We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Run of the Mill Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Shanklin Guest House
Ranked #2 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I am always a little nervous when I book accommodation, incase it doesn't live up to expectations. I am pleased to say that OSGH Exceeded my expectations, more akin to boutique hotel than seaside B&B. We stayed for 2 nights; My husband and I in Godshil and Sarah converted St Helen's into a twin for my daughter and Mum in Law. Both rooms were a good size with elegant furniture and furnishings, crisp white cotton linen and Quality, Comfortable Beds. We all slept well [our room faced the road but there was so little traffic you wouldn't know it]. The Bathrooms were large with big white towels, more toiletries than you might expect, but more importantly lots of hot water and great shower pressure. Everywhere is spotlessly clean!

The Guest Lounge looked inviting with a selection of Board games, books and papers but we were pleased to borrow from their DVD Library to watch and relax in our rooms. You are given keys to come and go as you please and we really appreciated the convenience of parking on the property.

In the light airy Breakfast Room you could help yourself to Fresh fruit, cereals, Juice, yogurts, and a wide variety of marmalades. Gareth offered cooked choices beyond the norm., but we traditionalists went for the Full English, quality grilled fresh ingredients with perfectly poached eggs; Delicious! Sarah's service was relaxed and efficient.

Sarah and Gareth are a lovely friendly couple, they welcomed us warmly, Sarah remembering all of our names. They obviously take great pride in their Guest House and providing a Superior Service and Quality of stay for their guests. We couldn't have felt any more comfortable and valued.

Although we were on a family trip, I think OSGH would feel as welcoming travelling solo and is perfect for couples and it would be lovely to return one day.

Room Tip: St Helen's is a big room on the ground floor with a Gorgeous Fire Place, and a double size showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oneforall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 386 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Old shanklin guest house a real treasure in every way...From the moment you enter to the moment you leave you won't be disappointed :) Fresh comfy rooms and a fantastic breakfast Sarah and Gareth will make you feel more than welcome .. Thank you yet again for a lovely weekend

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Adriansilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A lovely guest house that offered all the home comforts in a fantastic location. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly, they offered us use of dvds, baked biscuits and remembered our order from previous breakfast, which felt a nice personal touch. Our room was very clean, comfortable and the breakfast absolutely superb!

Room Tip: St Helen's suite was great, just off the main entrance and across the hall to the dining room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We chose to stay at the Old Shanklin Guest House having read the great reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.

The location in Shanklin is perfect, close to most things and a pleasant walk from the station if you are planning on using the train.

The room was lovely, clean and had everything you would expect. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice in the hot and cold options.

Sarah and Gareth are excellent hosts and, like everyone else would recommend staying here if you visit Shanklin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at OSGH for 4 days in late March 2014. There was a great welcome, with tea and home made cakes from Sarah & Gareth. They are a very friendly and welcoming couple. Our suite was spacious and well appointed with a large comfortable bed and comfy settee. Everywhere was spotless. Breakfasts were fab with a good selection of standards and the daily specials - the Eggs Benedict were great. Service from Sarah was prompt and she couldnt have been more helpful. The conservatory where breakfast was served is light an airy. OSGH is well placed just a short walk from the old village and high street and chine. Also close to some good walks including the coastal path.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieO055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Shanklin Guest House this weekend and we had the perfect stay. Our bedroom was lovely and the bed was really comfortable! The breakfast was really good too and Gareth and Sarah were very welcoming and friendly. The location is also great, we didn't have to use the car all weekend as we ate out in shanklin each evening and the pubs were walking distance. We would definitely recommend to others and hope to return one day :)

thanks for a lovely weekend!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Purple35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

As well as being in a beautiful setting and have stunning rooms; this B&B also has the personal touch. There were freshly made cookies and a cup of tea to great us on arrival.... I have never had that before at a B&B. It is these little details that gives this B&B such a extra lovely feel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 272rachelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Really glad you enjoyed yourselves.
We hope to see you here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
484 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
483 reviews
0 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shanklin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shanklin Guest House

Address: 20 Grange Road, Shanklin PO37 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $85 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Shanklin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2011 Old Shanklin Guest House is owned and run by Gareth and Sarah James. There are five en suite rooms. We have sourced local artwork for you to enjoy and local produce for you to eat! The guest lounge is available morning to evening with local information, local magazines and board games. Breakfast specials change daily, with Full English always on the menu. Parking for Bonchurch Suite, St Helens Room, Tennyson & Godshill Rooms. All rooms are booked by name, so you know what you are paying for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Shanklin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Shanklin Guest House Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing