We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value warm atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked a stay using a voucher which included the ferry and was very good value. Originally this was booked for Luccombe Manor which is the sister hotel but we were moved to Luccombe Hall as the other one was shut, which was no problem to us.

We normally go for a more luxury hotel but thought we would give this one (a 3*) a try as it was good value and we wanted to visit the island. My first impression on walking through the door was that it was like Fawlty towers! However as soon as we entered the receptionist welcomed us and checked us in. she showed us around the hotel. it had a small indoor pool, a games room with a pool table, a good area for small children, a squash court and sauna. We didnt use any of these, the pool had some noisy but well behaved children!

I had paid extra for a sea view room which was well worth the extra. On entering the room the smell of dettol was quite strong but this soon disappeared. the view was absolutely stunning, the room was large (it had a double and single bed) and the window at the end of the room was full size which looked over the outdoor swimming pool and gardens.

the room had no luxurious touches as one would expect from a 3 star, but it was spotlessly clean, the bath was really big and lots of boiling hot water.

Our deal included breakfast and dinner which was all delicious and beautifully cooked.

the main thing to us was how genuinely friendly the entire staff were, not just good manners because they had been told to but genuinely very polite, chatty and helpful.

For this reason we would definately return to this hotel and would recommend it. if you are looking for a little luxury possibly not the right hotel for you but for us this was far outweighed by the lovely friendly atmosphere.

we found that everything shuts down in winter so next time we will bring bikes as there seemed to be lots of cycle routes.

Room Tip: The sea view room was fantastic
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
There are newer reviews for Luccombe Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 851 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very impressed with the price for a 2 night break and the hotel seems to have had a substantial refit recently. Included meal is OK but must recommend visiting the Waterside Inn down on the front for seriously good food

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

i recently booked a new year break with my partner and new born. went with a half price deal with ferrie and meals costing me over £600 for 4 night stay. All good to start. was in room 2 which is an superior room. balcony and sea views to die for, was loverly. room was very dusty, dirty walls, dirty pilliows, dirty curtains. was a dead fly stuck on the curtain for all the nights we was there. bath skirt was cracked, shower dirty and usless. fridge in room was a tiny white eyesore and surprise surprise really dirty. water/ hot choc not repemished every day, the women hose keeper was going round with no shoes on. the only good thingabout this hotel is the food which is only standard. well over price. the only decent service was from bar and resturant very friedly. all over no attenttion to detai i.e. cutleryin resturantdint match orange juice glasses not polished,cob webs in curtains in dinning room.a glorivied bed and brestfast not worth staying at all. people who say it is nice are mad. i wish i had booked another hotel on this wonderful island. car park very small. garage andhouse attached to the hotel is another eyesore. staff very unprofessional. did not enjoy my stay within the hotel and would not return not worth booking choose somewhere else. shanklin is a good place to stay. thanks for reading.this is only th half of it aswell.wish i had taken photo'sto unload.

Room Tip: dont choose room 2 dirty
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have visited Luccombe Manor on several occasions and found it a very nice hotel and thought I'd try Luccombe Hall it's sister hotel. Well I wish I hadn't, our room was a standard family room as they didn't have a double room when I made the booking. Fair enough I thought. but after walking along a few corridors and all the way down to the basement I was getting a bit worried, Still never mind the couple of flight of stairs I descended will keep me fit by walking up and down the flights of stairs. When I opened the room door I was hit by a very pungent chemical smell which lasted the two days we were there. The hotel itself is long over due for a make over looking very tired and worn like the furniture to the day lounge. Breakfast on the first morning was fun bacon that looked fine on one side but was completely hard on the other side, harsh browns that were so hard that my knife couldn't cut through it. When I stabbed at it with my fork it made a quick departure off my plate. As for the sausage it was red in appearance and looked under cooked and rubbery

Room Tip: Choose Luccumbe Manor the sister hotel
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkkellykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, we had a great weekend including having the ferry booked for us. Very wet and wintery weather outside, but the hotel was warm and comfortable, the pool and hot tub very pleasant and the sauna beautiful. Fabulous sea views too.

We were upgraded to a superior room, which meant a bath with spa jets (and a bewildering set of instructions for its use when all you really needed to know was: cover the jets with water, don't use bubble bath, press the button!) and a standard double bed with really meagre bedding, when a king sized would've been nice.


What would've been nice to know at this hotel before we got there was:

Ask when you're checking in, for a table in the conservatory at breakfast time, because there is a massive difference in experience between the lovely sea view from there, or a dark and dingy inside table. (Can't fault the food)

If you're arriving on an evening ferry and want to eat at the hotel, you need to let them know by 4pm. 7.30 is TOO LATE! (But I do recommend Pavarotti's Italian, round the corner in Shanklin)

If you want a sauna you are meant to book your time at least 30 mins beforehand at reception. The first you'll know of this is when you're in your cossie and it's too late. I was lucky and the two lads already roasting in there were happy enough for me to join them for a while.

Room Tip: Book your sauna time at reception. Ask for a table in the conservatory for your breakfast, the insi...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenInML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked a two night weekend break via the hotels website, they took care of everything even booked the car ferry. We arrived quite early in the day and were greeted by a lovely lady who was just charming and welcoming, insisted on showing us to our room and upgraded us to a sea view. The hotel was warm and cosy, all of the staff were extremely pleasant and polite. We had dinner in the restaurant, the choice and standard of food was very good. Breakfast was excellent, all good value for money. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Theres not much to add from the precedent reviews,the hotel is well run and located,staff is always smiling,and the facilities are good! Aldo im not quite sure why its only 3 starred outside by AA!! The structure is not really that of a BeB! But facts speak for themselves and whoever has been to this hotel knows that its good anyway.

Room Tip: Any room is pretty good as the other,so pick your choose!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolo187782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $100 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing