We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to eat and drink”
Review of Stars - CLOSED

Stars
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve meals all day from 10.30am 'til late, which include snacks and light bites such as paninis, baguettes, jacket potatoes and breakfasts to full meals, inlcuding locally sourced Isle of Wight steaks and fresh fish. Families are welcome and we have a selection of childen's meals.We pride ourselves on providing good service and freshly prepared food in a relaxed, friendly environment. Reservations welcome
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We came here for breakfast last Sunday and immediately made to feel very welcome. The owner was fantastic and saw us planning our evening meal and he said he doesn't usually open on Sunday evenings but he would for us if we wanted. We have never been made to feel so welcome and were amazed that he was prepared to give up his evening for us so we were very happy to see a few people in there when we got there and it made it worth his while. The food was beautiful and the service was top notch and we would definately highly recommend it to anyone. We are hoping to go back to the Isle of Wight in August and if we do we will definately be going to Stars Restaurant in beautiful Shanklin Old Village again. It used to be called Legends and the owners have only been here since February. We are so glad we discovered this gem of a place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank juliakybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Stars. We are really pleased you enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We entered originally for a drink and stayed 4 hours thanks to Larry's brilliant humour and food. Try the crab salad (fished in ventnor) or the fish of the day, finish with an apple tart you won't be disappointed. Great terrace to enjoy sun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Laetitia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Stars - we are very pleased you enjoyed you evening. Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a lovely time, the whole cooking it yourself was great in theory but when you have a huge hunk of raw gammon the rock cools down too fast to cook it!!! The desserts were simple (I could have made most of them myself) but yummyyy!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank parpinghamduckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We, like many other reviewers took advantage of the £30 meal offer. But unfortunately had a starter first, both had the appearance of having come out of a packet, heated then served. Not a good start. The Lava Rock cook your own food was fine though, we ate the lot. The wine was disappointing, not that cheap for what it was. After the starter experience we skipped desert as they too sounded ready made. Thought we would have a coffee but once again a big disappointment, tasted like it came from a machine in a railway station or hospital waiting room. We would only go back if we wanted the Lava Rock experience, and a cocktail as they were enjoyable.

Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Cooking your own food on a piping hot volcanic rock. Who would have thought it?? great food and atmosphere. Glad we tried it.

Thank BexhillChristabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stars also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing