We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tables dirty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stars

Stars
Ranked #47 of 75 Restaurants in Shanklin
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We serve meals all day from 10.30am 'til late, which include snacks and light bites such as paninis, baguettes, jacket potatoes and breakfasts to full meals, inlcuding locally sourced Isle of Wight steaks and fresh fish. Families are welcome and we have a selection of childen's meals.We pride ourselves on providing good service and freshly prepared food in a relaxed, friendly environment. Reservations welcome
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“tables dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We dropped by at about 1930 last Monday, August 12. Greeted by the barman we were asked to sit down & the menu would be brought. ALL the vacant tables were dirty with ring marks evident. Other tables had not been cleared. We sat down at the least dirty table. As the menu failed to appear we departed without further ado to one of our regular restaurants nearby.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I am very sorry you were disappointed when you came into Stars. I have spoken to all the staff and nobody can remember your visit. You obviously felt ignored and for this we apologise. I do feel that if you had stayed you would have received a freshly prepared meal and excellent customer service. As for the dirty tables, again nobody can remember the tables being dirty and uncleared. Monday is quieter than the other nights so the tables would have been cleared and cleaned straight away. Again, we are disappointed you did not feel welcome, but I can assure you it was just an oversight, a mistake, which are made by everyone and although we always try our very best to make ALL our customers welcome, sometimes mistakes are made - we are human.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

After 9 on a Sunday in Shanklin - difficult to find somewhere still serving, even more difficult to find someone who understands customer with requirement for gluten free food.
Stars could not have been more helpful, freshly prepared food and friendly banter from the main man:)
Hope you have a successful business and plenty of satisfied customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geofftheref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is always good to know that you enjoyed the food and service at Stars - we always strive to achieve excellent customer service and freshly prepared food. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Smaller portions please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I dined at Stars one evening, very welcoming and friendly. Shanklin was very quiet and it was one of few places open for dinner in June. I had whitebait for starter, very tasty but it was more like a main, it was so big! Gammon steak for main with homemade chips was equally tasty but also very big. I don't like leaving good food but I had no choice - it was too much. This was an exceptional value for money, no doubt, and the company of the waiter kept me giggling - just that I could not finish due to the size of portions. Some might be in heaven though! I would have no hesitation in visiting again but will request smaller portion when ordering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of Stars. We are glad you enjoyed the food served and we do take on board your comments about the portions, although we do feel that we would rather serve larger potions than somebody leave hungry!!! Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you're looking for a heart meal and good attentive staff, you would be well advised to book a table at Stars. There were nine of us and we were all impressed with the food (I can recommend the Chicken Barbecue stack!) and the service was excellent. Well done Stars and good luck for the future!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barberhousehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of Stars. We are always pleased to hear such positive comments, both about the food and service. Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Impressed - fabulous customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I stopped in at Stars on our first night on the Island after being drawn in by the crab and prawn salad.
Service was friendly, very good and, as we both people watch, it's in an excellent position overlooking the main street.
As it was busy we were seated and forewarned there'd be a wait, there's no rush while on holidays so we sat, watched the world pass by and enjoyed our drinks.
Our meals arrived after around 45 minutes (but we were forewarned and this was our choice remember) The portion size was excellent and the food was delicious. However, towards the end of my meal there was a slight problem with a portion of meat being slightly under cooked. As soon as this was pointed out the attention from the staff was immediate and the problem rectified in a manner that surpassed my expectations.
Well done Stars, I'd have no hesitation in recommending you or dining with you again, hope to see you next year!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Stars. It was very good of you to write such a good report. We always try our very best to provide excellent customer service along with freshly prepared food. We look forward to welcoming you to our restaurant in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stars also viewed

 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing