We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January Blues Disco/Party for Ability Dogs 4 Young People”
Review of The Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront Inn
Ranked #30 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Cathy and friends held a 60s & 70s disco with DJ Manky Dave in aid of our new Island charity Ability Dogs 4 Young People. It was fantastic. A genuine welcome and very friendly with great music. A super venue, everyone enjoyed the evening and raised money for a great Island cause. We look forward to the next disco on 1st March (St David's Day).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbilityDogs4YP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 248 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent food with a very extensive menu and local specialities, brilliant service, wonderful location, great breakfast, lovely rooms and incredibly good value. All in a very friendly, welcoming and relaxing experience. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying or dining at he Waterfront Inn, the dog was especially welcome too.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are larger, we had a 4 month old baby and a boxer dog with us and a larger room was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked the Waterfront Inn after visiting Shanklin for a short break in the summer and noticing that the Waterfront also did B&B. After some investigating on the net, we also discovered that the Waterfront was VERY dog friendly, and as we take our dog to the Island once or twice a year, decided to book a short break. We had a fantastic welcome from the staff, the dog was very excited that they gave her some dog biscuits before we'd even checked in! The room was large, the bed very comfortable, and the only downside, and this is a very small thing, the water pressure in the shower was a bit naff, although Sharon did explain this to us when we checked in. Breakfast was huge and good, and we ate there both nights we stayed. The food was delicious and plentiful. I can recommend the Waterfront sundae, but not on top of a big meal! Highly recommended, and we just can't wait to return in the Spring for another visit. The location is great, right opposite the beach. The Waterfront is a great find and we will definitely return again and again. (The dog says that she can highly recommend the Waterfront to other four legged visitors)!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We enjoyed the "plentiful" breakfast and also had very good evening meals.Nicely cooked and large helpings!The view was lovely overlooking the sea.Also very central for sight seeing . Catherine,David,Sharon and Paul were very friendly and welcoming . We loved the prawn and crab starter a definite must, to try!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I popped over to the Isle of Wight with another couple and decided to stop over. We were fortunate enougth to find The Waterfront Inn. What a delight, firstly the welcome we had was so inviting. Food delicious, Rooms clean and comfortable with everything we could want. lovely friendly atmosphere. Cooked breakfast included in the price of the room. Shanklin Chine nearby is a must see. Lunched at the fishermans cottage which is a pub on the beach.
Lovely location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ate here on two consequtive nights, it is right on the seafront at Shanklin. Smartly decorated and furnished. The staff come around to take your order with an Ipad, so someone there is keen on technology. The menu is reasonable and the prices likewise. The portions seem huge, I had Battered Fish & Chips one night and it came with peas as you would expect but also a nice salad, cost under £10. 2nd night I had Steak, also good portions, but the steak was a little under done. The Garlic Bread is wonderful! Service on the 1st Night was great but not quite as good 2nd night, we had to ask for the desert menu. Would still recommend this place though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from a delightful 3 nights stay at this gem of a place with my wife and another couple. The most important thing in the hotel and restaurant business is to live up to expectations which the Waterfront certainly does.
The location is amazing just yards from the beach and an unobstructed view too. It was a bit cold to sit out this time of year but in the summer you would have had to peel me off of the Olympian patio.
Everyone is very friendly and you are instantly put at ease. Food is very good and everything reasonably priced.
Our last night's sleep suffered a bit because of a disco which I am assured is a very rare event. It was at the end of the season and, bless them, it was to raise money for a little local lad with health problems. David kindly gave us a couple of bottles of wine as a gesture.
I would say though, if you're interested in history, ask David. We asked Catherine how old the place was and after much thought she said it was over 50 years. Our shocked expressions prompted her to go and get some facts. "Early 1800's" came the adjusted reply. "In fact which of you is in room 10?" I confirmed it was us. "Well, Charles Dickens stayed in that room ... it was called the Darwin Room."
To balance things out a bit our friends departed with the keys to room 8 which are now in the post on their way back to the island.
Go to this place - it's great.

Room Tip: Check out the website which describes each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#27 of 51 in Shanklin
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snowdon House
Snowdon House
#29 of 51 in Shanklin
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Inn

Address: 19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $60 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Inn is family-run Guest House / Hotel with 8 bedrooms, all en-suite, 5 of which have sea views and all offer bed and breakfast. We appreciate that our guests' enjoyment is the key to our success and we endeavour to offer high standards in customer service together with a personal touch. We welcome dogs, and pets in general, throughout the hotel. We are a free house and offer a wide selection of Isle of Wight ales, lagers, wines & spirits, together with a straightforward, homely menu that features local steaks and seafood in addition to the usual seaside favourites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Shanklin
The Waterfront Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing