We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The Hotel is very well situated for local amenities and in a quiet location.
The room was clean, tidy and well serviced with the usual tea and coffee available in your room.

The staff were first class and very helpful - a compliment to the hotel owners who also provided a personal service.

All in all a very pleasant 2 star hotel.

Thanks to everyone concerned for very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorsam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

Before I stayed at this hotel, I read the reviews on trip advisor and I must admit, I nearly cancelled. There were quite a few people who seemed unhappy with the hotel and it's staff. I was so pleased that I didnt cancel. I thought this place was a wonderful little hotel. It seems to me that people have paid for a cheaper 2* accommodation, but actually want and expect a 5* service. Some of the comments were ridiculous and i feel the need to stand up for the Marlborough Hotel. I have based my findings on the 2* hotel that it is - The rooms were small, but clean. The shower was small, but it was clean and it worked. The breakfast was excellent with so much choice from full English breakfast to cerials and pastries. Yes the staff were foreign, but they spoke excellent English and were all so very nice and incredibly helpful. I would most certainly stay here again. My tip for anyone staying at this hotel, is to go and remember this is just a 2* hotel and you won't be dissapointed. Thank you to everyone at The Marlborough hotel. Mr and Mrs de Courcy

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decourcy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just spent 2 very relaxing nights at the Marlborough. Really pleased with the triple room we had. We thought it was quite a good size and our party all got good sleep. Staff were all friendly, helpful and polite. Breakfast was pretty good as well with a good choice. It was quiet in the hotel in the evening which is something we like after a busy day out. For a 2 star hotel we couldnt fault it. Will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpikeWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

we stayed here on a Travelstyle weekend break recently and found it to be adequate for the
price paid.
Food and service was good, location excellent rooms bit dated but clean and comfortable for a short break. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

just came back from this hotel it is by far the worst place i have ever stayed in the room was so small you had to walk with your back to the tiny ensuite to get round the bed the room looked like it was refurbished sometime in the seventies the food was a complete and utter joke a good vet would have got the one raw rasher of bacon up and running in 30 minutesd the evenig meals were also very poor everything under cooked the staff were surly the only positve were the other guests i would not reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dave_minion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisboaShanklin, Guest Relations Manager at Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

ref. above review , we are sorry you didn't enjoy your holiday with us , however we don't understand why have you stayed the whole week , sleep , eat , use the facilities if the hotel was not upto to your standard , we are a 2 * hotel offering above expectation good standards , comfort and value for money , we are not Macdonalds nor a fast food restaurant , all our food is freshly prepared . We allways value constructive criticism and appreciate clients taking the time to post reviews but on this occasion the comments are meaningless .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Marlborough hotel was a great hotel to stay in for a couple of nights. The rooms weren't the largest but they were clean with tea, coffee & few other items in the rooms. The staff were friendly & helpful. There was a good variety for the breakfast. The hotel is in a good location, just a few minutes from the esplanade via the lift or from the High Street which was just up the road.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

as regular visitors to the island we use this site to seek out rated hotels and this one was one of the best yet! the staff were friendly and helpful and endeavoured to make our stay one of the best we have ever experienced on the isle of wight........we re-booked upon checkout!!! 5* highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#14 of 51 in Shanklin
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#13 of 51 in Shanklin
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Address: 16 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#20 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $78 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Hotel Shanklin is a cosy 3* upgraded hotel located within walking distance from the beach, Shanklin Old Village the Chine Gardens ,local amenities, bus & train station offering a friendly service, excellent standards , comfy bedrooms and good value for money. Bedrooms are stylish decorated with ensuite shower , hair dryer , flat screen TV with digital channels, complimentary tea coffee tray and alarm clock radio .The fully licensed Bar & TV Lounge serves a variety of snacks ,light meals ,local beers and real ales wines and the usual latte & cappuccino .There is a large car park onsite and a pleasant garden where you can relax and soak up the sun. Free Wi-Fi is available ,there is a pool table and a library if you decide to stay in. Non smoking hotel . We speak your language ,our friendly Staff are fluent in Portuguese German Spanish French Polish & Russian . We can offer low cost car Ferry crossing , car and bicycle hire available , for events & festivals , daytrips and walks , festivals tickets , weather , activities and things to do ,pls visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing