We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed over the weekend, it was comfortable and in a very good location, small but we have everything we needed. Close the beach and to the old village. Nice breakfast also. We just wanted a place to rest after all day activities and visits In the island. We highly recommend to go to the Sharon Orchads to see the process and buy some delicious juice and cider.

Room Tip: Room 8 you can have a mini sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

the chestnuts was a lovely b&b chris was a great host the rooms are clean and tidy and the showers were nice and hot we stayed their with freinds and we all enjoyed the breakfast dave / jane/paul/christine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidh147503904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our fifth visit to the Chestnuts Hotel in six years and the reason we keep going back is because the hotel is clean, tidy and well situated for beach and town, Chris is an excellent host, nothing is too much trouble and her son Luke cooks a lovely breakfast. Evening meals are a treat too. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I don't often leave reviews but felt compelled to respond to the most recent review left here regarding the family room. My husband, eight year old daughter and I have just spent four nights staying at 'The Chestnuts' in one of the family rooms. Our room contained a very large double bed and a single bed (with ample room to move around between the two) it also housed a wardrobe, a chest of drawers, two bedside tables, a chair and a coffee table. We personally found the room to be larger than average and our daughter had plenty of space to play on the floor (on one evening we all sat on the floor to play a board game). The room was decorated in a contemporary style with lovely framed Klimt prints on the walls (there was even a book on Klimt in the room which our daughter enjoyed looking through), the bed linen was high quality and the room was very clean, light and airy with a modern ensuite. The shower was larger than average (my husband and I stayed in a 5* boutique hotel in Cheltenham recently and the shower there was notably smaller) and I actually commented to my husband on the first morning that I was impressed with how good the water pressure is in the shower (better in fact than ours at home!). 'The Chestnuts' provides very high quality accommodation which includes an excellent breakfast and fantastic, personal service (I have a wheat allergy and Christine went to the trouble of contacting her butcher to check if I could eat the sausages). My husband and I have been very impressed with the value for money and are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Shakespeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Chestnuts is a 5 minute walk to the train station, 10 minutes to town and the beach (Esplanade) is just down the street. We had a family room. It was clean and tidy but very small for what is considered a family room. The bathroom was tiny with just enough space to turn around. I've noticed that the water pressure for the shower goes on and off and at one point, I only had drips. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cretangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Have just returned from a short stay at The Chestnuts,and may I say what a great place to stay. We stayed in room No 8 with a sea view. The room was spotless with a small but adequate en-suite.Breakfast was great with everything you could have wanted. All in all a little gem. Will stay again. Debi & Trev

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trev a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have just returned from another weeks holiday at The Chestnuts, which some members of the family have been going to for over 20 years now, and have had another great week at this hotel. We have been returning to The Chestnuts as it is situated in an excellent position and is within a few minutes walk from the beach / train station / shops etc. We have found the rooms to have been very clean once again, with the food and service from Christine and the team being 1st class! Thanks again Christine and the team, and hopefully will see you sometime next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 54 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Private Hotel

Property: The Chestnuts Private Hotel
Address: 4 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chestnuts Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Chestnuts Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chestnuts Private Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing