We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Leonards

St. Leonards
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Leonards
Ranked #25 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

An impulse weekend stay on the Isle of Wight in mid November is always a gamble. The weather was due to be friendly, but we really hadn't planned the accommodation figuring that something would be open somewhere.

The train ride to Portsmouth Harbour and getting the Cat service to Ryde was a seamless experience, even if the ferry's £22.10 return fare (out Friday pm, back Sunday pm) was almost as expensive than a flight to Barcelona out of Southampton Airport.

At Ryde bus station we bought a 48 Rover ticket for £15 (bargain) and took off for Shanklin bus station. We headed towards the sea and found the hotel and guest house area. The area was closed, except for one beacon of light in the gathering gloom - St Leonards.

The greeting by David and Tina was as warm as it was cold outside. They are genuine and friendly people. A swift pot of coffee was at our side as we gathered our bearings and the inevitable paperwork was completed.

Thoughtfully, the room was being warmed as we got to it. It had a comfortable double bed, 2 bunk beds, wardrobe, chest of drawers, bedside tables and a TV with built in DVD. It was large, airy and very clean. The bathroom had a modern shower unit installed and was also immaculate.

The view from this room was towards the sea and I can imagine that in the summer the balcony would be a great place to enjoy a cup of tea from the facilities in the room.

Breakfast was a treat. You order the evening before - a really sensible approach as it ensures sufficient fresh stock is on hand and it speeds up service. The added benefit is that you have something to look forward to!

The weekend turned out to be one of the sunniest of the last two months and the weather on the Sunday was just brilliant. We explored much of the east of the Island by bus (top deck of a double-decker is a great viewing platform) and foot, and the walk between Shanklin and Sandown on a sunny day is very relaxing.

With the fortunate weather and the lucky find of St Leonards Guest House, we enjoyed a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACL_Glenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at St Leonards for three nights in October 12th to 15th. Christina and David, both warm and friendly hosts, ensured my stay was comfortable throughout. My room was modern, clean (spotless) and very comfortable with good views overlooking Shanklin. The housekeeper did a splendid job maintaining an excellent standard of cleanliness. The breakfast menu had pleanty of different options and the food itself was more than satisfactory. I would definately recommend staying at this hotel and will most certainly return on my next visit to the Island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachflyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The holiday started with a warm welcome and a pot of tea on arrival.Christina and David had a fund of suggestions for places to visit and explore during the break.Our room was spotless.The lovely housekeeper kept it that way throughout our stay.The provision of low sugar options (for a diabetic) were no problem at breakfast. The hosts made every effort to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

as always ,the best food on the Island, several choices every day the staff are so helpfull and the hygiene is 5 star, shops close, beach 10 minuets walk, Christine and David are the best hosts they even book your ferry, nothing to much trouble see you all next year,

Room Tip: room 1 has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Booked B&B as a last minute break whilst the weather was good, we were not disappointed.
Christina and Dave were great hosts and made us very welcome.
Breakfast was of a good standard with a number of different cooked options to suit all tastes.
Hotel is ideally situated for all the main areas of shanklin and we even had a sea view room
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malmesburymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

David & Christina were brilliant hosts. Both phoned me before I left home as they were a little concerned about whether I would manage the stairs due to my restricted mobility \& sight and took great care explaining the layout of the property, which was perfectly managable for me. they also gave us excellent advice about suitable attractions to visit. Breakfast was lovely, very tasty & well-cooked.too good because - left me wanting more even though I'd eaten plenty!!!! The whole property is very attractive & well-decorated. Our room (No3) was very bright & airy with 2 big windows. I do agree (being bigger than I should be) that the shower cubicle is "cosy" but you can't expect a huge walk-in wet-room in an en suite ! The front garden is so pretty. Many Shanklin properties struggle with parking, but with a little forethought David & Tina manage to fit you in.

awould definitely go back & thoroughly recommend a stay here to every-one. I really hope I do get back, health permitting.

Room Tip: Just speak to the owners & explain your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyWinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights and would definitely return.

From the moment and we pulled up, the gardens and outside of the building looked inviting. David greeted us, and I fail to understand how he could be described as aggressive. He did what he had to do, told us about the hotel, the area, and yes, asked for payment. I don't understand why this was a problem for a previous guest, the bill has to be paid, so why not get it over and done with straight away?
The room itself was lovely, and had a smell of fresh linen. The bed was comfortable, and even though we were at the front of the hotel (onto the road) there was no outside noise to disturb us. A small shelf in the shower would have been useful for shampoo bottles etc, but this is an observation not a criticism. We were expecting towels to be changed after 3 days, but they were in fact changed daily.
Every morning there was freshly prepared fruit, yoghurt, cereal and fruit juices. Aswell as a chance for a cooked breakfast and unlimited toast. Coffee was free flowing, with Christine ensuring you never had an empty cup!
Our reason for visiting was to go to the Festival. David and Christine were very accomodating of this, and moved breakfast to a later time to make up for the late nights, and provided boxes for muddy boots and the chance to wash wellies in a water butt if you wanted to.
They both had helpful advise on buses to and from the festival, and talked about other sites to see when we return to the island. Our plan is to stay with them again, we would be hard pushed to find another hotel as nice with owners so welcoming.

Room Tip: The balcony catches the sun in the mornings, but is in the shade from approx mid afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Leonards

Property: St. Leonards
Address: 22 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Leonards Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing