We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlborough Hotel(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$34
$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Palmerston Grange(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
$113
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Hotel(Shanklin)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Clifton(Shanklin)
$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
107
108
93
69
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
108
93
69
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedold villagelovely hotelfour poster bedtea and coffeeshanklin chineshort breakfull english breakfastseafront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 490 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked very late and were slightly nervous about what we would find.

What we found was a clean, relaxed and very friendly hotel. Decor was dated but everything was in good condition - it's not a flimsy Travelodge or boutique place just a good honest hotel. We had connecting rooms for us & our children, and our dog was made most welcome too! In fact it seemed that about half the residents had dogs.

The rooms were warm (weather was freezing), cosy and comfortable. We used the pool every day which was in excellent condition but cold. There was a sauna and hot tub to warm back up in.

Breakfasts were usual breakfasts and perfectly good, we didn't eat in the evenings so can't comment on the dining (there are some great restaurants in Shanklin).

All in all we were very happy with our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great Family Run Hotel, Some rooms a bit small, very clean. Restaurant and service very good, Food was great, No complaints. Pool and Jacuzzi was perfect ,Staff would do anything they could for you, Entertainment each evening was of a high standard, had us all dancing and singing. Their
was a couch load, but 14 in our group.Could not fault the 5 day`s.
I would like to mention our Couch Company (AVALON COACHES) Glastonbury, Driver Brian done us proud,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

There were around 30 of us that stayed there this week on a bit of a jolly down to the seaside. We had an amazing time and I cannot understand why people have left poor reviews for this lovely, family-run hotel. The bar, restaurant, service, rooms, location and pool with jacuzzu were all amazing value for the price. Lovely, comfortable leather sofas in the bar area only added to the sense of luxury we felt from what is, offcially, a 2 star coaching hotel. We all felt it was much, much more than that. There were thirty of us and not one of us could fault any aspect of our stay. We have all decided to go again for a reunion next year. I have stayed in other hotels on the Island before and this was by far the best value of any of them. I can' recommend this place strongly enough. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked online and the photos looked good, but when we arrived we discovered the hotel is a bit old and run down. The main lounge area smelled of booze, and the bar had loads of fruit flies in it which were buzzing around our drinks. The young guy working late on friday when we arrived was very helpful, but the rest of the staff were a bit rude. In particular there were two staff members serving breakfast on Saturday morning who were not very friendly at all. Location is good, very close to the beach and the lovely old village of Shanklin. Not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a last minute booking made to go with a friend to enjoy a few days of sun. The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean. Cheap and cheerful really. Good location as only a few moments away from the beach and the old village.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews