Chine and the cliff top, set in beautiful public gardens, and only a short 3 minute walk to the pretty old town with plenty of restaurants and tea rooms to choose from. The beach is accessible within a few minutes down the Cliffside steps from the gardens.

I feel I should comment in response to a former review entitled “Teddy Bears”; this review seems to be quite negative about the age range of the hotel guests. This hotel, in our opinion, is fit for any age of adult. We, ourselves, are a fairly young couple (29 and 34) and we wanted peace and quiet for a relaxing break from our usual hectic working life. We welcomed the fact there would be no under-16s staying at the hotel. However, just because we are fairly young did not mean we would not mix easily with other hotel guests - in fact, we had some really nice conversations with guests (of all ages I might add) over breakfast and in passing throughout the day, so age simply does not – and should not - come in to it! As for the ‘teddy bears’ dotted around the hotel; they are quite unobtrusive to the decor. And as for specific dietary requirements (I too have a family member who is gluten intolerant - a Celiac, who may visit Rylstone Manor with us next time); I am almost certain that if Mike and Carol were given suitable notice before arrival they would bend over backwards to ensure guests are suitably catered for at meal times, especially as breakfast is freshly prepared to how you want it anyway.

I would say that – in our opinion - this is probably the best hotel on the island, we loved every minute of our stay and as such, we are already planning our return trip next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you have a stressful job and want a relaxing location for a holiday you can't beat the Rylstone Manor. Set in a quiet park, My wife and I really enjoyed our week here. Mike and Carole are the perfect hosts and made us feel welcome in everyway. We were in the Beech room that had a four poster bed that had a nice firm matress and no lumps and bumps.
I thought the teddies were a nice touch and lent a bit of originality to the rooms. We came back from a day out to find ours playing cards.
The decor was just how we prefer it but then I'm not perticular about any unless it's ultra modern or grubby. Angie and Jasmine the maids were very polite and made all the guests very welcome and readily struck up conversation. Angie provided us with a lot of knowledge of the Islands attractions at breakfast times which came in useful. Breakfast was cereals and a nice healthy fry up.
We only ate in on one evening as when were on holiday we like to try different resteraunts and pubs, and Shanklin has no shortage of them within walking distance of the hotel. Mike cooked the meal perfect. I had the roast sirloin of beef in a red wine jus which was really tender and my mouth is watering just writing this. My wife had Dover Sole which she really enjoyed
The park has a Bandstand outside the hotel and on Tuesday to Thursdays between 8.00pm and 9.00pm you can enjoy a free concert by local bands although they like you to make a donation and it's a pound for the deckchairs but well worth it for a bit of Glen Miller.
We are thinking of returning here in the future as I think the south of the island does benefit from slightly better weather and will be looking for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1938TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
96 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#14 of 51 in Shanklin
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $168 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing