We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little hotel!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you're looking for a comfortable, friendly base from which to explore the island, then look no further.....this is definitely it!

It is clear that the owners, Keith and Christine, take great pride in the hotel. All rooms are newly decorated and the carpets obviously vacuumed daily, rooms ditto and ensuite bathrooms also cleaned daily. Their attention to detail was noticed and appreciated.

The rooms were great - very clean and comfortable. Lots of little touches - a bathroom kit (just in case you've forgotten a toothbrush or toothpaste!) but more importantly, hot chocolate and biscuits on the tea tray!!

I stayed half board and both the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. A choice of cereals, fruit juices, a full cooked or a lighter option (toast and beans/scrambled egg/tomatoes etc) for breakfast. Evening meals were of the three course variety - chosen from a good selection with adaptions for specific dietary requirements readily accepted. Copious amounts of tea and coffee served with both meals.

After an evening stroll, a drink from the hotel bar in the lounge was the perfect end to the day. The relaxed atmosphere leant itself to bare feet or slippers and curling up on the sofa while having a chat to Keith with drink in hand - us not him!!!

Overall, I totally enjoyed my stay. Keith and Christine were the epitomy of friendliness - extremely welcoming. As a first time visitor, I felt like I'd known them forever :-) Will definitely go back.

Thanks very much to you both - Karen (Stokes)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 318 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday, welcome was friendly,room was spotless, facilities good and my daughter loved the breakfast complete with vegetarian suasages

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaH058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel and location is excellent to reach everything in Shankin. Hosts and service couldn't have been more helpful. If there was something you couldn't eat, an alternative was offered. A lovely bar to enjoy a drink before and after evening meals. Lounge very comfortable to relax after a tiring day. Bedrooms had that little extra comfort - television with dvd, mini fridge and of course complimentary tea tray.

Room Tip: Two lovely ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidaysIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My brother and I had a most enjoyable week in Shanklin staying at the Swiss Cottage Hotel. Christine and Keith are friendly hosts and looked after us very well. We really enjoyed our holiday. The breakfasts were excellent and our rooms were comfortable and very clean. The attention to the smallest detail was noticed and appreciated. We would certainly stay at Swiss Cottage again if we return to the Isle of Wight for another holiday. Thank you Christine and Keith.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara9946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Our party was just the four of us two early sixties and our slightly older aunt and uncle who just wanted some peace and quiet with easy access to the town and the sea front as we are all reasonably mobile and enjoy just strolling. We had visited the island last year around the same time but the hotel we booked then was a little lacking in the cleanliness department so this year we decided on Swiss Cottage and we were not disappointed.
Our needs were not very demanding we simply wanted somewhere that was clean and comfortable with edible food and what a result we had as it fitted our requirements far and above what we expected.
The hotel itself is in a small side street with several off street parking spaces to the front of the building and is in very easy reach of both the costal path and the main shopping area ( Regent Street ). For those of reasonable mobility it is also an easy walk to Old Shanklin village and the chine. When we entered the hotel the interior appears to have had a total repaint in bright light colours and it appeared to have been newly carpeted throughout. Downstairs has a small functional bar and a very bright dining room and we were allocated rooms on the first floor.
The owners Keith and Christine could not have been more welcoming or helpful and we were shown to the rooms which were clean, light and very comfortable and appeared to have been re-painted as well. The clean towels were neatly placed on the beds along with a rose on each bundle and a welcome mint chocolate which is just one of many added little extras that you can expect from this lovely little hotel along with the tea/coffee the biscuits and Freeview T.V. ( I believe Sky is in the downstairs lounge but we were not there to watch T.V. ). Unlike the previous premises we stayed at the rooms are also hoovered and cleaned during your stay.
Prior to our arrival we had been sent menu’s to pre-order our evening meal so having put our luggage etc in our rooms we were free to do whatever we wanted until dinner was served.
Dinner was served at 6-30pm and the meals were plain, simple with options and were pretty much as described on the website menu and as this was also one of the reasons we chose to go to Swiss Cottage we realised that we were pretty much on to a winner. Should you want to you can have an aperitif from the bar before dinner and the prices are very reasonable. After dinner we went for an evening stroll and upon our return we sat in the lounge and had a drink with Keith in the bar and unlike many places the bar closes at a reasonable hour and does not stay open till the early hours disturbing all the other guests.
The morning saw breakfast with a variety of juices, numerous cereals and of course full English option with copious amounts of tea/coffee and toast and the ever bubbly Christine with her morning welcome and general banter.
The owners have obviously spent time and effort to reach a very acceptable standard of accommodation and as a result they do ask that you show a little respect and ask you not to wear wet shoes and the like but I don’t do it at home and had no difficulty complying with the requests that helped to maintain a happy ambience for both our party and the other guests who were staying, so much so that our party quite happily sat in the bar area in the evening with our shoes off without being made to feel uncomfortable in fact it felt just like being at home.
If you want a five star all singing and all dancing top of the range hotel then look elsewhere and pay an arm and a leg for it however if you want clean rooms and plain wholesome food with a comfortable homely feel and very pleasant owners then this has to be the place for you.
Would we go back ..we have already provisionally booked our dates for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffy502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend. The location was perfect, a couple of mins walk into the local shops and restaurants and a short walk to Shanklin beach (which is lovely). It’s a great base to get to anywhere on the Island.

We had a family room which was perfect for our needs. The suite consisted of a room with bunk beds that our daughter slept in, a bathroom and a room for ourselves. This was perfect as we could watch a dvd in the evening which didn't disturb our daughter, perfect. The rooms we spotless and modern with some lovely touches.

Keith and Christine were extremely helpful with allowing us to take our daughter, although she was below the preferred age they were very accommodating and I’d definitely recommend the Swiss Cottage to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jblackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed with my spouse for two nights at the Swiss Cottage. The stay was wonderful, the rooms immaculately clean and the breakfast was pleasant. Kieth and Christine are great hosts and always eager to help their guests.
Swiss Cottage is conveniently located very close to Shanklin High Strt and also close to the Beach Front.
The hosts have given attention to the minutest requirements of their guests and happy to accomodate any special requests.
Will definitely consider staying again!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkhilLalwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Address: 10 St Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#11 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $34 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 70% full for our 2017 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won three Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 and 2016/17 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 6 years running since 2012 to 2017. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014, 2016 & again in 2017 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants and no animals as we have pets of our own), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends). We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing