We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect!”
Review of The Kenbury

The Kenbury
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kenbury
Ranked #23 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say? If a stay could be perfect, this was it! Nothing was too much trouble, food excellent, cleanliness excellent, perfection itself! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameravaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 137 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

In a quiet area about five minutes walk from the railway station and not far from the shops. The rooms were immaculate throughout our stay. Plentiful supply of coffee and tea in the rooms, plus a bottle of water, a sachet of hot chocolate and some biscuits. Shower gel and hair shampoo supplied in little bottles, plus a shower cap and a small mending kit for the ladies :-). Wide selection of food for breakfast including a generous full English breakfast cooked to order, cereals, fruit, etc. Very pleasant and helpful staff. This was our third stay, a week each time, and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Single folk who like a bit more space can ask for a small double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron_vint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Had a very comfortable stay, staff all very friendly, everywhere spotlessly clean, rooms an adequate size and well equipped. Plenty of tea, coffee, drinking chocolate and biscuits and as there was a fridge in the room had the offer of fresh milk which was provided every day as well as bottled water. The home made chocolate fudge was a nice touch. Excellent choice at breakfast, all cooked to perfection. Would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasingrainbows618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We travelled with two other couples and they had their own rooms (7 & 8), we arrived to a warm welcome and three well equiped rooms, plenty of teas coffee water and home made sweets. We had the room behind reception, no doubt about it, it has a small toilet/shower-room area, but it was adequate, quiet, clean and comfortable as were the other two. The Kenbury has a grand external appearance and inside the common areas, hallway and tv lounge are decorated in a traditional style in keeping for the type of house. We were all pleased to have chosed so well, breakfast was a feast of continental and any combination of items from the traditional english choices. We had 2 veggies amongst us and they were catered for without a fuss. The Kenbury has a lovely seating area in the garden, parking spaces and an area for our bicycles, brill!
Let down a little by the size of the bathrooms but we would all definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 7 & 8 are quite, comfortable and well equiped, with small toilet/showers-rooms. if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B2W70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

As the title suggests we had a much nicer stay at this hotel than the Hillside, which is strange when you consider the price of the Hillside and its Trip Advisor rating.

I make comparisons with the Hillside because it shows people that you do not need to pay big money to make sure of a nice stay.

So the hotel itself: On arriving we felt the hotel was situated in a nice area and had been well cared for. We were greated by one of the owners who was a very nice polite lady and made us instantly at ease, something we didn't feel at the Hillside.
We were shown to our room and given a map of the area, told where to go and what to see. We were given a key to our room and to the main door to the house, this meant that we didn't feel like we were 14yo again by creeping back to our room trying to sneak in....also something the Hillside didn't offer.
The room itself was one of the cheaper rooms but was very clean, had lovely clean towels, tv, coffee making facilities, bottled water and a really nice complimentry packet of fudge.
The shower was hot and had a good spray which can be a problem in a lot of hotels.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent and served by another lovely lady, a credit to the hotel. We were offered a cooked breakfast or we could help ourselves to the wide variety of food on the main table. There was a selection of yogurt, cereal, croissants fruit and juices. All the tables were clean and tidy and again the staff couldn't do enough for us.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the hotel to anyone. We didn't see the owners too much as we were only there for the one night, but both of them were very nice and were easy to talk to.

I really can't think of many bad points but if I were to compare this hotel to the Hillside hotel then it would purely be the amount of money spent on the hotel. The Hillside is incredibly clean and artistic based and is really designed for the clients who consider that to be the most important part of their trip. It feels as though you can't and won't be forgiven for accidently spilling your drink, it feels clinical and false.
The Kenbury is clean but doesn't have to pristine look or the quality feel you may get with the Hillside, but then you pay a lot more money for that type of hotel.

Personally I want somewhere to stay where I feel at ease and is nice and clean, if your the same then you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: The more you pay the better room you will get, the one we had was the cheapest yet still very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had a great stay, staff great, good welcome room good everything you need bottles of water left only been to one place before that have done that,plenty of tea coffee milk etc more then you would be able to drink lovely shower / soap / lotion too breakfast so much to eat set`s you up for the day cooked to perfection !! yes would i go back would not think about staying anywhere else thanks to sue and her team

Room Tip: room 6 the sun shone in in the morning could of been it spain !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

had a great 4 day stay here we've done a load of b&b's all over the country and this is easily in top 5.garden view room was good with a separate room for wardrobe, chest tea facilities and fridge so plenty of room.the addition of a fridge was a great idea supplied with free water and proper milk for tea and coffee.just in the right place to access the island and only 2 mins walk from cliff path.if you're going b& b on the island you could'nt do better

Room Tip: garden view room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenbury

Address: Clarence Road, Shanklin PO37 7BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $89 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenbury 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own attractive grounds, The Kenbury is the ideal choice for those in search of a peaceful break, whilst still having easy access to Shanklin beach, Shanklin town centre and local transport. We are a family run guest house that aims to provide a friendly high quality service to all of our guests. The Kenbury has a small car park and free WIFI, is non-smoking throughout and all rooms are en-suite with digital TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kenbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenbury Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing