We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you have a stressful job and want a relaxing location for a holiday you can't beat the Rylstone Manor. Set in a quiet park, My wife and I really enjoyed our week here. Mike and Carole are the perfect hosts and made us feel welcome in everyway. We were in the Beech room that had a four poster bed that had a nice firm matress and no lumps and bumps.
I thought the teddies were a nice touch and lent a bit of originality to the rooms. We came back from a day out to find ours playing cards.
The decor was just how we prefer it but then I'm not perticular about any unless it's ultra modern or grubby. Angie and Jasmine the maids were very polite and made all the guests very welcome and readily struck up conversation. Angie provided us with a lot of knowledge of the Islands attractions at breakfast times which came in useful. Breakfast was cereals and a nice healthy fry up.
We only ate in on one evening as when were on holiday we like to try different resteraunts and pubs, and Shanklin has no shortage of them within walking distance of the hotel. Mike cooked the meal perfect. I had the roast sirloin of beef in a red wine jus which was really tender and my mouth is watering just writing this. My wife had Dover Sole which she really enjoyed
The park has a Bandstand outside the hotel and on Tuesday to Thursdays between 8.00pm and 9.00pm you can enjoy a free concert by local bands although they like you to make a donation and it's a pound for the deckchairs but well worth it for a bit of Glen Miller.
We are thinking of returning here in the future as I think the south of the island does benefit from slightly better weather and will be looking for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1938TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
120
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, very nice gardens which overlook the sea and just 5 mins walk from Shanklin Old town. We had a friendly welcome from the husband and wife owners. This is a small family run hotel with about 10 rooms so it has quite an intimate family feel. The decor is very traditional and also reflects a very personal style which is most likely to appeal to the older visitor. Our room had been recently refurbished and we liked it, including the antique silver personal brush and mirror set. Breakfast was good, although we did not eat there in the evening. The nearby Pendleton's restaurant was a good find and The Crab Inn also provided decent pub food. Overall a well run hotel, and a great option for the older visitor without children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_e_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a delightful small hotel set in an equally delightful public garden. There are plenty of positive comments to make but also a couple of negatives.

The furnishings, as other reviewers have stated are immaculate and cannot be faulted, however it is a bit too twee for our taste. I personally find the inclusion of teddy bears in every room; bedrooms and public rooms, way over the top. A table in the corner of the dining room had two bears overlooking the proceedings (situated between the two diners) would have annoyed the life out of me! The owner/managers are charming and make everyone feel very welcome but I found the waitress to be over-familiar and definitely too touchy-feely! I have to eat gluten-free and was not amused when this was discussed in front of the other guests quite loudly. At breakfast on the second morning some gluten-free bread had been purchased and once more this was announced, quite loudly in the dining room in front of everyone that I had gluten bread! Gluten-free dining was not a problem because the owner is also a trained cordon-bleu chef, but it was a very limited menu made all the more limited because of the gluten-free requirement. However, the food we had we enjoyed. The breakfasts are well cooked with a good choice.

Another point to remember is that all guests are required to assemble in the bar and choose from the menu at 7.00 pm. Dinner is served at 7.30. This is explained because there is the one person (owner/chef) in the kitchen and one waitress. This smacks of holiday camp attitudes and is not acceptable for a hotel.

Although not the fault of the hotel the guests in general are mostly retired. We prefer to stay where there is a mix of ages.

The rooms are more than adequate in comfort and appointment although the tea and coffee making facilities provided is limited to two milk containers each which is not enough considering there is no bar or room service available. In fact the reception is unmanned during the day so one has to very much fend for oneself off the premises! For this reason I feel that the description of "hotel" is a misnomer. I would suggest that more tea/coffee making supplies should be provided in the rooms or at the very least in the lounge area. Also a small mini-bar in the room would be a great help.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay but would only recommend the hotel to teddy bear loving friends of a certain age.

I have tried to be fair here and would have given a 5 star for presentation at the very least but I also feel that the bath is a little cramped too so that added to the other criticisms I am able only to award four stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

A delightful small hotel, beautifully located in Rylestone gardens in Shanklin, adjacent to the Shankline Chine - a must see ravine. The staff are all very pleasant and welcoming, and made us feel very comfortable. The room was stunning (Ash) at the front of the hotel looking out onto the gardens and we saw red squirrels there. Shanklin is a nice seaside town with a good beach and many thatched properties and nice individual shops. I would recommend this hotel; the food was excellent and beautifully served and there is also a beautiful lounge which you are encouraged to use. Watch out for the cute teddy bears which pop up all over the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I spent three days at Rylstone Manor in February. The hotel is a Victorian House situated in a public garden on Shanklin Chine. Although the only guests we were warmly welcomed by Carole and Mike our hosts. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the luxury of a four poster bed! The cuisine must be the best on the island; Mike having attended cookery courses with the likes of Rick Stein and Raymond Blanc. We travelled by Public Transport from Central London which was surprisingly easy; the train from Waterloo linking with the ferry and the train to Shanklin met us on arrival in Ryde. We took a taxi from Shanklin station to the hotel and Mike kindly drove us to the station when we left. As we were the only guests, dinner was discussed after breakfast. We were given a choice of three starters, mains and deserts which were prepared freshly for us each evening.
On arrival home, my husband discovered that he had left a sweater behind. We Emailed our hosts who phoned to say that they had found it and would post it to us. It arrived the following day.
We would highly recommend Rylstone Manor and hope to return there soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated in a different style so best to discuss with Mike and Carole b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genius3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were recommended this hotel for our first time to the Isle of Wight. It is In a peaceful location with Shanklin beach down the steep steps at the far end of the grounds. The rooms are very well furnished, ours all Laura Ashley, the beds were not that comfortable but fine for a couple of nights. Our bathroom was very small but adequate. We had breakfast which was first class, the waitress really was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. I unfortunately spilt some coffee on the small sofa in our room and was mortified as you can imagine. I immediately pulled the cover off and called the owner who was far from reassuring shall we say. For this reason we would not return here and the fact we felt it was overpriced. We found a couple of lovely beaches on the Isle of Wight and Osborne House is a must but overall the people were not very friendly, we had poor meals out and it was a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeBKHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy the mattress in that room (Ash we think) but it is newish and a 2000 pocket sprung quality make, but beds are a personal choice and it is difficult to find one thats suits all. We are also sorry you did not feel very reassured after the coffee incident but our reaction was probably down to that sofa only being a few weeks old. It can be disheartening when something happens like that and we are no different to anyone else when it comes to showing our feelings initially but we do undewrstand accidents do happen and appreciate you were as mortified as we were. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our friendly service, thank you for great comments. Sorry the other eating establishments were not friendly or up to the mark. We do an evening meal ourselves, which unfortunately you didn't try, but we are happy to try and recommend other places to eat but it does depend on your tastes. The island has a lot to offer from Michelin starred to pub grub and everything inbetween. I would give the island another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed at Rylestone Manor last spring for a weekend. Very nice place. Peaceful location right next to Shanklin Chine. Friendly owners/staff. Excellent breakfast...the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were Michelin star quality! Would definitely consider staying there again if going to Shanklin. The tree in the garden at the back even has real life red squirells in it so take your camera.

Three "observations" which are not a critisism in any way but worth mentioning...

1) The grounds are a public park so don't leave valuables in your car and expect people to be walking around etc. We did not see any local kids hanging around the bandstand in the evenings although I heard that this does sometimes occur.

2) The hotel is quite small. It is more what I would call a guest house than a hotel. The rooms have names not numbers if I remember correctly, and there are only about 10 rooms. This adds to the peace and exclusivity but don't expect a busy hotel with porters and manned reception. We hardly saw anyone the whole weekend except for breakfast time.

3) There is access to the beach from the park but there are a lot of steps.

Over all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing