We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr & Mrs C Ward” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Channel View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Channel View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs C Ward”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We come back year after year this is the Best Hotel/ place to stay, on the island with friendly helpful staff, excellent food, lovely comfortable rooms, great indoor swimming pool and facilities, entertainment and of course a brilliant sea views.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank woodpeckerbirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
The best and the only place to stay is a wonderful way for the hotel to be described thank you for your brilliant review. Hope to see you next year kind regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    59
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
99
145
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Returned home yesterday from a week's break at this hotel. It was our first visit and everything, and we mean everything, was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful in every way. Our room, food and cleanliness were exceptional and food choice and portion sizes were out of this world. The situation and views from the hotel were amazing and added to an already wonderful break.

We will certainly recommend your hotel and hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Want to keep this a secret!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It is wonderful to hear we surpassed your expectations on your first visit to the hotel, to hear that so much was exceptional and that you will be recommending us is just great. Be assured will be aiming for the same high standard on your return. Thank you for your review kind regards
Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family tell me I can spot dust at 100 metres so I was well prepared to cast my beady eye over the hotel.
And what happens - my week was ruined as I couldn't spot dust even centimetres away.
No greater compliment than this that I was able to hang up my duster for a week.
Which means the perfect holiday!
When I walked into the reception area I thought waoooow!
But I thought wait to I get to the other areas away from the front door!
And what happens again - it is an even bigger waooooooooooooooooow!
Since coming home my family say that after years of searching I have finally discovered the Holy Grail - the perfect dustless hotel!
The ultimate compliment - the hotel Oscar!
And as for the food - my scales and clothes tell the story that can't, unfortunately, be contradicted!
But an hotel is a building and what gives it life and homeliness is its staff from bottom to the top and the staff give the hotel a life that made me feel at home.
A.A.G

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AIG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderfully complimentary review and awarding us a hotel ‘Oscar’. Failed dust spotters are very very rare but always welcome at Channel View.Kind regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and cannot praise it enough. The staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful especially Gina when I asked her where I could find a shop to buy a certain child's 'toy'! The food was excellent, the rooms were spotless and all in all a fabulous hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
What a complimentary review thank you, great to hear you thought the hotel was fabulous, spotless and the food was excellent. Hopefully you will return to the hotel and will also visit the shop in the old village. All the best Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just come back from a 3 night stay in the Channel View and we were very impressed. The staff were absolutely lovely, it was very clean and well cared for, and the huge sea view room we were given was right at the top of the hotel with amazing views from 3 sides! The food was great and its position is excellent for access to both Shanklin village and the Esplanade. Lovely visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Great to hear you has a fabulous break and you were impressed with the hotel. You mentioned that our staff were lovely they we us work as a team and we all have pride in the hotel. The room you had is amazing with as you say 3 views, glad to hear you also enjoyed the food. Thank you for your comlimentary review. Kind regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Just returned from a short break and have to say I was most impressed with the quality of this hotel. Good food, attentive and friendly staff and clean surroundings. Its position in Shanklin makes the sea views quite superb. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
It is really heartening to hear that you were impressed with the hotel’s quality thank you for reviewing the hotel. We hope to see you return Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the Channel View. We just cannot praise the hotel enough. All the staff were amazing, cleaners, reception (especially Maggie!), bar and restaurant. We loved the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas. The hotel is in an amazing position in the wonderful town of shanklin. We will return next year! Thank you for a wonderful break! Martin & Andy :-)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi Martin & Andy from memory when you made your booking you mentioned that you found Channel View from Trip Advisor so we are pleased we lived up to our billing and that you had a wonderful break. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and say good things about the place and our staff. Maggie is really pleased to receive a special mention. We always hope our guests will have a wonderful time glad hear you both did and that we will be seeing you return next year.
Best regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
3.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#24 of 31 in Sandown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channel View Hotel

Property: The Channel View Hotel
Address: 24 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channel View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel View is a highly respected family run 3 star hotel that prides itself in offering high quality customer care, exceptional service and excellent value for money. Situated on the cliff overlooking the bay, the hotel offers an unrivaled position within walking distance of both the seafront and the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Channel View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing