We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sedate and secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Sedate and secluded”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

2 night stay with 3 friends. The place was exactly as it appeared on it's website - very nice, but obviously aimed at the more mature traveller. The setting is beautiful and tranquil, and both the building and gardens are very well kept. The decor was way too chintzy for our tastes (plastic fruit in the lounge?), but A) I could see that when I booked, B) The IoW doesn't appear to do modern chic which is our preference, (unless you shell out for Robert Thompon's gaff) and C) it is at least in keeping with it's Victorian origins.

We didn't have much contact with the proprietors, but they seemed pleasant, if rather keen on rules. Is there really any need to mention that it is "no smoking" - even in the gardens, no less than 3 times within as many pages in the guest's info? They even threaten a £200 fine for offenders! We get the message, thankyou, and I walked quite a distance away for a fix.

Full English breakfast was good, but the kippers I had on the second morning were out of a packet and not of the fresh variety. Friend has smoked salmon/scrambled eggs which was superb and beautifully presenetd. The lady who served was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are on the small side, and very cluttered. I had a tiny bath with a shower attachment, which was very reluctant to locate in it's wall holder (crashed into the bath easily, which is no doubt why it was chipped) and it's output was very poor. They should do away with the uselessly small bath and install a decent shower cubicle.

We debated whether to book dinner (there isn't a plethora of good quality options in the near area) but decided the atmosphere would be too oppressive. The other guests were pretty elderly, and whilst we are 45-66 in age range, we tend to laugh a lot. I cannot, therefore, comment on the quality of the food.

I searched long and hard to find somewhere to stay on the Island (the south of which is looking rather sad these days) and I'm sure Rylstone Manor is one of the best choices. I would probably be a little more enthusiastic had we not spent the following 2 nights at Yalbury Cottage near Dorchester, which is a masterclass in how to run this type of establishment and considerably cheaper (especially on a single occupancy basis).

Room Tip: Ask for one with a proper shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
125
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My family and I have just returned from a long weekend at the Rylstone Manor - the house is beautiful - the room luxurious. Breakfast was gourmet - you couldn't want for more. I can't comment on the evening meal as we prefer to eat out at different locations and know of a few delights in the Isle of Wight (The Taverners and The Essex - both in Godshill). The Rylstone's location is a delight, 5 mins from Shanklin town centre (the old quaint part). If I had to have a little niggle (which prevented me from giving the hotel the fifth star) it would be that housekeeping could be a little lapse - over the 4-days that we were there - they forgot a bath towel, teaspoon, chocolate and biscuits - however, minor these items - it was a shame that the room was not serviced consistantly. Apart from that little gripe - The Rylstone is a beautiful retreat for people that are looking to relax and chill out. Carol and Mike were both very friendly and very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Myself and my husband have just spent a wonderful 4 night stay at this excellent hotel.Carole and Mike the owners made us very welcome and nothing was too much for them.Mike's cooking was equal to any celebrity chefs, we could find no fault.The hotel is spotless, the rooms are perfect and the location into town is just a few minutes walk away.This hotel is underrated as a 3 star, on our book it should come under the catergory of 5 stat deluxe! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandracas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a quite cute little hotel in a perfect location in order to access the beach and Shanklin town. The beach (ca. 100 metres below the house) is accessible directly from the premises by steps (they are perfectly manageable for the normal person/child but certainly more difficult to manage for elderly or handicapped people or very small children). One can easily walk to the town center within approx. 5 minutes, however, bring a torch (or use the light of your mobile phone) if using the shortcut footpath during the night since a small section of about 200 metres is actually pitch-dark. The rooms are relatively small but perfectly clean and very cutely decorated in a style that appears (at least to the German eye) typically "English" (while this would certainly not be the style I should like to live in permanently, it nevertheless fitted quite nicely here given the overall design of Rylstone Manor. Service and cleanliness are impeccable. We did not try the dinner, but breakfast was very good and you also have the added value of a small but nice inhouse bar (and a quite nice sitting room). We can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drea12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2011

A delightful hotel in the fantastic setting of Rylstone Gardens - with its red squirrels! You don't feel that this is a hotel - it's more of a country house where you're the guests of the welcoming owners - Carole and Mike. Shanklin Old Village - a rare delight - the Chine, and the Beach are all easily accessible. This is a rare gem, and once you've found it you'll return again and again!

Room Tip: Go for the DBB package - Mike's culinary arts are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The best of british 19. century housing tradition combined with 21. century amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

If you want an English experience try staying at this small private Hotel. A relative of ours took us down to this hotel and booked us in for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. As Kiwis who travel lots, we do not normally restrict ourselves to this kind of stay because we like to try eating out in various places, however this has been a very good experience for us. Michael the owner/chef produced the most delicious food everynight we were there and the staff are so nice and helpful. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing stay with great food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbalwaystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing