We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richmond Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked a last minute one night stay.
Mark and Caz were really welcoming, friendly and attentive which made you feel right at home.
We stayed in the family room which is situated at the front towards the road and was actually really quiet and we had a good nights sleep.
My only critical comment is if you are tall maybe request a different room as the double bed was a bit on the small side and our feet were overhanging the end if the bed and we are only 5ft 4in and 5ft 2in. From looking at the website other beds definitely look bigger but they are larger rooms.
The room had bunk beds for the kids and small double bed with on suit shower and toilet, there is also a TV and free WIFI.
Clean, smart and modern rooms one of the nicest B&B's around.
Plenty of choice for breakfast and the hosts were very helpful.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others it's in a perfect position very central to Shanklin.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marijan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a few nights stay at the Richmond in February while on a cycling holiday. We found the B&B to be a real joy with Mark & Caz looking after us. Our bikes were kept safe and dry. Our room was spotlessly clean, light and had plenty of space for our kit. The room was cleaned daily was always clean and fresh, it had a very ‘new’ feeling to it. We opted for vegetarian breakfasts and were not disappointed, we had plenty of it and it was very tasty being cooked to order. There was far more to see and do on the island than we were expecting, roads very quiet, with some nice old world picture postcard villages, it give us the feeling we had the island to ourselves. All in all we really enjoyed our time at The Richmond at would certainly recommend to anyone. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I booked this B&B in Shanklin whilst walking the IOW coastal footpath. Having arrived late afternoon (& feeling rather shattered!), I had a very warm welcome from Mark & Caz, who were really friendly & kind throughout my stay.
I stayed in Room 4. A very comfortable room, with a view to the front of the property & to the town.
The room was clean, fresh & very comfortable, with good quality furnishings.
The en-suite shower room is rather small and somewhat dated, but perfectly adequate (I understand however that this is to be upgraded soon),
Overall, I would happily recommend a stay here & would return when next on the Island.

Room Tip: Room 4 is fresh, clean & very comfortable with the appearance that it had been recently decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank david_craddock5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Cosy, well-equipped room, very well-cooked and very filling breakfast (we had the vegetarian option), very friendly hosts. Maybe the breakfast times are a bit early for the weekend - at least for us, who sometimes like to go for a jog beforehand. The b&b is very close to both the beach and town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We recently stayed at The Richmond as we decided to get away from the city for the weekend. The Richmond was in a great location; a short walk from the beach and coastal paths. We were greeted by Mark and Caz who made sure we were well looked after throughout our stay. The bedroom was comfortable, tastefully decorated and really peaceful. Breakfast was really good quality and there was a great ambiance in the dining room. They were clearly undertaking some renovations in the front entrance but work was not ongoing whilst we stayed there.

We would definitely return in the future should we decide to visit the Isle of Wight again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at The Richmond for two nights last week which was our second stay in a year. We chose to return due to being looked after so well by Mark and Caz and for feeling very relaxed and comfortable in their B & B. Our room was once again extremely clean and beautifully decorated. There was plenty of tea and coffee provided in the rooms and even a hair dryer which was particularly welcome as I had forgotten mine! Breakfast was another joy with plenty of cereal and juice on offer and a selection of yoghurts. The cooked breakfast was really enjoyable and not greasy at all and along with a good supply of toast, tea and coffee was a great start to the day. The old and new towns are only a very short walk away with lots of restaurants which will cater for all tastes. We look forward to returning. Jill and Alan

Room Tip: We did not see any of the other rooms to compare ours to but we stayed in room which was totally lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We decided to have a spur of the moment trip to the Isle of Wight to enjoy the sunshine. Mark was very accommodating in taking a last minute booking for us. Our room was comfortable as was the bed, and the bedding smelled really clean and fresh. The cooked breakfast was nice and not greasy. Shanklin has a variety of restaurants to choose from and The Richmond is a short walk from the centre so very convenient for an evening out. Mark and Caz were gracious hosts, thank you for chilling our champagne and lending us some glasses so that we could drink it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_Inbetweeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $82 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Richmond Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed & breakfast is a Victorian building, approximately 150 years old. We are a small private husband & wife run B&B with 5 rooms, we hope we offer a level of comfort that will exceed your expectations and at highly contemplative prices too! We are blessed with a central location within easy walking distance of the beach and our old village where you'll find many restaurants and pubs, some overlooking the sea. Whether you are walking, driving, cycling or using the bus, we are a perfect base for exploring the many delights that the Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Richmond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond Bed And Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing