We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Shanklin Guest House
Ranked #2 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Old shanklin guest house a real treasure in every way...From the moment you enter to the moment you leave you won't be disappointed :) Fresh comfy rooms and a fantastic breakfast Sarah and Gareth will make you feel more than welcome .. Thank you yet again for a lovely weekend

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adriansilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
257
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A lovely guest house that offered all the home comforts in a fantastic location. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly, they offered us use of dvds, baked biscuits and remembered our order from previous breakfast, which felt a nice personal touch. Our room was very clean, comfortable and the breakfast absolutely superb!

Room Tip: St Helen's suite was great, just off the main entrance and across the hall to the dining room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
325 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We chose to stay at the Old Shanklin Guest House having read the great reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.

The location in Shanklin is perfect, close to most things and a pleasant walk from the station if you are planning on using the train.

The room was lovely, clean and had everything you would expect. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice in the hot and cold options.

Sarah and Gareth are excellent hosts and, like everyone else would recommend staying here if you visit Shanklin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at OSGH for 4 days in late March 2014. There was a great welcome, with tea and home made cakes from Sarah & Gareth. They are a very friendly and welcoming couple. Our suite was spacious and well appointed with a large comfortable bed and comfy settee. Everywhere was spotless. Breakfasts were fab with a good selection of standards and the daily specials - the Eggs Benedict were great. Service from Sarah was prompt and she couldnt have been more helpful. The conservatory where breakfast was served is light an airy. OSGH is well placed just a short walk from the old village and high street and chine. Also close to some good walks including the coastal path.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieO055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Shanklin Guest House this weekend and we had the perfect stay. Our bedroom was lovely and the bed was really comfortable! The breakfast was really good too and Gareth and Sarah were very welcoming and friendly. The location is also great, we didn't have to use the car all weekend as we ate out in shanklin each evening and the pubs were walking distance. We would definitely recommend to others and hope to return one day :)

thanks for a lovely weekend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Purple35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

As well as being in a beautiful setting and have stunning rooms; this B&B also has the personal touch. There were freshly made cookies and a cup of tea to great us on arrival.... I have never had that before at a B&B. It is these little details that gives this B&B such a extra lovely feel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Really glad you enjoyed yourselves.
We hope to see you here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I looked at many places to stay when wanting to book our long weekend on the Isle of Wight and we chose The Old Shanklin Guest House because it had great reviews compared to some of the other places in the same area and we were not disappointed in any way. Sarah & Gareth are fabulous hosts and our room was wonderful. The en suite jet shower and the jacuzzi bath were heaven and the giant bed is one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. Breakfast was always delicious and because we were the only guests on the Monday morning for breakfast Sarah asked if we would like it later so we could have a lay in on our last morning which was really thoughtful. I could rave on and on about this place and if you are visiting this area staying at this B&B is a must, you won't be disappointed. Thank you very much Sarah & Gareth for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bonchurch suite which is the largest room they have and it was worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Laatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Please do 'rave on' to your friends and family!
It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shanklin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shanklin Guest House

Property: Old Shanklin Guest House
Address: 20 Grange Road, Shanklin PO37 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Shanklin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2011 Old Shanklin Guest House is owned and run by Gareth and Sarah James. There are five en suite rooms. We have sourced local artwork for you to enjoy and local produce for you to eat! The guest lounge is available morning to evening with local information, local magazines and board games. Breakfast specials change daily, with Full English always on the menu. Parking for Bonchurch Suite, St Helens Room, Tennyson & Godshill Rooms. All rooms are booked by name, so you know what you are paying for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Old Shanklin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Shanklin Guest House Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing