We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooke House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brooke House
Ranked #16 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our third stay at Brooke House was as usually excellent! A very clean and nice room and the breakfast left nothing moore to wish for. Steve and Hana, who runs this place, are a warm and welcoming couple. they really make you feel at home.
Although it´s a long journey from Sweden we hope to be back next year again!

Benny and Eva from Stockholm, Sweden.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
67
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

An excellent B&B in a great location. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Myself, my mum and my sister were staying around the corner in a dreadful B&B which we just had to move from. I turned up on the door step the following morning at 8.30am and Hana welcomed us with open arms despite being busy with the morning breakfasts. Not only were we happy to get out of the other place but it turned out we had found one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in... lovely clean room and a breakfast to die for, the furnishings are tasteful and classy. The location is fab, especially if you are going to make use of the 2/3 day bus passes, which we found happiliy got us to the Garlic farm, Osborne House, Godshill, Ventnor etc. Such incredible value I am surprised they don't charge more. Thank you for making our stay fantastic Hana!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

They made you feel welcome as soon as you stepped in side the front door, nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed for one week having bed & breakfast their was plenty of food with a wide choice, the room was large with ensuite shower, fridge, hair dryer and an alarm clock. It was a great location for the town centre and the beach in Shanklin and for the rest of the IOW

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 28David28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very accomodating and helpful owners. Unbeatable food for breakfast and dinner.Catering for me as I am vegetarian. Lovely period house and exceptionally clean comfortable rooms. What more can anyone else want at the most reasonable price. When possible we will visit again and most certainly recommend others to do so if they are looking to enjoy Shanklin in comfortable surroundings.Many thanks to Hana and Steve for an enjoyable stay.



Auction fever two.

Room Tip: Our room (No2) had a good view of Shanklin high street and was adjacent to the auction house on Reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

My boyfriend and i visited brooke house for a last minute break this weekend after reading the reviews but i have to say we were slightly sceptical about the 100% excellent rating. However, now i can totally see why:

The location was perfect, especially for visitors on foot. We arrived at shanklin station (which is also a bus stop) from which you can see the hotel, a mere 2 minute walk away! And it was then only 10 minutes to the beach and old village. We were provided with timetables and leaflets in our room and hana was always happy to give us information on where to go. As we wanted to explore the island it was the perfect base location wise. We hired a bike one day that was a simple bus to sandown and after we had dropped it back we walked back to shanklin via the coastal path with its stunning views, which you can access only 5-10 mins away from the hotel.

The house itself is gorgeous, with beatifully decorated wide hallways and very comfy guest sitting room equipped with large sofas, a tv and dvd player and games, dvds, books and magazines for anyone to use. There was also a leaflet stand to give us some inspiration on where to go. Outside looked newly decorated and each day they put out brand new and very comfortable padded garden chairs and tables for those wanting to soak up the sun. The dining room was large and well set out, with plenty of space to enjoy your breakfast.

As for the room, it was lovely and absolutely massive. We had room 1, a twin/king at the front of the house with a sofa, tv/dvd, a personal fridge and even a desk in front of large bay windows overlooking the beautiful church opposite. The bed was amazingly comfy, and whilst i was prepared for it being two twins pushed together the proper mattress cover meant this wasn't even noticeable unlike other places i have stayed. We had a hospitality tray with everything we needed, even with the option of fresh milk if required. Hot chocolate sachets were put out every night in the hallway for all to take, which was a lovely touch!

As for the cleaning, it was immaculate. The whole house was permanently clean and tidy and our room was thoroughly cleaned each day, right down to the shower screens and polished taps. Very impressed!!! This coupled with the lovely decor throughout made this a wonderful environment for even the pickiest of travellers.

With respects to service i cannot fault it. Hana was very lovely even calling us the day before to check arrival times and directions. She was happy to accomodate our needs and made out like nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived she showed us round and explained everything, rather than just handing us our keys. She was always on hand, (even with a bell if people needed urgent out of hours assistance) but was very respectful and unobtrusive, chatting endlessly to those guests who wanted to but not intruding if anyone wanted a quiet holiday to themselves. We were also impressed at her greeting us by name on arrival and remembering our breakfast choices. A very lovely and wonderful hostess.

Finally the food was wonderful. We had a full english each day and all the food was very good quality and cooked to perfection unlike some hotel buffets. The servings were big enough to keep us going, even on a hilly cycle! We didnt have the dinner but i can imagine it was of equally high standards.

Considering all this, and the state of some of the other guest houses we saw around Shanklin, £30pp a night is a massive bargain, people would be crazy to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Really nice B&B, rooms look very newly refurbished and are comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast is good. Location convenient right next to the train station. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fernbank
The Fernbank
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooke House

Property: Brooke House
Address: 2 St. Pauls Avenue, Shanklin PO37 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooke House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooke House is a beautiful blend of charming Victorian character and the more modern comforts of home.Hana & Steve invite you to sample the delights of Brooke House’s friendly, informal atmosphere and taste their fabulous, freshly prepared meals.For those wishing to leave their cars at home, we are located within minutes walk of public transport links. If you do decide to travel by car we are able to make car ferry bookings on your behalf and we have a car park.We have a variety of flexible accommodation; single, double, twin, triple and superior rooms are available.Our front patio is the ideal spot to sit and watch the world go by or maybe plan your days with the wealth of Island information available in our comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brooke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooke House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing