We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!!”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I holiday on the Isle of Wight every year and were completely blown away this year when we arrived at the 'Carlton Hotel.' Such a beautiful hotel in an amazing location with a view to die for! The owners, Bob and Anne made us feel so welcome, it was like home from home. They couldn't do enough for us and the children to ensure our stay was unforgettable. Their daughter Leigh was very friendly and our children made good friends with their Grandchildren Lewis and Mia. We usually stay somewhere different each year we visit the Island, but not next year, we've already booked up for another week at the 'Carlton Hotel' and we're so looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IzzySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 344 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived late evening after Anne had to rearrange our ferry crossing. On arrival Anne sat us down in the lounge with a cup of tea and coffee and Bob took our bags to our room. The room was excellent with a very comfortable mattress on the double bed. Bob and Anne were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The gardens and view have been mentioned by others and we totally agree they are delightful. Breakfast was very tasty with a good choice on the menu. The waitresses were very friendly. We would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Shanklin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronhh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We usually holiday abroad but chose to visit the lovely Isle of Wight and to stay at this hotel. What a lovely surprise, we received a great welcome a pot of tea was served to us on arrival our cases were taken to our room and we were given a guided tour of the hotel before being shown to our room. We had booked one of the sea view rooms with balcony. Quite a few of the other guests said they had tried to book that room I'm glad we were successful I can definitely recommend. Breakfast each day was superbly cooked and served by the most friendliest of staff. We will definitely return. Thank you Rob and Anne for a lovely stay. Bob and Jill Elaom

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillel553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carltonhotelshanklin, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Trip advisor Member:

Thank you very much for choosing The Carlton Hotel to spend your holidays.

We are glad to know that your expectations were exceeded during your visit. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the excellent service received and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Please, do not forget to contact us for your future visit to the Isle Of Wight We will be more then happy to accommodate you.

Regards from the isle of wight!


Robert & Anne Carlton Hotel shanklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After celebrating our Daughters first birthday party at the hotel (which Bob and Anne opened up especially for us out of season). We all had such a good time that we decided that The Carlton Hotel would be the perfect venue to host our very own wedding reception. Once again Bob and Anne were the perfect hosts and treated us like ViP's throughout. Nothing was too much for them to do for us. We had a lovely time and really pleased that we had our big day at The Carlton Hotel. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After speaking with Bob and Anne about our child's 1st Birthday party they kindly offered to let us use their hotel as the venue for the party. We had several guests coming from the mainland as well as overseas and even though it was out of season for them they even opened up their hotel for them all to stay for the night. The food was exceptional and really good value for money. The hosts were exemplary and it felt as if they couldn't do enough for us. So much so, we decided to book the hotel as our wedding venue also.

Room Tip: Room 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What can I say it was just a perfect holiday. We could not have had better accommodation. Rob and Anne are excellent hosts. Their staff are very friendly. On arrival we were welcomed by Anne and given a pot of tea in the Deck Garden. The rooms are really nicely decorated and were made up every day. Clean towels were placed in the bathroom daily. Breakfast was really great and there was plenty of it. The Deck Garden is really well maintained and it looks just like the pictures on this site. A beautiful place to relax and take in the view of the Bay. An excellent choice of Menu, with large portions. We will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family who want to holiday on the Isle of Wight. Thank you Rob and Anne for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Maybe a balcony room would be a good choice simply because of the view. But all rooms are just perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carltonhotelshanklin, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Trip advisor Member:

Thank you very much for choosing The Carlton Hotel to spend your holidays.

We are glad to know that your expectations were exceeded during your visit. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the excellent service received and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Please, do not forget to contact us for your future visit to the Isle Of Wight We will be more then happy to accommodate you.

Regards from the isle of wight!


Robert & Anne Carlton Hotel shanklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Lyons family have visited this hotel for their 5th annual holiday and will continue to keep coming back.

Bob and Anne are the perfect hosts and they truly make you feel welcome. The staff are also extremely friendly.

The food whether it be breakfast or lunch is excellent.

The bedrooms are spotless, extremely comfortable and spacious. Especially for a family of 4.

The sea view from the lounge and decking is spectacular, especially when you have the perfect jug of Pimms and Lemonade, you feel like you are abroad.

If you are looking for somewhere beautiful to stay in the UK, whether you are a couple or family, do visit the Isle of Wight and book your stay in this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carltonhotelshanklin, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Trip advisor Member:

Thank you very much for choosing The Carlton Hotel to spend your holidays.

We are glad to know that your expectations were exceeded during your visit. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the excellent service received and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Please, do not forget to contact us for your future visit to the Isle Of Wight We will be more then happy to accommodate you.

Regards from the isle of wight!


Robert & Anne Carlton Hotel shanklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $123 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing