We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having stayed at The Carlton for the fourth consequtive year back in August 2012 I can say that you will not find a better positioned and friendly hotel on the IOW. Bob and Anne are geat hosts and this family run hotel is a lovely place to relax and unwind. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the bar and tea garden have superb views over Shanklin beach. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth the additional cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmasherWallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
92
116
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A Lovely Hotel with beautiful gardens. Lovely Sea View Rooms. Hosts Ann & Bob make you very welcome, and are very friendly. Breakfasts very good, served by very friendly staff. Bar and terrace have beautiful views across the sea. Will definitely go back agin soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A lovely Hotel with great host's (Ann & Bob). Beautiful view from garden terrace ,superb Garden & a very Hearty Breakfast served by the warm & friendly staff. We found it easy to relax here very quickly & would definitely return again ,nothing was to much trouble for the host's making for a very enjoyable stay. All in all i would recommend this hotel ,lovely location, lovely host's & a view to die for ,:-))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location and views are fantastic. We had a balcony room which has the most incredible view. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast, and menu food, both very good. Bar and outside terrace area again has the most wonderful views. Garden is beautiful and well kept. Yes, one or two bits of the decor are maybe a bit dated. But much of the IOW is like going back a bit in time - and that is what makes it such a lovely place to go. At the Carlton, you have everything you need for a lovely break. Convenient location, wonderful views, friendly helpful service, good food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Both balcony rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Ann and Bob were charming hosts as were rest of staff. We were offered a drink on arrival and our room was ready even though we were early. Excellent breakfast with good choice.Room 5 lovely view we did have problems with the tv but Bob sorted it by the next day.Would definitely go again. Beautiful garden credit to Bob.Hotel convenient for walking to town and near the lift to Esplanade.

Room Tip: Choose room 5 or 6 for balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Always stay at the Carlton Hotel when I go to the Isle of Wight. Warm and friendly welcome, nice clean rooms. Breakfast service is fantastic with plenty to choose from and the waitresses are so nice. The garden is beautiful and the view is lovely. Very near to the beach so the location is perfect. Bob and Anne are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Note that there is not a Fitness Centre or Swimming Pool but was unable to delete from the ratings list.
Would always recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenN24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Anne on arrival and shown around the Hotel including the ,dining room and bar,we were also told about the option for light lunches and afternoon tea out on the garden deck, fantastic views !.We booked double en-suite rooms which were comfortable and clean with everything needed .The breakfast quality and service was great, you are really looked after, and we also spent a relaxing evening in the bar enjoying the views and a good chat with Bob.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 9 Park Road | isle of wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing