We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic family holiday”
Review of Gracellie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gracellie Hotel
Ranked #44 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Gracellie Hotel for 6 nights and just returned home yesterday evening.

Our family stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was the perfect size for the 5 of us - plenty of room to move around. It had a well appointed bathroom, comfortable furnishings and a wonderful sea-view (probably the best sea-view that we have ever had).

We ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and we weren't ever disappointed with the choice or quality of food. The fruit salad at breakfast was delicious and both my Husband and I enjoyed the cooked breakfast every day - we are missing it already. Dinner was excellent - can I say a special mention to Hazel who made sure that our boys - Jamie and Ben had their favourite foods each night.

We were made extremely welcome by all the staff and they really made a fuss of us all.

We would love to return very soon and will remember our wonderful holiday at the Gracellie for a long time to come.

Here is a big Walden family thank you to Phil, Hazel, Dan, Fiona, Becky and Charlie for being such great hosts xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nippynoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, General Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

The Walden family are always going to be welcome here! The team are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and giving us 5 stars, it is so appreciated...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Gracellie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 289 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We wanted a quick getaway after our previously booked holiday was cancelled due to the hotel in Cornwall going bankrupt. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise , to think we would of missed out on this gem of a find. The staff at this hotel are so happy, cheerful and always on hand to help you with anything that you may require,nothing is a problem.The breakfast is gorgeous, really filling setting you up for the day ahead.Rooms are a decent size and the bed has got to be one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The showers are also fantastic.Thanks for a lovely weekend Phil, Hazel, Dan , Charlie and Becky.Special mention for Vinny the guarddog, he is gorgeous. See you again soon, cant wait to come back Colin and Barbara

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view , its beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Colin and Barbara, this is exactly the sort of lift that helps us improve! We will welcome you as friends as well as guests next time we see you,,,, thank you from all the staff!! Sorry that the weather wasnt great but you know what they say about English weather... If you dont like it... wait a bit LOL ... thanks again. You are Lovely too x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had three nights B&B at this hotel, the staff are really freindly and helpful lovely clean fresh ensuite room with seaview, breakfast was great with plenty of choice. The location is ideal for beach and esplanade and only a short walk to the Old Village.On going refurbishment can only enhance what is already a great place to stay. Robin and Liz.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great location, rooms are very nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. The breakfast was fab with delicious fresh fruit salad and a breakfasts cooked to order,

The dinner in the restaurant was excellent snd overall I would highly recommend this hotel to stay. Special mention to hazel who really made our stay special

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katiel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Gracellie is in a great position, near to the Esplanade and a short walk to the town. The car park is very large and parking was never a problem. My husband and I stayed for three nights to go to the Isle of Wight festival. All of the staff were really helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was really comfortable. For the first time ever I did not feel that I could not wait to get home to my own bed. Breakfast was a lifesaver after the previous night at the festival and set us up well for the day. It was freshly cooked and, we both agreed, one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a hotel or B & B. The restaurant opens onto a decked terrace with terrific views of the sea and it was lovely to take our tea/coffee out on to the sun terrace after breakfast. We had dinner there on the Saturday night, we both had steak which was perfectly cooked. The bar downstairs was friendly and we were made to feel welcome at all times. The Gracellie is not 5 star but the bathroom was clean, the linen was fresh and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly (particularly Millie!), can't ask for anything more. We will definitely stay there again if we visit the Island. Big thank you for looking after us so well!

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room with a sea view as the view is lovely
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AtalantaReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Sorry about the weather but we are all praying for an improvement! Thanks very much for your comments which are greatly received. It was kind of you to take the time to write this review and we all hope to see you again... I know that you are in the security business so must stay at a lot of hotels so even more grateful. Thank you so much Phil and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was the best Holiday we have had on the Isle of Wight. Great Hotel, extremely friendly staff, clean rooms, top class restaurant with some great dishes. My wife & I were planning to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying for 5 nights! This is the best place we could have gone to. Will be going back soon with friends! Did I mention the Bar is super..... Thanks Hazel & Becky for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jayesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review... delighted you were made to feel welcome because of couse you are. Thank you again from all teh staff who appreciate that their work is bringing satisfaction to our guests.. please call again SOON!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Firstly I asked my daughter to write a review but it was rejected so I have set an account up for myself.

This 'Hotel' is terrible, my friend who has limited mobility and cannot get in a bath had to make do with a hand held shower, the food is absolutely the worst EVER, it was all processed nothing fresh, when we left my comment was 'Get a Chef' the other people traveling with Alfa were as disgruntled as my friend and I.

Manager absent most of the time, new owners apparently live in London, Danny was the best thing this place had to offer, he seemed to work 18 hours a day. Room keys were left on the reception desk most of the day where anyone could have accessed them

130 room hotel only had 30 rooms functional and they were nothing special. The brochure said there was a swimming pool - ha-ha over grown small and not user friendly, there was supposed to be a quiet lunge it was no available.

All in all the very worst holiday I have EVER had - avoid this place like the plague

Room Tip: there weren't any
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Owner at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Bogus review. Anyone who has stayed at this hotel would know that this review is rubbish.
We know who has really written this review and wonder how she would like her businesses attacked in such an unfair way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 51 in Shanklin
486 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
6.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracellie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracellie Hotel

Address: 25-27 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $74 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gracellie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gracellie Hotel is 100 yards from Shanklin beach. We have a large free car park for guests. Full restaurant facilities are available and the view, quality of restaurant and professional service ensure a delightful dining experience. Relax in our Charlie's bar with a real pub feel, juke box, pool table and darts or relax in our quiet bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gracellie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracellie Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing