We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Shanklin
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Parkway Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseglen Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
288
23
3
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
288
23
3
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristine keithb bisle of wightlittle extrassewing kiteverything you could possibly needenjoyable weekclose to shopsother guestslovely guesthouseexcellent hostsmany thanksrelaxing holidaychoice of cerealssea frontbed and breakfastrooms were very clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 322 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the minute my two friends & I arrived at Swiss Cottage, we felt at home (but without the usual chores awaiting!). The rooms are comfortable with an array of hot drinks and biscuits available; plus in the bathroom, a choice of toiletries. The whole establishment is spotlessly clean. We had no vehicle, so the position was great for walking to the beach, buses and even the train station. There is, however, ample space for off-road parking. We took half board and thoroughly enjoyed the wide range of food offered for breakfast and were very happy with the evening meals. Christine & Keith are cheerful, very pleasant hosts. We congratulated ourselves on our choice of hotel and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

To my three Lovely Ladies
Happy Holiday indeed! Well Done again on making the correct choice and coming to stay with us!
As with all our guests, everyone is well looked after whether of B & B or Half Board Basis, Young or Old and we are pleased that we exceeded your expectations.
Look forward to seeing you again when you come back and see us
Kind Regards
Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

For our first ever visit to the IoW, we could not have chosen a better guest house. Comfortable and very clean rooms, hearty breakfasts and good evening meals.Nothing was too much trouble for Christine and Keith. They even organised the ferry booking for us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possetpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

To my Somerset Lovelies
We are pleased you enjoyed your first stay on the Island. Although it was brief visit next time you can stay longer and explore the rest of the Island?
Glad you also enjoyed our hearty Evening meals with us as its just what you needed after a long days sightseeing!
See you again soon
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely Hotel, Lovely rooms, Ample off road parking, Keith and Christine (the proprieters) are both lovely friendly down to earth people who always take time to make you feel welcome during your stay. Breakfast is first class with a good choice on the menu and good value for money. Rooms are very up to date in decor and furnishings and are cleaned daily. There is a communal lounge which is very cosy and complete with very competetively priced bar and large TV. Altogether i would rate this establishment as A+.

Room Tip: No need to i have not seen a bad room in the establishment, they are all very good!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thanks to all the Jersey Boys for another great weekend.
Scooterists are the life blood of the August Bank Holiday and they are all very well behaved and they take such pride in their bikes they are to be commended.
Looking forward to another great weekend next year
All The Very Best
Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

From our arrival to the moment we left, Christine & Keith couldn't be more helpful or attentive. The rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were first class and delicious. Overall a very enjoyable weekend, we wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kentlady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hi to The Kent Lady
Thanks for your great company, all four of you.
If you thought our Breakfasts were first class next time you come and see us (but not in August) you will have to try our evening meals as they are to die for!
Only problem is you always gain some weight with our meals and have to go for more long walks to walk them off!
Take care of yourselves and continue to spread the word to your other friends
All the Very Best
Keith & Christine
xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently had a very enjoyable week at the Swiss Cottage, and having stayed at a number of establishments on the island (going back about 25 years!) I can honestly say this is by far the best.

We arrived hot and weary on Friday 7th September and after a great welcome we were able to refresh ourselves with a bottle of wonderfully cold water that had been placed in the little fridge in our room. The other overriding memory I'll get to but the water was extremely welcome after several hours travelling, and was an example of those little touches that really add up to something big. The tray of drinks in the room was well stocked with tea, coffee and hot chocolate with plenty of milk and sugar, and was topped up daily. The en-suite catered for just about every need, including a sewing kit that my wife was going to have to buy somewhere for a quick repair. Shaving equipment was there, toothbrush and toothpaste for those who forget these things. Like I say, pretty much every need. Actually, I can't have too much caffeine and always have to go prepared with my own decaf, but there was plenty in the room, which is extremely rare on our travels.

Our room was comfortable and always amazingly clean. Always welcoming at the end of the day. Also welcoming was the double size shower, we've had to shower in tiny en-suites with just enough room to stand, let alone to wash! The meals were enjoyable and of a really good quality. Breakfast offered plenty of different cereals, juices, fruit, and jams. I could have blackcurrant on my toast! Having just had a severe allergic reaction to fruit blackcurrant is now my only option, so a huge thanks!

Christine and Keith made us feel really welcome, and were professional but approachable. My wife and I renewed our marriage vows at Newport while we were staying, and that night when we went in for the evening meal our table was transformed with a balloon (which we had to pierce to bring home), decorations, and a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket. I have to say we were blown away by it, so thanks again for that too.

Overall I have to say we really enjoyed our time at the Swiss Cottage, which is ideally situated for both the beach and the high street. I have no hesitation in recommending Christine and Keith. To be honest I would say to anyone looking to stay on the island ring the Swiss Cottage first before thinking of anywhere else. We really do hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi you two!
Thank you for those kind words about our establishment but as all our guests know we do go that extra mile for people when they appreciate and respect our home for what it is.
We were so pleased (as well as the other guests who stayed that week) to help you both renew your marriage vows at Newport and hopefully if we are still here in 5,10 or 25 years you can come back and celebrate your next big anniversary?
Take care of yourselves and go easy on the Malibu!! Ha ha!
Best Wishes
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews