We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Richmond Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Mark and Caz who run the Richmond Bed and Breakfast were so friendly, I felt like they were friends!! There was attention to detail in all aspects, and I really enjoyed my stay. The breakfasts were perfect, the decor was nice and it was in a great location....right near the sea, and the old town. Thanks a million....I thoroughly recommend!! x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bronwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    27
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
81
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great bed and breakfast hotel ,lovely welcoming owners Mark and Caz,made us feel right at home .the Richmond is 2 mins from the old town 5 mins from the beach .
Hotel is perfect place for a short break .good selection for breakfast and great coffee .
Weather was freezing but hotel and room was lovely and warm .
Parking along side the Richmond hotel which is a bonus

Room Tip: Spotless everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 541SueD541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely B&B! The owners, Mark & Caz, have recently bought the B&B and are re-decorating it. So far, they've done a great job! Our room was really pretty and clean. Mark & Caz were really nice, we turned up earlier than we were meant to and forgot to inform them but they were fine about it and didn't mind at all. The breakfast we had in the morning was tasty, hot & fresh. Even though I went for scrambled eggs I was pleased to see there was a vegetarian breakfast available too. Also, Mark has long hair and when he bought our breakfast out I was happy to see that he had it tied up with a hat over his head! That might sound silly but I was pleased, they are very clean and hygienic! Mark & Caz also gave us advice on which attractions to visit on the island which was greatly appreciated too, as many were closed during February and without their help we'd probably have wasted half a day making our way to something that was shut.
The B&B itself is in a great location, less than 5 minutes walk from the beach in one direction, and less than 5 minutes into Shanklin old town in the other direction. Compared to a lot of the other B&B's along the road, it had the best exterior, and I'm sure the best hosts as well! We would definitely go back again!

Holly & Andy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HOLLY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a lovely short break in the isle of wight. The RIchmond B&B was a lovely place to stay and very welcoming and friendly. The B&B is very well situated in Shanklin with the beach a short walk away and easy access to shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend The Richmond, especially the yummy breakfast served every morning that caters well for veggies too!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dharmistha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a brilliant short break at the Richmond and found both Mark and Caz really friendly and attentive to our needs. The hotel itself is fairly small and very clean and had everything that we needed to make our stay a very pleasant one. The hotel is centrally situated and well placed to walk in to Shanklin Old Village and for the more energetic down to the sea front. There are many good places to eat within a short walk, although after a "Richmond" breakfast you probably won't want to eat much - they are very good and offer a good choice. Mark and Caz certainly deserve to suceed and we wish them every success.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a very nice and memorable stay...Shanklin beach is within 10 minutes walk and there are a lot of restaurants nearby. The hotel room was very clean and had everything that was required. Mark and Caz paid personal attention to the breakfast needs of each and every guest. Also, the breakfast was very tasty, a perfect start to the day! Have no complaints and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HansaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good location and nice service! It is just next to the high street of Shanklin and it's easy to get to the bus station to travel to other cities. 10 mins walk to the beach. A few restaurant nearby. Love to go again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fernbank
The Fernbank
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
282 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#3 of 17 in Ventnor
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Richmond Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Richmond Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed & breakfast is a Victorian building, approximately 150 years old. We are a small private husband & wife run B&B with 5 rooms, we hope we offer a level of comfort that will exceed your expectations and at highly contemplative prices too! We are blessed with a central location within easy walking distance of the beach and our old village where you'll find many restaurants and pubs, some overlooking the sea. Whether you are walking, driving, cycling or using the bus, we are a perfect base for exploring the many delights that the Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Richmond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond Bed And Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing