We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fernbank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fernbank
Ranked #7 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just spent one peaceful night in the cleanest and best run hotel I have stayed in . Staff very helpful and the breakfast tasty and plentiful. Will definitely be back. Close to restaurants and town but in quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
165
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a four night break on the Isle of Wight and I cannot recommend the Fernbank highly enough. The location of the hotel is perfect, being less than 5 minutes walk to Shanklin Old Village with its lovely pubs and tea rooms, the welcome is warm, the accommodation is smart, fresh and comfortable, and the breakfasts are first rate! It is also an unexpected treat to have a wonderful indoor swimming pool. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in a twin room in the new part of the building - a good size and right next to the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxfordgirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked the smaller room trying to go cheap it was perfect fir one.turned up and had a lovely greeting from the lady owner. Room was super clean and very well decorated and very well priced. Lovely indoor pool don't forget ur costumes amazing breakfast a must for this little island. Wish I was able to stay longer also prices in bar so cheap.... Amazing stay thank you both

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for a 3 night Easter break, absolutely loved it. Room was spacious and very clean, yes with clean towels everyday. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we were greeted with a set of keys and told to treat it as home. We hadn't been to the island for about 9 years so it was great to explore all the places we had been with our children. The breakfast was plentiful with a vast array of choice, we didn't eat again until evening. We had 3 very nice evening meals all within walking distance of Fernbank. Will most definitely go back again and would recommend this B & B to any of our friends, relatives or trip advisor readers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alaska L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for a 4 night break in IoW. Great location to explore Shanklin and also the rest of the island by car. Staff were so helpful, couldn't do enough for you, nothing was to much trouble. Quiet and peaceful and the rooms were clean, tidy with towels changed every day. We had a superior room, which was lovely and having read the reviews on here before we booked, we would agree with the comments about breakfast. Superb choices and delicious breakfasts, encouraged to 'eat plenty' every morning. Would definitely go back on our next visit. Only negatives I could mention were that the pool was very cold but then it was particularly cold for the time of year generally and we had trouble parking a couple of Times when arriving back from a day or evening out so had to park down the road instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for three nights midweek before Easter . We had a truly enjoyable stay from the moment we arrived at the Fernbank . All the staff made us feel at home and free to come and go as we pleased .. Our room was a delight with walk in shower ,comfortable bed , lovely view towards the Chine and most of all peaceful and quiet . A variety of foods for breakfast both cold and cooked ,all served in the lovely bright conservatory .
The hotel is within easy walking distance of a good selection of restaurants and country pubs ,just perfect for our short break .

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden was a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julez0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013 and had a very pleasant stay.
Rooms were good, service was good, food was great.
Very friendly staff and were more than happy to help no matter what you asked.

Would defo go back in the summer first visit to IOW and found it easy to get around in car, did most of the island. Would recommend this B&B highly would rate it 5 out of 5..

Gill & Mark Sawyer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GILL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernbank

Property: The Fernbank
Address: 6 Highfield Road, Shanklin PO37 6PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernbank 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Fernbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernbank Hotel Shanklin
The Fernbank Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing