We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our family have just returned from a 2night stay at Swiss cottage, we would like to say thank you for a very enjoyable stay, the food was excellent,The rooms were very clean and well supplied with little extras, Keith and Christine were very friendly and helpful, it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Many thanks

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

To Lindsey, Clive and the family
Thanks for a lovely short break with us and hopefully time permitting you will come back a little longer next time.
Great company and friendship and Thank you for your spotless rooms!
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 319 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were very impressed with our room with more facilities than are offered in most Hotels. The ambience is friendly & welcoming. Food excellent. Service excellent. Room excellent. We were even given a surprise bottle of wine for my husband's birthday. We would definitely want to come again & would recommend the Swiss Cottage to everyone. Thank you again K&C for making this a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny19422013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hi Jenny & Bernard
Thanks again for you lovely review and for having a great week with us capped with Bernards surprise Birthday celebration.
We are pleased you feel that we offer much 'Better facilities than most Hotels' as we aim to provide a first rate service for our Guests.
Whilst you were staying we had a visit from the Hotel Inspector who also was pleased with our Accommodation and granted us our 4 Star with the extra Silver Award again and hopefully the next time you come back you will see some more great albeit minor changes to enhance our Breakfast menu and upgrading of some items in the bathrooms and bedrooms to give a top rate service for a very good value for money establishment.
See you again soon
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable break at The Swiss Cottage in Shanklin. We were only looking for a few days away and spent 4 days under the care of Keith and Christine. We opted for half board and whilst the menu could not be called comprehensive there was enough choice and variety to ensure that we stayed happy.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and have the best selection of Toiletries we have ever seen with the exception of a 5 Star Deluxe Hotel that we stayed at in Hong Kong. The inclusion of a mini fridge in the room was also very much appreciated as it allowed for us to keep some milk and some soft drinks nice & cool.

Many thanks for a great time, and if we return to the Isle of Wight we will be calling The Swiss Cottage first to see what availability they have.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

To Eddie & Nikki
A thoroughly good time was had by all on your short break with us in our High Season in September.
It is always nice to get away and stay somewhere nice and the weather wasn't that bad for you.
We are very pleased that you have thought of us and compared us so highly but we just decorate and fit the rooms with all the little extras as we would like them to be if we were staying at another establishment.
However we do have one small niggle about the comment about our menu not being comprehensive enough?
The difference with our establishment is that we spread our menu out over a whole week for all our guests to get a variety and not a repetitive menu, where as a restaurant for example has just the same menu every day that you choose from.
For everyone's information we have;
For starters we have 7 different soups & 7 other starters.
For main courses we have 5 Meat dishes, 3 Fish & 2 Chicken aswell as 5 Vegetarian options and a Full Sunday Roast.
For Desserts we have 7 different scrummy cakes, 7 Fruit and/or ice Creams dishes, followed by Cheese & Biscuits and 10 different Teas or 4 Coffee choices and even Hot Chocolate or Horlicks!
Plus the fact if we put every item on the menu for that day, we could be cooking 10, 15, 20 different dishes that I'm sure you will appreciate is impossible for any small establishment like ours which is run by a husband and wife team and my wife prepares and cooks in our house and not a much larger concern or Hotel that employs numerous waiting staff, kitchen help and also several chefs .
Plus the fact you get all this for just £10-14, which we are sure you'll agree is value for money.
Anyway all said and done we are grateful the honest review and I am sure no harm has come from it.
Please do come back and stay for a week so you can sample the full range of our menu.
Kind Regards as always
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Swiss Cottage is a little gem, the food is excellent and the rooms are well equipped and spotlessly clean. The owners Keith & Christine Beckett make you feel welcome and valued going the extra mile to make sure you have a happy and comfortable stay. Their attention to detail is amazing which enhances the holiday experience. If you are looking for a suitable place to stay on the Isle of Wight, then look no further we fully recommend Swiss Cottage to you.
Thank you both for a lovely stay Rob & Jill

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hi Rob & Jill
Another satisfied customer.
What a wonderful review and thank you for those lovely comments.
Hope you come back and see us in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We can't thank Keith & Christine enough for an enjoyable and relaxing stay- nothing was too much trouble.The room was very clean and comfortable and the food was excellent and plentiful.We would love to come back next time we visit the Isle of Wight

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Tina & Graham
Just so you know that you are our 150th Reviewer in the last 3 years and hopefully with an average score at 99.1% which is the highest in Shanklin we hope to make it back to the no 1 spot and your review maybe the difference.
We are glad you had such a great time on the Island and want to come back for more, as there are plenty more places still to see that you never got round to this time and you will be welcome back next time you visit.
Take care and keep up the Gardening work and I hope my efforts of landscaping our front borders came up to your high standards.
All the Best
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I have been holidaying on the island for many years and recently stayed at the Swiss Cottage Hotel in Shanklin for the first time. It was brilliant and we couldn't fault it. Keith and Christine's hospitality was second to none and we were made to feel really welcome as soon as we arrived. The hotel was immaculate, our room was spotlessly clean (cleaned every day) and very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Keith, Christine and Lizzie, the waitress, always made sure we and their other guests were happy and valued. The hotel is in a great location for the beach, shops, old village, cliff walk to Sandown, and the bus and rail network. Thanks Keith and Christine (great hosts!). Pauline & Mike

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Pauline & Mike
Thanks for getting in touch and putting such a great review about your stay on the Island.
As you are now aware we do take great pride in our work and looking after every guest and value everyone who comes and stays with us.
We do hope you book again next year as it would be great to see you again as we did have a great time together and hopefully win some more soft toys down the arcades!
All the Very Best
Keith & Christine & Lizzi
XXX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a great time at Shanklin and enjoyed our stay at Swiss Cottage where everyone was kind helpful and welcoming. The food was good as was the company also the weather enhanced our overall stay. There was everything we needed to hand and the rooms were well furnished etc.Overall we had a good time and would definitely come back to the IOW in the near future.,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

To Pauline & Peter
Thanks for getting round to writing a great review on us, However we are little confused on your scoring in the categories?
We will have to look/check out the scores you gave us, as we were very surprised that for Value for Money you only gave us 4 out of 5, when with the weekly & senior discount you only paid £29 a night each for B & B basis.
Do you think this is too expensive? Most think it is far too low for the all round Service we provide?
Sleep Quality only 3 out of 5? Was there something wrong with the Large Family Double Suite you had or was it just your own personal bed you prefer than ours? As this is a bit misleading?
Service again 4 out 5 is a Good score but what more could we have done for you that we dont do already to score a 5 out of 5?
None of these items were mentioned during the stay but I wont be to critical as overall we still scored 98% which is still an excellent score and keeps us in the Top 3 in Shanklin.
We just wish that any Guests speak to us during there stay, so if there is any minor problem that you encounter, we are given the time and courtesy to fix it for you if in fact there is something wrong?
Anyway all said and done we do hope you come back to give us the opportunity to impress you further!
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine and Lizzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Address: 10 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#11 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $33 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 70% full for our 2017 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won three Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 and 2016/17 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 6 years running since 2012 to 2017. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014, 2016 & again in 2017 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants and no animals as we have pets of our own), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends). We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing