We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, friendly hotel with excellent food and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
walsall
1 review
“Relaxing, friendly hotel with excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hotel is situated in a quiet location looking down onto the bay at Shanklin. We were looking for a relaxing holiday and that was exactly what we found at the Bourne Hall Hotel. The management and staff could not have made us more welcome. The choice and qualify of food was excellent. When making the booking I advised the hotel of my special dietry needs and these were catered for without any problem or fuss. The weather was fanfastic during our stay, so were able to use the outdoor swimming pool. Our room as lovely and spacious with four poster bed and lounger with a wonderfull view out to sea. We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks holiday and have recommended the hotel to all our friends. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    69
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
44
122
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Initially we were very concerned about some of the comments on this web site and decided to telephone to air our concerns - I spoke with the owner who promised that if their Hotel was not up to our expectations then we would not be charged and they would find us alternative accomodation.
Our first impressions were surpassed and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.We stayed in the Duke's suite,dined twice at their resturant ( 4 courses for £15) and made full use of their leisure facilities.
On departing we were shown round some other rooms so we could choose where we were going to stay the next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOOBYDOO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed for two nights at Bourne Hall, on a dinner included mid week package offer.
Our room was a suite, it was exceptional, clean, comfortable and well equipped. We were greeted by very helpful staff and were escorted to our room. We enjoyed a swim in the leisure complex. The hotel had a lovely calm atmosphere, the staff did everything they could to ensure that we enjoyed our stay, both the breakfast and dinners were well presented and delicious. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, and look forward to staying the next time we visit the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Spent relaxing couple of days here with husband and mother. Well run hotel. Owners very friendly and efficient. Rooms clean, newly decorated, spacious. Bathroom equally good. Our room had bath and shower, plenty of hot water. mother's room had shower as she requested. food excellent. dining room is lovely, meals served quickly and efficeinetly. Plenty of parking space. Position ideal as easy access to places yet just off the beaten track so quiet.. Swimming pool with loungers and nicely kept gardens. We stayed here last year and are pleased to see the place has not lost any of its charm. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone. The staff are so friendly and willing to help you with anything, they are also very knowlegeable about the town which is very helpful for people who are unfamiliar - like I was! The food is of excellent quality and price and the surroundings are simply beautiful. The rooms are spacious, clean and perfectly presented with lovely toiletries and fresh fluffly towels and bathrobes. The spa area is tranquil and great for both kids and adults alike with a pool to splash in and deck chairs to relax in! The hot tub was lovely and warm and all facilities were clean and ready to use. The hotel is family run by a lovely couple who are very hands on with the business, helping where and when they can! The beauty treatments are of a very high standard and very reasonably priced. Overall my experience at Bourne Hall was truly wonderful and I wouldn't hesitate to go back - in fact I very much plan to! You'd be silly to miss this little gem of a place and the views from the hotel are stunning!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiePiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

I wanted somewhere special to take my mum and i found it at Bourne Hall, the hotel is situated off the main road very peacful, your made to feel welcome from the minute you walk in, very polite and friendly staff, and the owners what a wonderful couple, nothing to much trouble, the rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable my mum didnt want to leave hers, will definaltly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexychick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

It is a great pity that earlier reviews of Bourne Hall were about conditipns when the current owners were not running the Hall. They have been there for two years now and have built up a great staff working conscientiously and greeting all guests with genuine interest in providing quality care through all the roles that staff are expected to fulfil
From the welcome,through to our rooms and particularly with the quality of food - we were half board so enjoyed the quality evening meals.
Money has spent providing well furnished rooms with all facilities - there are suites available for an extra charge but the two rooms we were allocated were exactly what we needed giving comfort,warmth and peace and quiet
The pool area is a real asset
We thoroughly recommend the Bourne Hall

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatofPevensey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#15 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing