We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

The Old Thatch Tearooms
Ranked #4 of 76 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A beautiful and unique Award Winning 'olde world' Teashop and Fairy Garden offering 'the best Cream Teas', sandwiches, snacks, traditional fare and cakes. Many items on our menu are Gluten Free.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Banners outside this tearoom say they have been voted best teashop on the IOW, so we had very high expectations. The interior is traditional, pretty and chintzy and the welcome very friendly. A cream tea is what we came for and so that is what we ordered. The scones when they arrived were warm, which was lovely until we realised that they had been warmed up in a microwave and were not straight out of the oven which makes a big difference in texture. Scones warmed in a microwave become slightly rubbery and don't have the lovely crisp texture on the outside that you would get from a freshly baked scone. I would rather have had a cold scone than one warmed in a microwave. The other thing we noticed is that the jam is served in little Bonne Maman jars, but these have been refilled with inferior jam that is nothing like authentic Bonne Maman jam. You can tell they are refills because the seals on the lid have been 'popped'. Unfortunately too the portions of both the jam & clotted cream weren't really sufficient for the quantity/size of scones either. So all in all a rather disappointing experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I have read your review and am pleased that your were very happy with the service you received. I would just like to respond to a couple of key issues you have raised:
1. ALL of our scones are put back into our OVENS before being served to our Customers, they do not come out of a microwave..
2. Our Policy is to recycle the thousands of jars we use each season so we do decant our own jam into recycled jars.
It would have been appreciated if you had discussed your concerns during your visit as all of our Customers are asked at least twice if they are happy with everything and you answered 'yes' on both occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    132
    52
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
England, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited here on two occasions during our stay in the Isle of Wight - We had to go back after our first visit for cream tea just so we could have the victorian cream tea! Beautiful food, friendly staff, and a very quaint building with lots of treasures hung around the walls. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi there and it is so nice to read your lovely review, it makes us all feel so happy when our Customers have had a good time and a unique experience in the Teashop. The fact that you visited twice during your holiday is good to know. Look forward to meeting you again, for the third time, when you next visit the Island.
Regards, Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Olde Worlde Tea Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

A really traditional and pretty tea shop based in an ancient cottage. We had soup and cream tea, both excellent. Really friendly service and atmosphere meant everyone chatted to each other - our neighbouring table said their lunch was great. Lovely place to spend a couple of hours - we went midweek when it is probably quieter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were staying on IOW and fancied a nice breakfast/cuppa at a traditional tea room... glad we discovered the Old Thatch Tearooms! Very Pink, but very quaint and English! :) Pot of tea was so good, and breakfast was lovely! Very hard what to choose from the menu, all looked extremely tempting! The Service was very welcoming, we would DEFINITELY go back next time we are in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NattyNonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Once again visited isle of wight and had to have my gluten free cream tea. It was delicious as usual and even my partner had the gluten free option. Well done again and will definately see you again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sssju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatch Tearooms also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Old Thatch Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing