We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly.”
Review of Pencil Cottage

Pencil Cottage
Ranked #7 of 77 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Described as a tea room, but serves very good lunches
Benfleet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and friendly.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited today, had a very nice prawn sandwich with salad and a ploughmans. Good quantity and nicely presented. Happy friendly staff. Don't be deceived by the outside appearance of the outside toilets; you're in for a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlepBenfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    54
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, high standards, service could do better”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a family lunch here while visiting the Chine and managed to sit out in the pleasant garden which meant we had to queue at the window to order. The food was good but many of our party had to choose 2 or 3 times due to having run out and this was only about 12:30pm. This meant everything took a while to order and make and was just a bit chaotic, Everything was fresh and tasty and there were no complaints about the food. The children loved the milkshakes and we were told by the owner that they had recently changed supplier for some things such as pizza but they just felt it was not up to their standard so removed it from the menu rather than disappoint customers. This is the best reason to be out of stock in my opinion. Would not put me off going back but I would have pre- selected alternatives or all go up to order!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hearachlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shopping Experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Set in lovely old cottage, reasonable stock available however service good have been better. Felt that member of staff was not knowledgable regarding goods in terms of their suitability.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stopped here for cream tea. It was very nice. Good clean conditions, outside seating when weather ok.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shelly67birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch after visiting shankling chine. The food was delicious, great menu to suit all tastes and very reasonable prices unlike the one next door. Also did dinosaur sandwiches for kids. Tea room attached to a lovely little shop full of gifts and homeware

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlytroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pencil Cottage also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Pencil Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing